You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

MIGUEL GUTIERREZ

© Paula Lobo
© Ian Douglas
© Ian Douglas
© Ian Douglas
© Boru O Brien O Connell
© Eric McNatt

Red Leather Yellow Leather (A vocal workshop)

Pliable, relaxed and expansive voices

Miguel Gutierrez’ recent works have been notable for their expressive use of the voice. In this workshop, Gutierrez will lead the participants through simple warm-ups to help them to discover pliable, relaxed and expansive voices, ready for an array of approaches to sound making in performance. We will sing together, create songs in groups, and play with different approaches to text. Influences include studies with Barbara Maier, Linklater Technique, Alexander Technique, and the Feldenkrais Method. This workshop is open to anyone!

OTHER WORKSHOPS OF Miguel Gutierrez

Baby, this is what you came for
or
I’m walking on my future

“… politics is activity already in motion. It does not await ignition.” – Randy Martin

This workshop is a moving think tank. Choreography can be a framework for deploying difference in a time of increasing anxiety. What do I mean by difference? Who is in the room. What does it mean for us to be together? We are not the same but we are bound by invisible tethers and the strangeness of behaving together. I am interested in the strangeness and try to tease it out in ways both systematic and spontaneous. We make by doing. We perform as we make a performance, or participate in a workshop. I will share ways that I harness immediacy, mystery, relevance, irreverence and import. I am interested in what is definitive and unstable. Are we foolish for still being inspired by performance? I like dancing. I like it a lot. We become beautiful in the process of performing but beautiful is not enough. I want to hold all of us. I want the differences held. Do you care to join? It is all too much. 

ARTISTBIO: Miguel Gutierrez

Miguel Gutierrez lives in Brooklyn, NY. He creates dance-based performances, music and poetry that focus on desire, identity and the search for meaning. He is a 2016 Doris Duke Artist. His work has been presented in venues such as Centre National de Danse, Centre Pompidou, ImPulsTanz, Fringe Arts, Walker Art Center, TBA/PICA, MCA Chicago, New York Live Arts, Live Arts Bard, and the 2014 Whitney Biennial. He has received support from Creative Capital, MAP, National Dance Project, and Jerome Foundation and has received fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, United States Artists, New York Foundation for the Arts, Tides Foundation as well as a Foundation for Contemporary Art award and four NY Dance and Performance Bessies. He recently premiered "This Bridge Called My Ass", a group performance that bends tropes of Latinidad to articulate new relationships to identity and form. It was presented by The Chocolate Factory as part of American Realness 2019. He currently performs a music project called SADONNA, where he turns Madonna’s upbeat songs into sad anthems. He runs LANDING, an educational initiative at Gibney, and his book "When You Rise Up" is available from 53rd State Press.

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched here. MORE

© ImPulsTanz

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 24.08.2019, 18:22 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2019/id3836/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

MIGUEL GUTIERREZ

© Paula Lobo
© Ian Douglas
© Ian Douglas
© Ian Douglas
© Boru O Brien O Connell
© Eric McNatt

Red Leather Yellow Leather (A vocal workshop)

Geschmeidige, entspannte, voluminöse Stimme

Miguel Gutierrez’ letzte Arbeiten sind bekannt für die ausdrucksstarke Verwendung der Stimme. In diesem Workshop wird Miguel die Teilnehmer_innen mit verschiedensten Warm-ups vertraut machen, die zu einer geschmeidigen, entspannten und voluminösen Stimme führen und für die Arbeit mit Sound und Klang in Performance vorbereiten. Barbara Maier, Linklater und Alexander Technik sowie die Feldenkrais Methode bilden die Basis für diesen Workshop. Eingeladen sind alle, die gerne mit der eigenen Stimme arbeiten wollen.

ANDERE WORKSHOPS VON Miguel Gutierrez

Baby, this is what you came for
or
I’m walking on my future

“… politics is activity already in motion. It does not await ignition.” – Randy Martin

Dieser Workshop ist ein sich-bewegender Think Tank. Choreografie kann in Zeiten der wachsenden Unruhe und Angst einen Rahmen bieten, um Unterschiede einzusetzen. Was meine ich mit „Unterschiede“? All jene, die sich an einem gegebenen Moment im selben Raum befinden. Was bedeutet es für uns, zusammen zu sein? Wir sind nicht gleich aber dennoch durch unsichtbare Bänder auf zugleich systematische und spontane Weisen aneinander gebunden. Wir machen, indem wir tun. Wir führen etwas auf, indem wir ein Stück schaffen, oder indem wir in einem Workshop mitmachen. Ich teile meine Methoden, durch die ich mir Unmittelbarkeit, Hysterie, Relevanz, Respektlosigkeit und Bedeutung, Respektlosigkeit und Sinn  zunutze mache. Mich interessiert sowohl das Definitive wie auch das Instabile. Ist es albern von uns, nach wie vor von Performance inspiriert zu werden? Ich liebe es zu tanzen. Ich mag es sehr. Das Auftreten macht uns schön, aber Schön-Sein genügt nicht. Ich will uns alle halten. Ich will, dass die Unterschiede getragen werden. Willst du mitmachen? Es ist einfach alles zu viel.

ARTISTBIO: Miguel Gutierrez

Miguel Gutierrez lebt in Brooklyn, NY. Er schafft Tanzstücke, Musik und Poesie, die sich allesamt mit dem Begehren, mit Identität und der Suche nach Bedeutung beschäftigen. 2016 wurde er zum Doris Duke Artist des Jahres ernannt. Seine Arbeit wurde bereits an Orten wie dem Centre National de Danse, Centre Pompidou, ImPulsTanz, Fringe Arts, Walker Art Center, TBA/PICA, MCA Chicago, New York Live Arts, Live Arts Bard und der 2014 Whitney Biennial präsentiert. Er wird unterstützt von den Creative Capital, MAP, National Dance Project und der Jerome Foundation und erhielt Auszeichnungen von der Guggenheim Foundation, United States Artists, New York Foundation for the Arts, Tides Foundation sowie den Foundation for Contemporary Art Award und Performance Bessies. Zuletzt prämierte er „This Bridge Called My Ass“, eine Gruppenperformance, die Sprachbilder aus Latinidad verbiegt, um neue Beziehungen zu Identität und Form zu artikulieren. Sie wurde im Rahmen von American Relations 2019 von The Chocolate Factory präsentiert. Zurzeit führt er das Musikprojekt SADONNA auf, in dem er die aufmüpfige Musik von Madonna in traurige Hymnen umwandelt. Er leitet zudem auch LANDING, eine Lerninitiative des Gibney Dance. Sein Buch „When You Rise Up” ist beim Buchverlag 53rd State Press erhältlich.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© cin cin

Performance-Katalog zum Download

65 Produktionen in nur einem Büchlein: Alle Stücke und Extras finden Sie zum Stöbern in unserem neuen Katalog hier als
DOWNLOAD

impressions'15 © Karolina Miernik

FAQ

Wo finden die Workshops statt? Wie bewerbe ich mich für Research Projects? Wo kann ich Performance-Tickets erwerben? Wo gibt es mehr Informationen zum soçial-Programm? Wie finde ich detaillierte Informationen auf der Website? Finden Sie Antworten auf Ihre Fragen auf unserer FAQ Seite!

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 18.06.2019, 07:51 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2019/id3836/