ARCHIVE

SEARCH TERM
CATEGORYS
 
 

Artist Archive

Danny Willems
© Danny Willems

Laura Aris (BE/ES)

Laura Aris is a performer, choreographer and recognised international teacher. She has been leading contemporary dance workshops worldwide since 2001. Between 1999 and 2008 she was a dancer of Ultima Vez/Wim Vandekeybus. Previously she has been part of the dance company Lanònima Imperial/Juan Carlos García and associated with General Elèctrica artists collective, in Barcelona. In the past thirteen years Laura has developed a rich body of work, leading commissioned projects, creating several solos and many collaborative performances.

“As teacher and as artist, I am committed to sharing thoughts, questions, tips, and accumulated experiences that inspire and encourage others – hopefully enhancing a collective, intellectual curiosity. Through my years of teaching, I have learned to seek out a balance between goals relating to technical mastery and abilities of individual students to make their own choices, reflect deeply, discover anew, develop personae, and encounter imaginary universes.

Teaching requires a dynamic interplay between what is happening inside the teacher's mind and what happens with the group in the room. The act of teaching and my professional artistic practice has for long been interconnected: They are in constant relation and evolving together. I often borrow ideas from my artistic work according to how relevant they are on a pedagogical level. I then invent work sessions and exercises that support the mechanisms and technical needs of the scenic idea. I select some concepts that can be taken out of context and embodied by other bodies, other minds – keeping the essence but also becoming filters for new, freshly arising materials. Teaching has undeniably become an important part of my professional life. Now, I strongly believe that the relationships between the act of teaching and one’s artistic practice is often undervalued.”

Last update biography: 08.04.2021

GOOD TO KNOW

Public Moves 2020 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

Shop

Fashionable goodies as well as workshop and performance vouchers HERE

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 23.01.2022, 12:52 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/archive/artistbios/id233/
NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTIONORDER PROGRAMME
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival

ARCHIV

SUCHBEGRIFF
KATEGORIEN
 
 

Artist Archive

Danny Willems
© Danny Willems

Laura Aris (BE/ES)

Laura Arís ist Performerin, Choreografin und international anerkannte Lehrerin. Seit 2001 leitet sie weltweit Workshops für zeitgenössischen Tanz. Zwischen 1999 und 2008 war sie Tänzerin bei Ultima Vez/Wim Vandekeybus. Zuvor war sie Mitglied der Tanzcompagnie Lanònima Imperial/Juan Carlos García und dem Künstlerkollektiv General Elèctrica, in Barcelona. In den letzten dreizehn Jahren hat Laura ein reichhaltiges Werk entwickelt, sie leitete Auftragsprojekte, schuf mehrere Solos und viele kollaborative Performances.

„Als Dozentin und Künstlerin ist es mir ein Anliegen, Gedanken, Fragen, Tipps und gesammelte Erfahrungen weiterzugeben, die andere inspirieren und ermutigen  und so hoffentlich eine kollektive, intellektuelle Neugierde fördern. In den Jahren meiner Lehrtätigkeit habe ich gelernt, ein Gleichgewicht zwischen den Zielen in Bezug auf Tanztechnik und den Fähigkeiten der einzelnen Student*innen zu suchen, um ihre eigenen Entscheidungen zu treffen, tief zu reflektieren, neu zu entdecken, Persönlichkeiten zu entwickeln und imaginären Universen zu begegnen.

Das Unterrichten erfordert ein dynamisches Wechselspiel zwischen dem, was im Kopf der*des Lehrenden geschieht und dem, was mit der Gruppe im Raum passiert. Der Akt des Unterrichtens und meine professionelle künstlerische Praxis sind seit langem miteinander verbunden: Sie stehen in ständiger Beziehung miteinander und entwickeln sich gemeinsam weiter. Ich leihe mir oft Ideen aus meiner künstlerischen Arbeit, abhängig davon, wie relevant sie auf einer pädagogischen Ebene sind. Ich erfinde dann Sessions und Übungen, die Mechanismen und technische Bedürfnisse von szenischen Ideen unterstützen. Ich wähle einige Konzepte aus, die aus dem Kontext herausgenommen und von anderen Körpern, anderen Köpfen umgesetzt werden können – so bleibt die Essenz erhalten, wird aber auch zum Filter für neue, frisch entstehende Materialien. Das Unterrichten ist unbestritten ein wichtiger Teil meines Berufslebens geworden. Ich bin der festen Überzeugung, dass die Beziehungen zwischen dem Akt des Lehrens und der eigenen künstlerischen Praxis oft unterbewertet sind.“

Letztes Update der Biografie: 08.04.2021

GOOD TO KNOW

Shop

Fesche Goodies und Workshop- & Performance-Gutscheine gibt es HIER

Public Moves 2020 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak Previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events findest du HIER.

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals findest du HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 28.11.2021, 13:46 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/archive/artistbios/id233/
NEWSLETTER ABONNIERENPROGRAMM BESTELLEN
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival