You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIVE

SEARCH TERM
CATEGORYS
YEAR
 
 

RESEARCH 2017

Guido Mencari
© Guido Mencari
ProSeries: 2017

Jan Fabre & Jan Fabre Teaching Group

From Act to Acting


GUIDELINES FOR A PERFORMER IN THE 21ST CENTURY


This Pro Series is booked! we are sorry, that we can not take any more applications! 


Just like figures such as Stanislavski, Meyerhold, and Grotowski, throughout his career, Jan Fabre has put together a set of ‘exercises’, which he uses to prepare his performers (his actors and dancers) to work on stage. These Guidelines for a performer in the 21st century have developed into the basis of his teaching and find specific expression in his work. The series of exercises focuses on systematically refining and optimising the quest for the potential of the physical acting (also known as ‘physiological’ acting). The exploration of the evocative imagination of the ‘body as a whole’ is a leitmotif here. In exercises with titles such as ‘the old man’, ‘the tiger’, ‘the insect’, or ‘rice paper/fire’, it’s neither the imitation nor the psychological aspect which takes centre stage, but the exploration of the physical potential of the transforming body. Here, Fabre attaches great importance to breathing, the use of explosive energy, and the articulations of head, torso, and limbs. A lot of input is drawn from the kinetics of cold and warm-blooded animals.


FROM ACT TO ACTING

The contemporary performer unites performance, theatre, and dance. Fabre always looks for physical impulses in and on the bodies of his performers and stimulates them to act on stage on the basis of those ‘real’ physical sensations. Fabre uses the expression ‘from act to acting’ to describe that process: the real physical impact (tension, pain stimulus, exhaustion, etc.) becomes part of what happens on stage. The physiological processes in the actor’s body radiate in the hall, as it were, so that the pain, tension, and exhaustion also affect the audience. (From: Prof. Luk Van den Dries, "Het geopende lichaam", p. 110, published by De Bezige Bij, 2014)


TEACHING GROUP

For a few years now, Jan Fabre has also been training some of his most experienced performers (Cedric Charron, Annabelle Chambon, Ivana Jozic, Kasper Vandenberghe, and Marina Kaptijn) to teach these ‘guidelines’. In workshops and master classes lasting several days, the performer’s body becomes an instrument, which examines and embodies the transition from act to acting. The imagination and physical awareness are gradually sharpened and the performer is challenged to build a bridge towards a state of physical transformation.


Besides the exercises of Fabre's guide line "from act to acting", the participants will work on a short 25 minute presentation of "I am Blood" at the end of the second week. The text should be memorised; it can be found here: https://goo.gl/Nj26Lj


Please note: Jan Fabre might not be present the whole period of the teaching. 

Details about the teachers of the Teaching Group are to be announced soon.



ArtistBio: Jan Fabre
ArtistBio: Jan Fabre Teaching Group

GOOD TO KNOW

REBECCA PATEK "ineter(a)nal f/ear" © MARIA BARANOVA

Subscribe for flowery or informative ImPulsTanz mail HERE

danceWEB Brunch 2015 © Karolina Miernik

Skip through our festival impressions as of 2005 HERE

© ImPulsTanz

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz

Join our club for numerous benefits. You can purchase our three different Club Cards online. HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 15.11.2018, 11:52 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/archive/2017/research/id3511/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIV

SUCHBEGRIFF
KATEGORIEN
JAHR
 
 

RESEARCH 2017

Guido Mencari
© Guido Mencari
ProSeries: 2017

Jan Fabre & Jan Fabre Teaching Group

From Act to Acting


RICHTLINIEN FÜR PERFORMER_INNEN IM 21. JAHRHUNDERT


Dieses Pro Series ist bereits ausgebucht! Leider können wir daher keine Bewerbungen mehr entgegennehmen!


Genau wie Stanislawski, Meyerhold und Grotowski hat Jan Fabre während seiner Karriere eine Reihe von „Übungen“ zusammengestellt, die er verwendet, um seine Darsteller_innen (Schauspieler_innen und Tänzer_innen) für die Arbeit auf der Bühne vorzubereiten. Diese Richtlinien für Performer_innen im 21. Jahrhundert wurden zum Eckpfeiler seiner Methode und spiegeln sich in einem spezifischen Ausdruck in seiner Arbeit wider. Die Übungsreihe konzentriert sich auf die systematische Verfeinerung und Verbesserung der Suche nach dem Potential der körperlichen Schauspielkunst (auch bekannt als „physiologisches“ Spielen). Die Erkundung der evokativen Vorstellungskraft des „Körpers als Ganzheit“ ist hier ein Leitmotiv. In Übungen mit Titeln wie „der alte Mann“, „der Tiger“, „das Insekt“ oder „Reispapier/Feuer“ sind es weder die Imitation noch der psychologische Aspekt, die im Mittelpunkt stehen, sondern die Erforschung des physischen Potentials des sich transformierenden Körpers. Hier legt Fabre großen Wert auf die Atmung, die Verwendung von explosiver Energie und die Artikulationen von Kopf, Torso und Gliedmaßen. Ebenso wird die Kinetik der kalt- und warmblütigen Tiere herangezogen.


FROM ACT TO ACTING

Zeitgenössische Performer_innen vereinigen Performance, Theater und Tanz. Fabre sucht immer nach körperlichen Impulsen in und auf dem Körper seiner Darsteller_innen und ermutigt sie, auf der Bühne auf der Grundlage dieser „echten“ physischen Empfindungen zu spielen. Fabre nützt den Ausdruck „vom Spielen zum Schauspielen“, um diesen Prozess zu beschreiben: der tatsächliche physische Einfluss (Spannung, Schmerzreiz, Erschöpfung usw.) wird Teil dessen, was auf der Bühne geschieht. Die physiologischen Prozesse im Körper der/s Performers_in strahlen sozusagen in den Raum, so dass der Schmerz, die Spannung und die Erschöpfung auch auf das Publikum einwirken. (von: Prof. Luk Van den Dries, „Het geopende lichaam“, p. 110, erschienen bei De Bezige Bij, 2014)


TEACHING GROUP

Seit einigen Jahren bildet Jan Fabre auch einige seiner erfahrensten Performer_innen aus (Cedric Charron, Annabelle Chambon, Ivana Jozic, Kasper Vandenberghe und Marina Kaptijn), um diese „Guidlines“ zu unterrichten. In Workshops und Meisterklassen, die meist mehrere Tage dauern, wird der Körper von Performer_innen zu einem Instrument, das den Übergang vom Spielen zum Schauspielen untersucht und verkörpert. Die Vorstellung und das körperliche Bewusstsein werden allmählich geschärft und der/die Darsteller_in wird ermutigt, den Schritt zu einem Zustand der körperlichen Transformation zu wagen.


Neben den Übungen aus den „From Act to Acting"-Guidlines  werden die Teilnehmer_innen an kurzen 25-minütigen Präsentationen von „I am Blood" am Ende der zweiten Woche arbeiten. Der Text sollte auswendig gelernt werden, zu finden ist er hier: https://goo.gl/Nj26Lj


Bitte beachte: Jan Fabre wird nicht für den gesamten Zeitraum des Pro Series Projektes anwesend sein.

Im Kürze gibt es mehr Details über die Dozent_innen der Teaching Group.



ArtistBio: Jan Fabre
ArtistBio: Jan Fabre Teaching Group

GOOD TO KNOW

REBECCA PATEK "ineter(a)nal f/ear" © MARIA BARANOVA

Anmeldungen für blumige oder informative ImPulsTanz-Post HIER

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

© Karolina Miernik

Fesche Goodies der letzten Festival-Ausgaben ab jetzt HIER

danceWEB Brunch 2015 © Karolina Miernik

Festivalimpressionen ab 2005 gibt es HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 15.11.2018, 11:53 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/archive/2017/research/id3511/