IDOCDE Symposium & Residency 2020

© @pavleheidler
© @pavleheidler

IDOCDE Online Symposium 2020
MAKING PLACE TAKING SPACE
21–26 July 2020

The symposium has been reimagined as an online one week event with offerings from our online residency groups and invited guests, speakers, performers, and YOU!

The world’s developments in the last months has led to reimagining the meaning of MAKING PLACE TAKING SPACE when work and many kinds of relationships have moved into the virtual space. One common denominator we share across the globe now is a not knowing - not knowing many aspects of the future, not knowing what will be considered normal even only a few weeks ahead, or where the needs and wishes of the community of dance practitioners and larger communities are orienting towards. As a response to a constantly evolving situation we created the IDOCDE virtual circles, with the intent to create a space / place for sharing and support. These circles evolved beyond the personal and became what in the past years has been the IDOCDE residency. Themes discussed in these circles include (but are not limited to): notions of the public and private, finding somatic-creative responses to Covid-19, site-responsiveness (i.e. in lock down), notions of local and global, the realities of being a dance teacher / practitioner 2020, physical distancing as a choreography of space, surveillance and the body. Some of these topics will have further inquiry in the week of the symposium, and being flanked by additional speakers / discussions / practice-based events.

This symposium is seen as a space for building community and resilience practices in real time. Not knowing our future, we attempt to refrain from anticipating and aim to make this refusal to anticipate our underscore for the IDOCDE symposium 2020. We see this idea being utilized in interviews, lectures, practices, and performances throughout the week in different ways.

Our focus is to create a collective site for exchange built, with you, through the week. There will be 2-3 daily events, with opportunities to check in, process and discuss. A cumulative event at the end of the week for sharing, socializing and generally being together.

We want this event to be accessible to as many folks as we can, and no one will be turned away for lack of funds. We therefore run this symposium by donation only––with a suggested donation between €1-€100.

Please let us know when registering if you are able to assist as a volunteer. Thank you!

Schedule (continuously updated): http://www.idocde.net/pages/178
Registration: here.
For further questions contact: symposium@idocde.net

We look forward to moving and being moved with you!

Your IDOCDE team
Defne Erdur, Deirdre Morris Dilek Üstünalan, Kerstin Kussmaul, pavleheidler

 

GOOD TO KNOW

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 04.07.2020, 14:05 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/idocde/symposium/2020/
NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTIONORDER PROGRAMME
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival

IDOCDE Symposium & Residency 2020

© @pavleheidler
© @pavleheidler

IDOCDE Online Symposium 2020
MAKING PLACE TAKING SPACE
21.–26.Juli 2020

Das IDOCDE Symposium MAKING PLACE TAKING SPACE findet dieses Jahr online statt. Eine ganze Woche lang, mit Beiträgen unserer Online-Residencies, geladenen Gästen, Sprecher*innen und Performer*innen und dir! 

Die aktuellen Entwicklungen der letzten Monate haben uns zu einer Neukonzeption von MAKING PLACE TAKING SPACE – unserer Arbeit und Beziehungen im digitalen Raum – geführt. Ein gemeinsamer Nenner, über den Planeten hinweg, ist das Nichtwissen – viele Aspekte unserer Zukunft nicht zu kennen; nicht zu wissen, was in nur wenigen Wochen “normal” sein wird, oder woran sich die Wünsche und Bedürfnisse der Tanz-, oder größeren Communities orientieren werden. Als Antwort auf die sich kontinuierlich entwickelnde Situation haben wir die IDOCDE virtual circles in den letzten Monaten implementiert: ein Raum für Unterstützung und Austausch. Diese Treffen haben sich nun zu dem entwickelt, was in den letzten Jahren die IDOCDE-Residenz war: ein gemeinsam geschaffener Raum für künstlerische Prozesse und Fragen. Themen, die aufgetaucht sind: das öffentliche und das private (Leben), somatisch-kreative Antworten zu Covid-19, Orts-spezifisches Handeln (z.B. im Lockdown), die Realitäten von Tanzschaffenden im Jahr 2020, “physical/social distancing” als Choreographie, Überwachung und der Körper. Einige dieser Themen werden wir in der Symposiumswoche mit der Unterstützung von zusätzlichen Gästen, Diskussionen und praxisbasierten Einheiten genauer untersuchen.

Wir sehen das Symposium als Raum, um Gemeinschaft aufzubauen und Resilienz zu generieren. Im Ungewissen lebend, sehen wir vom antizipieren ab und versuchen, diese Verweigerung als underscore, als Methode für unser IDOCDE Symposium 2020 zu gestalten. Das Nicht-Antizipieren wollen wir auf unterschiedlichste Weise – mithilfe von Interviews, Lesungen, Praxen und Performances – in unsere Symposiumswoche einbetten.

Unser Fokus liegt darin, einen kollektiven digitalen Ort, gemeinsam mit dir, aufzubauen. Wir planen zwei bis drei Ereignisse täglich, mit Gelegenheiten für Check-Ins und Diskussionen. Als Abschluss gibt es ein gemeinsames Online-Fest, in dem wir einfach miteinander sind.

Wir wollen das Symposium für möglichst viele Menschen möglich machen und niemand soll aus ökonomischen Gründen ausgeschlossen werden. Daher findet die Teilnahme am Symposium dieses Jahr auf Spendenbasis statt. Wir würden uns über Spenden zwischen einem und hundert Euro sehr freuen. 

Wir suchen außerdem noch freiwillige Helfer – bitte tragt euch hierzu einfach bei der Registrierung ein. Vielen Dank!

Programm (kontinuierliche updates): www.idocde.net/pages/178
Registrierung: hier!
Fragen? symposium@idocde.net

Hier geht es zum Timetable!

Wir freuen uns, mit dir zu reden und uns gemeinsam zu bewegen!
Das IDOCDE-Team
Defne Erdur, Deirdre Morris Dilek Üstünalan, Kerstin Kussmaul, pavleheidler

 

GOOD TO KNOW

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak Previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events findest du HIER.

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals findest du HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 11.08.2020, 05:36 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/idocde/symposium/2020/
NEWSLETTER ABONNIERENPROGRAMM BESTELLEN
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival