STORM

© Karolina Miernik
© Karolina Miernik
© Dennis "Koone" Kuhnert
© Dennis "Koone" Kuhnert
© Jakub Tryniszewksi

Breaking

Storm’s Breaking class is divided in three parts. The first one is a warm-up followed by the Toprock: it is performed in a vertical position and already indicates – in terms of energy flow – what follows: the Downrock / Floorrock. This is the acrobatic and challenging part of the dance, mostly performed in a crouched position on the floor and is crowned with the Freeze at the end.

Locking

The philosophy and technique of Locking are transmitted along with the cultural background of its vocabulary. During the classes, Storm conveys the tales of the moves for a better understanding and a proper execution and form.

Popping/Animation

The architecture of Popping will be explained through counter movement and fixed points. Storm developed this teaching method in order to facilitate the notion of this dance style’s deeper haptic dimension. Isolation and rhythm exercises assist in learning this style and facilitate the creation of a visual instrument to musical rules.

ARTISTBIO: Storm

Storm is one of the most known references in Hip-Hop and street dance history worldwide. His professional career started in 1983. After being part of the first HipHop dance theatre company called "Ghettoriginal", he formed his own company in 1996: the "Storm and Jazzy Project". In 2001 he released a book called "From Swipe to Storm" on the history of Bboying. In 2006 he choreographed the FIFA worldcup opening ceremony. As a cosmopolitan researcher in the field of urban dance development, his expertise has helped building communities and events all across the planet.

Last update: 26.04.2016

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 05.07.2020, 22:49 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2020/artist83/
NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTIONORDER PROGRAMME
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival

STORM

© Karolina Miernik
© Karolina Miernik
© Dennis "Koone" Kuhnert
© Dennis "Koone" Kuhnert
© Jakub Tryniszewksi

Breaking

Storms Breaking-Klasse ist in drei Teile geteilt. Sie beginnt mit einem Warm-up, gefolgt von Toprock, dem Teil des Tanzes, der im Stehen ausgeführt wird und schon in energetischer Weise auf den darauf folgenden Downrock/Floorrock hindeutet. Dies ist der akrobatisch anspruchsvolle Teil, der in meist hockender Position ausgeführt wird und in einer krönenden Pose, dem Freeze, endet.

Locking

Die kulturellen Hintergründe von Locking sind wesentlich, um Philosophie und Technik dieses Tanzstils zu verstehen. Darum bezieht Storm sie für ein besseres Verständnis und eine klarere Ausführung der Bewegungen mit in seinen Unterricht ein.

Popping/Animation

Die Architektur von Popping wird anhand von Konterbewegungen, Fixpunkten und Stopps erklärt. Diese von Storm entwickelte Lehrmethode hilft dabei, die haptische Dimension dieses Tanzstils besser zu verstehen. Isolations- und Rhythmusübungen sind geeignete Hilfsmittel beim Erschaffen eines visuellen Instrumentes nach den Regeln der Musik.

ARTISTBIO: Storm

Storm ist einer der berühmt-berüchtigsten Persönlichkeiten der weltweiten HipHop Tanz Bewegung. Seine professionelle Karriere begann 1983. Nachdem er Mitglied der ersten HipHop Theater Compagnie „Ghettoriginal“ war, gründete er 1996 seine eigene Compagnie „Storm and Jazzy Project“. 2001 wurde sein Buch „From Swipe to Storm“ über die Geschichte des Bboying veröffentlicht. 2006 choreografierte er die Eröffnung des FIFA Weltcups. Seine Expertise aus kosmopolitischer Forschung im Bereich der urbanen Tanzbewegung legte einen Grundstein für viele Tanzgemeinschaften und Events weltweit.

Stand: 26.04.2016

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals findest du HIER

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak Previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events findest du HIER.

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 04.06.2020, 00:42 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2020/artist83/
NEWSLETTER ABONNIERENPROGRAMM BESTELLEN
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival