You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIVE

SEARCH TERM
CATEGORYS
YEAR
 
 

WORKSHOPS 2019

Robbie Sweeny
© Robbie Sweeny

Jassem Hindi

Ghost dancer


Sound is the ghost dancer of a performance, haunting the space, shadowing every gesture. It is a political marker. It is the friendly push towards high physical states. It is also a gateway to the introduction of text, or video, or objects in performance.


Ghost dancer is a sound making and deep listening workshop for performers and hybrid artists. It is a way to understand choreography in performance, inspired by the playfulness of sound art. We’ll have music listening sessions. We will build collective sound installations, train our listening skills and share with each other how we use/would like to use sound in performance. We will reclaim dance and sound as burning physical desires and then subvert and complicate that idea. My aim is to explore and question with you the place of sound in performance – this thing that is between the body, the object and the poetical/political speech.


In this workshop, sound is considered in its materiality, as a texture, as a dancing body and not as a simple ornament to frame dance. It is a simple political and poetical position which supports the idea that the practice of sound points at the invisible and tenuous relation between bodies and other (im)materialities, contaminated by images, sketches of choreography, videos, texts, persons.


This is not a technical workshop, but of course we will get our hands dirty.


Bring things if you have any (toys, dildo, bells, gameboy, rocks, water boiler). Bring pens and paper if you want. Anything for less than 2 euros from a flea market (walkman, tape, voice recorder, keyboard) is welcome. If you have a phone, bring it.


Listening sessions will include field recordings from Vietnam, Greek music, Doom, Electro-Clash, Indian death prayer chanting, "Nouvelle Vague" cinema voice-overs, West African disco and much more.

Making sessions will include the use of lo-fi material such as tapes, contact mics, rough dj, field recording, destroyed electro music, group singing.



ArtistBio: Jassem Hindi
Workshopoverview 2019
Intensive2: 27. Jul + 28. Jul 2019
Week3: 29. Jul - 02. Aug 2019

GOOD TO KNOW

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

© Maja Preckel

Shop

Fashionable goodies of the last festivals are available HERE

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 29.02.2020, 08:53 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/archive/2019/workshops/id3895/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIV

SUCHBEGRIFF
KATEGORIEN
JAHR
 
 

WORKSHOPS 2019

Robbie Sweeny
© Robbie Sweeny

Jassem Hindi

Ghost Dancer


Sound ist der Ghost Dancer einer Performance, er geistert überall herum und verfolgt jede Geste. Er ist eine politische Kennzeichnung und ein sanfter Anstoß zu hohen physischen Zuständen. Er ist auch ein Tor zur bildenden Kunst und zu Film in Performance.


Ghost dancer ist ein Workshop zum Sound-Gestalten und für genaues Hinhören, der sich an Performer_innen und hybride Künstler_innen richtet, der es ermöglicht, Choreografie und Performance zu verstehen und ist von der Verspieltheit von Soundkunst inspiriert. Wir werden Musik hören, bauen kollektive Soundinstallationen, trainieren unsere Fähigkeiten des Zuhörens und tauschen uns darüber aus, wie wir Sound in unseren Performancepraktiken verwenden bzw. gerne verwenden würden. Ziel ist es, den Status von Sound in Performance zu ergründen und zu hinterfragen – dieses Etwas, das zwischen Körper, Objekt und der poetischen/politischen Rede existiert.


In diesem Workshop wird Sound in seiner Materialität betrachtet, als Textur, als tanzender Körper und nicht als einfache Zierde für den Tanz. Es ist eine einfache politische und poetische Position, die die Idee unterstützt, dass die Praxis von Sound auf die unsichtbare und heikle Beziehung zwischen Körper und anderen (Im)Materialitäten hindeutet, die wiederum von Bildern, choreografischen Skizzen, Videos, Texten und Personen beeinflusst sind.


Dies ist kein technischer Workshop. Natürlich werden wir uns die Hände schmutzig machen.

Bring Gegenstände mit, wenn du was hast (Spielzeug, Dildo, Glocken, Gameboy, Steine, Wasserkocher). Bring Stifte und Papier, wenn du magst. Alles, was weniger als 2 Euro beim Flohmarkt kostet (Walkman, Tape, Diktiergerät, Keyboard) ist willkommen. Wenn du ein Smartphone hast, bring es mit.


Bei den Zuhör-Sessions hören wir Feldaufnahmen aus Vietnam, griechische Musik, Doom, Electro-Clash, indische Totengebet-Gesänge, „Nouvelle Vague“ Kino Voice-Overs, westafrikanische Disco Musik und vieles mehr.

Die Kreativ-Sessions umfassen die Verwendung von Lo-Fi-Material wie Tapes, Kontaktmikrofone, DJing, Außenaufnahmen, zerstörte Elektromusik und Gruppengesang.



ArtistBio: Jassem Hindi
Workshopübersicht 2019
Intensive2: 27. Jul + 28. Jul 2019
Week3: 29. Jul - 02. Aug 2019

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolina Miernik

Fesche Goodies der letzten Festival-Ausgaben ab jetzt HIER

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie hier. MORE

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 19.09.2019, 17:30 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/archive/2019/workshops/id3895/