You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

PREVIEW 2019

Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch "Masurka Fogo"  © Laszlo Szito

Welcome to the Festival Preseason 2019!

From 11th July to 11th August 2019, the ImPulsTanz – Vienna International Dance Festival will once again take over the big and small stages as well as two museums in Vienna.  As of 6th June 2019 our entire performance programme will be online but already on the World Dance Day - 29th April 2019 - the presale starts for the following productions: Kresnik | Helnwein | Schwertsik & TANZLIN.Z Macbeth, Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch Masurca Fogo, Ismael Ivo & Balé da Cidade de São Paulo Um Jeito de Corpo, Mette Ingvartsen The Red Pieces - 69 positions, 7 Pleasures, to come (extended), 21 pornographies and Planningtorock Powerhouse. Tickets for all other performances will be available from 6th June 2019. We are looking forward to your visit!

Johann Kresnik | Kurt Schwertsik | Gottfried Hellwein "Macbeth" © Dieter Wuschanski

Dance theatre pioneers conquer Vienna

For the opening of ImPulsTanz 2019 on 11th July and 13th July, we are happy to present to you Macbeth by Johann Kresnik, the "berserk of the choreographic theatre", at Volkstheater. The piece, based on William Shakespeare's tragedy, is reconstructed by Kresnik for its thirtieth anniversary together with the ballet ensemble of the Linz Landestheater. His visually stunning spectacle becomes a piece of art itself with a stage design of the painter and graphic artist Gottfried Helnwein and music by the award-winning composer Kurt Schwertsik. On the 16th, 18th and 19th July the programme continues with the Tanztheater Wuppertal and Masurca Fogo by Pina Bausch, the cult figure of the international dance scene and arguably the most important choreographer of her time, at Burgtheater. Inspired by the portuguese everyday life and encounters with the local art scene, the piece presents itself as a generous homage to life, accompanied by music from Duke Ellington to Gidon Kremer to Amália Rodrigues.

Ismael Ivo & Balé da Cidade de São Paulo "Um Jeito de Corpo" © STIG

Music and dance superstars from Brazil

With Um Jeito de Corpo not only Ismael Ivo, the co-founder of ImPulsTanz, will again visit Vienna, and he also brings along the Balé da Cidade de São Paulo, which he artistically directs since 2017. In an explosive choreography by famous Pina Bausch dancer Morena Nascimento the 33-member ensemble dances a brilliant homage to  the world-famous Brazilian singer, writer and composer Caetano Veloso – this wonderful world opener and mover, trough whose songs we „become critics, lovers, sympathizers, transgressors and politicians.“ (Carlos Gradim) To be seen on the 23rd and 25th July at Burgtheater.

Mette Ingvartsen "to come (extended)" © Jens Sethzman

Investigation pornography

With four pieces – all of them belong to her series The Red Pieces – the outstanding Danish choreographer and performer Mette Ingvartsen can be seen at ImPulsTanz 2019. Here, she investigates with the help from greats like the recently deceased Carolee Schneemann or the exciting theorist Paul B. Preciado the relationship between sexuality and the public. 69 positions will be presented on 13th, 14th, 16th and 17th July at Kasino am Schwarzenbergplatz, 7 Pleasures on the 19th and 21st July at Akademietheater, to come (extended) on the 22nd July at Volkstheater and 21 pornographies on the 24th July also at Volkstheater.

© Planningtorock

We are Planningtorock!

Right after its premiere in Berlin’s clubbing temple Berghain: on 2nd August comes not just a musical highlight to Halle E in MuseumsQuartier. For the recently released and much-acclaimed album Powerhouse, the exceptional artist Planningtorock aka Jam Rostron is not just developing an ordinary concert, but a unique live performance with storytelling, specially filmed video material, language, dance, set and lighting design. In addition, exclusively produced songs for this evening are to be experienced. Rostron shares the stage with a cast of queer, non-binary and trans-identifying performers such as the Vienna / Berlin based choreographer and dancer Ian Kaler and the Finnish performer Maija Karhunen, as well as special guests. A completely new concert performance dance experience!

© Karolina Miernik

ImPulsTanz in the mailbox

As per request, you have the possibilty to receive hot-of-the-press information regarding ImPulsTanz via mail. All you need to do is to register here!

If you like to receive this year's performance brochure please register until 27th May 2019. Later registrations can only be taken care of in 2020.

 

GOOD TO KNOW

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 24.04.2019, 16:22 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/performances/2019/preview/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

PREVIEW 2019

Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch "Masurka Fogo"  © Laszlo Szito

Willkommen in der Festival-Vorsaison 2019!

Von 11. Juli bis 11. August 2019 bespielt das ImPulsTanz – Vienna International Dance Festival die großen und kleinen Bühnen sowie zwei Museen Wiens. Ab 6. Juni 2019 finden Sie unser gesamtes Performanceprogramm online. Aber bereits am Welttag des Tanzes – dem 29. April 2019 – startet der Vorverkauf für die folgenden Produktionen. Tickets für alle weiteren Vorstellungen sind ab 6. Juni erhältlich. Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch!

Johann Kresnik | Kurt Schwertsik | Gottfried Hellwein "Macbeth" © Dieter Wuschanski

Die Pionier_innen des Tanztheaters erobern Wien

Zur Eröffnung von ImPulsTanz am 11. Juli sowie am 13. Juli darf man sich über Macbeth von Johann Kresnik, dem „Berserker des choreografischen Theaters“, im Volkstheater freuen. Das Stück, basierend auf William Shakespeares Tragödie, rekonstruierte er für dessen dreißigsten Geburtstag gemeinsam mit dem Ballettensemble des Linzer Landestheaters. Sein bildgewaltiges und tänzerisches Spektakel wird mit dem Bühnenbild des Malers und Grafikers Gottfried Helnwein und der Musik des vielfach ausgezeichneten Komponisten Kurt Schwertsik zum Gesamtkunstwerk. Am 16., 18. und 19. Juli schließt im Burgtheater das Tanztheater Wuppertal mit Masurca Fogo von Pina Bausch, der Kultfigur der internationalen Tanzszene und wohl bedeutendsten Choreografin ihrer Zeit, an. Das Stück entstand 1998 in Lissabon, wurde vom portugiesischen Alltag sowie von Begegnungen mit der dortigen Kunstszene inspiriert und präsentiert sich als großzügige Huldigung an das Leben, begleitet von Musik von Duke Ellington über Gidon Kremer bis Amália Rodrigues.

Ismael Ivo & Balé da Cidade de São Paulo "Um Jeito de Corpo" © STIG

Die Musik- und Tanz-Superstars aus Brasilien

Mit Um Jeito de Corpo ist nicht nur Ismael Ivo, der Mitgebründer von ImPulsTanz, erneut in Wien zu Gast – er bringt das Balé da Cidade de São Paulo mit, das er seit 2017 künstlerisch leitet. In einer brisant aufgeladenen Choreografie der legendären Pina Bausch-Tänzerin Morena Nascimento tanzt das 33-köpfige Ensemble eine fulminante Hommage an den weltberühmten brasilianischen Sänger, Dichter und Komponisten Caetano Veloso – diesen wunderbaren Weltenöffner und Beweger, durch dessen Lieder wir „zu Kritikern werden, zu Liebenden, zu Mitleidenden, zu Grenzüberschreitern und zu Aktivisten“. (Carlos Gradim) Zu sehen am 23. und 25. Juli im Burgtheater.

Mette Ingvartsen "to come (extended)" © Jens Sethzman

Erforscherin der Pornografie

Mit gleich vier Stücken – nämlich mit allen ihrer Serie The Red Pieces – ist die herausragende dänische Choreografin und Performerin Mette Ingvartsen bei ImPulsTanz zu sehen. Darin untersucht sie Zuhilfenahme u. a. von Größen wie der jüngst verstorbenen Carolee Schneemann oder dem aufregenden Theoretiker Paul B. Preciado die Beziehungen zwischen Sexualität und Öffentlichkeit. 69 positions ist am 13., 14., 16. und 17. Juli im Kasino am Schwarzenbergplatz, 7 Pleasures am 19. sowie 21. Juli im Akademietheater, to come (extended) am 22. Juli im Volkstheater und 21 pornographies am 24. Juli ebenfalls im Volkstheater zu sehen.

© Planningtorock

We are Planningtorock!

Nach seiner Premiere im Berliner Clubtempel Berghain kündigt sich am 2. August ein nicht nur musikalisches Highlight in der Halle E im MuseumsQuartier an. Zum gerade eben erschienenen und vielgerühmten Album Powerhouse entwickelt die_der Ausnahmekünstler_in Planningtorock aka Jam Rostron nicht einfach ein gewöhnliches Konzert, sondern eine einzigartige Live-Performance mit Storytelling, Videomaterial, Sprache, Tanz, Bühnenbild und Lichtdesign. Zudem sind ausschließlich für diesen Abend produzierte Songs zu erleben. Mit auf der Bühne ist ein Cast aus queeren, non-binary und trans-identifying Perfomer_innen wie der Wien/Berliner Choreograf und Tänzer Ian Kaler und die finnische Performerin Maija Karhunen sowie Special Guests. Ein völlig neues Konzert-Performance-Tanz-Erlebnis!

© Karolina Miernik

ImPulsTanz im Briefkasten

Auf Wunsch können Sie unsere Programmhefte auch per Post erhalten:
Melden Sie sich hier an.

Wenn Sie sich bis zum 27. Mai 2019 zum Postversand anmelden, senden wir Ihnen gerne noch den diesjährigen Performancekatalog zu, alle späteren Anmeldungen werden ab 2020 beschickt. 

 

GOOD TO KNOW

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 24.04.2019, 16:20 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/performances/2019/preview/