You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

JOE ALEGADO

ImPulsTanz Workshops 2013 © Karolina Miernik
© Nina Saurugg
© Nina Saurugg
© Marta Lamovsek

Shifting Roots – Alegado Movement Language

High performance level

The principles of movement, which we begin to explore in my beginning levels, are taken to a higher, more complex level of coordination of hands, arms, legs and torso as well as rhythmic changes, weight shifts and dynamic transitions. Embracing the search for a connection to the earth, allows us the possibility, the potential to reach upward to heights always necessary when our goal is to achieve high performance level dance training.

In my desire to distinguish the differences between my personal evolution in dance and my work with the José Limón tradition, I chose to categorise my work as: the Alegado Movement Language. This was done to give more substance to the fact that the foundation of all my somatic experiences since childhood to the present, have contributed to the movement vocabulary in my dance.
Going further, and even deeper, below this somatic foundation are the roots, which extend further down into the very soul of our Earth. And because, we as humans, are in constant movement through the Earth’s landscape, I have chosen to further define my work by renaming it – Shifting Roots.

OTHER WORKSHOPS OF Joe Alegado

Alegado Movement Language

high performance level

The principles of movement, which we begin to explore in my beginning levels, are taken to a higher, more complex level of coordination of hands, arms, legs and torso as well as rhythmic changes, weight shifts and dynamic transitions. Embracing the search for a connection to the earth, allows us the possibility, the potential to reach upward to heights always necessary when our goal is to achieve high performance level dance training.

Shifting Roots – Alegado Movement Language

Startup Modern

All my teaching reflects a dedication to establishing our relationship to the earth and to the roots necessary to anchor our freedom of movement. My desire is to have the students experience how this connection can influence how we initiate and attack our movement as well as how we can discover the very important transitions of weight, so important in our dance training. Coordination, rhythm, focus and, above all, honesty in movement, will be some of our goals.

In my desire to distinguish the differences between my personal evolution in dance and my work with the José Limón tradition, I chose to categorise my work as: the Alegado Movement Language. This was done to give more substance to the fact that the foundation of all my somatic experiences since childhood to the present, have contributed to the movement vocabulary in my dance.
Going further, and even deeper, below this somatic foundation are the roots, which extend further down into the very soul of our Earth. And because, we as humans, are in constant movement through the Earth’s landscape, I have chosen to further define my work by renaming it – Shifting Roots.

Shifting Roots – Alegado Movement Language

High performance level

The principles of movement, which we begin to explore in my beginning levels, are taken to a higher, more complex level of coordination of hands, arms, legs and torso as well as rhythmic changes, weight shifts and dynamic transitions. Embracing the search for a connection to the earth, allows us the possibility, the potential to reach upward to heights always necessary when our goal is to achieve high performance level dance training.

In my desire to distinguish the differences between my personal evolution in dance and my work with the José Limón tradition, I chose to categorise my work as: the Alegado Movement Language. This was done to give more substance to the fact that the foundation of all my somatic experiences since childhood to the present, have contributed to the movement vocabulary in my dance.
Going further, and even deeper, below this somatic foundation are the roots, which extend further down into the very soul of our Earth. And because, we as humans, are in constant movement through the Earth’s landscape, I have chosen to further define my work by renaming it – Shifting Roots.

ARTISTBIO: Joe Alegado

Joe Alegado has been a member and soloist of the Ballet Hispanico of NYC, Alvin Ailey Repertory Ensemble and the José Limón Dance Company performing around the world in some of the most famous dance works in the Modern dance repertory.

He has taught extensively throughout Europe and the world teaching and choreographing in diverse festivals, studios, institutions and dance companies. He is one of the original faculty members of ImPulsTanz Workshops (formerly Wiener Tanzwochen). His work in over three decades of working in Europe has been reflected in his evolution here at the ImPulsTanz Festival.
Even though his main focus is his teaching, his choreographic creations around Europe and beyond have served as a source of inspiration for a dance training methodology which uses the performance stage as a reference point in which to direct the flow, energy and intent of the class process. From the early years of teaching Limon Technique, to the present fusion of his own personal movement language, his work has metamorphosed from the unique expression of the fundamental principles of Limon's work, to the creation of his own class methodology: Shifting Roots – the Alegado Movement Language.

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© cin cin

Performance catalogue available for download

65 Productions in one small booklet:
All pieces and extras can be found here in the performance catalogue as a DOWNLOAD

Workshop catalogue available for download

Workshops for professionals, beginners, come-back dancers, enthusiasts: all workshops included in our new catalogue here as DOWNLOAD

impressions'15 © Karolina Miernik

FAQ

Do you have any questions? How to book a workshop? How can I buy tickets for the performances? Where can I get more information about the soçial programme?Where and when to find details on our website? Find answers to your questions on our FAQ page!

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 17.07.2019, 21:30 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2019/id3860/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

JOE ALEGADO

ImPulsTanz Workshops 2013 © Karolina Miernik
© Nina Saurugg
© Nina Saurugg
© Marta Lamovsek

Shifting Roots – Alegado Movement Language

Hohes Performanceniveau

In diesem Workshop werden wir die Bewegungsprinzipien, die ich in meinen Anfängerkursen  vorstelle auf einer höheren Ebene betrachten: komplexe Koordination der Hände, Arme, Beine und des Torso, Rhythmuswechsel, Gewichtsverlagerungen, schnelle Übergänge. Vor allem widmen wir uns der Verbindung zur Erde, die uns das ermöglicht und uns befähigt dem Ziel, Bewegung auf ein hohes Performancelevel anzuheben, näher zu kommen.

In meinem Wunsch, die Unterschiede zwischen meiner persönlichen Entwicklung im Tanz und meiner Arbeit mit der Tradition von José Limón zu unterscheiden, entschied ich mich, meine Arbeit als Alegado-Bewegungssprache zu kategorisieren. Hauptsächlich, um der Tatsache mehr Substanz zu verleihen, dass die Grundlage all meiner somatischen Erfahrungen von Kindheit an bis zur Gegenwart zu meinem Tanzvokabular beigetragen hat.
Noch weiter und tiefer, unterhalb dieses somatischen Fundaments liegen die Wurzeln, die sich weiter in die Seele unserer Erde erstrecken. Und weil wir als Menschen in ständiger Bewegung in der Landschaft der Erde sind, habe ich mich entschieden, meine Arbeit näher zu definieren, indem ich sie umbenenne – Shifting Roots.

ANDERE WORKSHOPS VON Joe Alegado

Shifting Roots – Alegado Movement Language

Startup Modern

Mein ganzer Unterricht reflektiert die Hingabe zu unserer Beziehung zur Erde und zu den für unsere Bewegungsfreiheit unentbehrlichen Wurzeln. Mein Wunsch ist es, den Student_innen zu ermöglichen den Einfluss, den dieses Gefühl auf unsere Bewegung hat, kennenzulernen. Ebenso werden wir die für den Tanz so essentiellen Übergänge von Bewegung entdecken. Wir werden uns besonders auf Koordination, Rhythmus, Fokus und vor allem auf die Ehrlichkeit in der Bewegung, die Authentizität, konzentrieren.

In meinem Wunsch, die Unterschiede zwischen meiner persönlichen Entwicklung im Tanz und meiner Arbeit mit der Tradition von José Limón zu unterscheiden, entschied ich mich, meine Arbeit als Alegado-Bewegungssprache zu kategorisieren. Hauptsächlich, um der Tatsache mehr Substanz zu verleihen, dass die Grundlage all meiner somatischen Erfahrungen von Kindheit an bis zur Gegenwart zu meinem Tanzvokabular beigetragen hat.
Noch weiter und tiefer, unterhalb dieses somatischen Fundaments liegen die Wurzeln, die sich weiter in die Seele unserer Erde erstrecken. Und weil wir als Menschen in ständiger Bewegung in der Landschaft der Erde sind, habe ich mich entschieden, meine Arbeit näher zu definieren, indem ich sie umbenenne – Shifting Roots.

Shifting Roots – Alegado Movement Language

Hohes Performanceniveau

In diesem Workshop werden wir die Bewegungsprinzipien, die ich in meinen Anfängerkursen  vorstelle auf einer höheren Ebene betrachten: komplexe Koordination der Hände, Arme, Beine und des Torso, Rhythmuswechsel, Gewichtsverlagerungen, schnelle Übergänge. Vor allem widmen wir uns der Verbindung zur Erde, die uns das ermöglicht und uns befähigt dem Ziel, Bewegung auf ein hohes Performancelevel anzuheben, näher zu kommen.

In meinem Wunsch, die Unterschiede zwischen meiner persönlichen Entwicklung im Tanz und meiner Arbeit mit der Tradition von José Limón zu unterscheiden, entschied ich mich, meine Arbeit als Alegado-Bewegungssprache zu kategorisieren. Hauptsächlich, um der Tatsache mehr Substanz zu verleihen, dass die Grundlage all meiner somatischen Erfahrungen von Kindheit an bis zur Gegenwart zu meinem Tanzvokabular beigetragen hat.
Noch weiter und tiefer, unterhalb dieses somatischen Fundaments liegen die Wurzeln, die sich weiter in die Seele unserer Erde erstrecken. Und weil wir als Menschen in ständiger Bewegung in der Landschaft der Erde sind, habe ich mich entschieden, meine Arbeit näher zu definieren, indem ich sie umbenenne – Shifting Roots.

ARTISTBIO: Joe Alegado

Joe Alegado war Mitglied und Solotänzer des Ballet Hispanico in New York, des Alvin Ailey Repertory Ensembles und der José Limón Company und performte weltweit in einigen der bekanntesten Werke des Modern Dance Repertoires.
Er unterrichtete und choreografierte weitläufig in ganz Europa bei diversen Festivals, Studios, Institutionen und Tanzcompagnien. Er ist einer der ersten Mitglieder des Lehrkörpers von ImPulsTanz Workshops (ehemals Wiener Tanzwochen). Seine Arbeit in mehr als drei Jahrzehnten in Europa spiegelt sich in seiner Entwicklung hier in der ImPulsTanz Festival Umgebung wider.
Obwohl sein Hauptaugenmerk auf dem Unterrichten liegt, haben seine choreografischen Arbeiten in ganz Europa und darüber hinaus als Inspirationsquelle für eine Tanztrainingsmethode gedient, die als Bezugspunkt und Motivation die Bühne verwendet, um Fluss, Energie und Intention in seinen Klassen zu thematisieren. Aus den frühen Jahren des Limon Technik Unterrichts, hat er seine Bewegungssprache zu einem einzigartigen Ausdruck der Grundsätze von Limons Arbeit umgewandelt und zu seiner Unterrichtsmethodik entwickelt: Shifting Roots – the Alegado Movement Language.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie hier. MORE

© cin cin

Performance-Katalog zum Download

65 Produktionen in nur einem Büchlein: Alle Stücke und Extras finden Sie zum Stöbern in unserem neuen Katalog hier als
DOWNLOAD

impressions'15 © Karolina Miernik

FAQ

Wo finden die Workshops statt? Wie bewerbe ich mich für Research Projects? Wo kann ich Performance-Tickets erwerben? Wo gibt es mehr Informationen zum soçial-Programm? Wie finde ich detaillierte Informationen auf der Website? Finden Sie Antworten auf Ihre Fragen auf unserer FAQ Seite!

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 20.06.2019, 10:12 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2019/id3860/