AIMILIOS ARAPOGLOU

© Mats Backer
© Damien Jalet
© Mats Backer
© Koen Broos

Centrifugal Empowerment

Some of the main focuses of this class are the exploration of natural connections in the body and how to use gravity, the centrifugal force and kinetic energy as well as how to integrate the floor as dance partner. We will look towards ways of developing a strong sense of organicity with a strong emphasis on creating spirals through opposing forces.

Skid Technique

This class is given on a large 34-degree inclined platform. Besides the actual playfulness with gravity – while strongly grounding and centring the dancing of the participants – this class also allows you to develop a sense of abandon in your movement, which is impossible to achieve on a flat surface.

ARTISTBIO: Aimilios Arapoglou

Aimilios Arapoglou is a Greek dancer and dance maker who has been creating and performing professionally in Greece and internationally since 2011. He is a graduate of both the International and European Relations programme of University of Piraeus as well as the Greek National State School of Dance. Now Brussels based, Aimilios has worked with many talented art makers, including Linda Kapetanea and Josef Frucek (Rootlessroot) in collaboration with the musician John Parish and his band, David Zambrano, Damien Jalet, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Scottish Dance Theatre, Mor Shani, jukstapoz Dance Company and fashion designers Hussein Chalayan, Riccardo Tisci and Iris van Herpen. In October 2014 he was invited to perform at la Monnaie de Munt, of Brussels, in Shell Shock, an opera choreographed by Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, written by Nick Cave and composed by Nicholas Lens, which is going to be performed again at la Philharmonie of Paris in November 2018. In April 2016 he joined the company of Eastman to start rehearsing for the performances of "BABEL 7.16" at the Cour d'Honneur Palais des Papes of the Festival of Avignon during July 2016 under the direction of Damien Jalet and Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui. Notably, Aimilios was invited to take part of the project, Bolero, in Paris Opera Garnier, as an assistant choreographer of Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Damien Jalet and the performance artist Marina Abramovic. This trio asked for his help again in 2018, when he was a choreographic advisor for the newly adapted rendition of Debussy's "Pelleas et Melisande". He was also invited to collaborate on the original movement research for "Vessel" that was created at the art residency Villa Kujoyama of Kyoto in collaboration with visual artist Nawa Kohei and Damien Jalet. Another exciting recent project was contributing to and premiering the creation of "Skid", a creation by Damien Jalet and visual artist Jim Hodges in Gothenburg, Sweden. In addition to freelance touring throughout Europe, The United States and Japan, Aimilios looks forward to a creative residency in Mexico this August at the invitation of Ceprodac Dance Company. There, as a guest artist and choreographic assistant of Damien Jalet, he will collaborate on a new work, "Omphalos" which is set to premier in Mexico City in November 2018.

Last update: 11.06.2018

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 05.07.2020, 21:07 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2020/artist1726/
NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTIONORDER PROGRAMME
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival

AIMILIOS ARAPOGLOU

© Mats Backer
© Damien Jalet
© Mats Backer
© Koen Broos

Centrifugal Empowerment

Die Schwerpunkte des Workshops liegen auf der Erforschung der natürlichen Verbindungen im Körper, wie Schwerkraft, Zentrifugalkraft und kinetische Energie genützt werden können und wie der Boden als Tanzpartner dienen kann. Außerdem entwickeln wir einen ausgeprägten Sinn für das Organische mit besonderem Augenmerk auf Spiralbewegungen, die durch entgegengesetzte Kräfte entstehen.

Skid Technique

Dieser Workshop findet auf einer Plattform mit einem Neigungswinkel von 34 Grad statt. Neben dem Spiel mit der Schwerkraft gemeinsam mit der starken Erdung und Zentrierung des Tanzes ermöglicht die Schräge eine gewisse Unbekümmertheit in der Bewegung, die auf flachem Untergrund unmöglich wäre.

ARTISTBIO: Aimilios Arapoglou

Aimilios Arapoglou ist griechischer Tänzer und Tanzschaffender, der bereits seit 2011 sowohl in Griechenland als auch international als Performer bekannt ist. Er studierte internationale und europäische Beziehungen an der Universität von Piraeus sowie an der griechischen Nationalen Staatsschule für Tanz. Er lebt in Brüssel, arbeitete mit vielen talentierten Kunstschaffenden, wie Linda Kapetanea und Josef Frucek (Rootlessroot) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Musiker John Parish und dessen Band, David Zambrano, Damien Jalet, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, dem Scottish Dance Theatre, Mor Shani, jukstapoz Dance Company und den Modedesigner_innen Hussein Chalayan, Riccardo Tisci und Iris van Herpen. Im Oktober 2014 wurde er eingeladen am Monnaie de Munt in Brüssel, in der Oper Shell Shock, die von Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui choreografiert, von Nick Cave geschrieben und von Nicholas Lens komponiert wurde, die an der Philharmonie in Paris im November 2018 wieder gezeigt wird. Im April 2016 trat er der Compagnie Eastman bei und beteiligte sich an den Proben für „BABEL 7.16“ am Cour d'Honneur Palais des Papes beim Festival von Avignon 2016 unter der Leitung von Damien Jalet und Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui. Beachtenswert ist außerdem, dass er bei dem Projekt „Bolero“ an der Pariser Oper Garnier, als choreografischer Assistent von Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Damien Jalet und der Performancekünstlerin Marina Abramovic mitwirkte. Das Trio fragte ihn für 2018 erneut als choreografischen Berater für die neuadaptierte Fassung von Debussys Pelleas et Melisande an. Außerdem beteiligte er sich an den Bewegungsrecherchen für „Vessel“, das bei einer Residency in der Villa Kujoyama in Kyoto (JP) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem bildenden Künstler Nawa Kohei und Damien Jalet kreiert wurde. Ein weiteres aktuelles Projekt war die Zusammenarbeit bei dem Stück „Skid“, das gemeinsam mit dem bildenden Künstler Jim Hodges in Göteborg (SE) entstand. Neben seiner freischaffenden Tätigkeit in Europa, den USA und Japan, freut sich Aimilios auf eine Residency in Mexiko und über eine Einladung der Ceprodac Dance Company. Dort arbeitet er als Gastkünstler und choreografischer Assistent von Damien Jalet an dem neuen Stück „Omphalos“, das im November 2018 in Mexico City Premiere feiern wird.

Stand: 11.06.2018

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals findest du HIER

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak Previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events findest du HIER.

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 04.06.2020, 00:58 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2020/artist1726/
NEWSLETTER ABONNIERENPROGRAMM BESTELLEN
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival