X

José Manuel Álvarez (ES)

CURRENTLY

BIOGRAPHY

José Manuel Alvarez arrived in Barcelona when he was only 4 years old where he began his training and profession. Since 2014, he has been exploring his facet as a creator that has led him to present different proposals such as the choreographic piece in duo D-Structures (2014), Ángulo Muerto with Lucía Álvarez, La Piñona (2015), Hostal Pascual (2016) or Movimiento Colateral (2019). Bailes Colaterales (2019) is his first company proposal touring worldwide as well as Cruces in co-production with tanzhaus nrw and Dansa Metropolitana (2020), and the participatory proposal El Rumbòdrom (2021) premiered at Fira de Manresa. These last proposals have been seen at the Palau de la Música Catalana, the Festival de Jerez, the Flamenco Madrid and Flamenco Azul festivals, in the city of Riyadh, Dansa Metropolitana or La Mercè in Barcelona, and will soon travel to La Villete in Paris among other venues.

He has also choreographed for the show Ser of the dancer Sergio Bernal, for the company of Angel Rojas in Ya no seremos, for the singer Rosalía or for the formation Laboratoria, and directed the show La Leyenda del Tiempo for Chaneki Flamenco Ensemble.

He has collaborated with La Fura dels Baus, Antonio Canales, the musical group Las Migas, Pedro Javier González, the tap dancer Roxane Butterfly, the company Increpación Danza and the tar master Hamid Khabbazi. He was part of the flamenco-jazz band Los Aurora. He has worked as a performer in Marco Flores' company in the shows Laberíntica (2014) and Entrar al Juego (2016), as well as in Ana Morales' Sin Permiso as choreographer and dancer.

He performs in different tablaos such as the emblematic Villarrosa, Las Carboneras, El Corral de la Morería, El Cordobés or Los Tarantos. He was artistic director of the now defunct tablao Flamenco Ramblas in Barcelona.

In 2017, he opened his flamenco studio La Capitana!, Espacio Flamenco in L'Hospitalet, with a clear focus on the training of professionals. He has been a guest professor at the Instituto del Teatro de Barcelona and performs choreography workshops and masterclasses all over the world.

04.04.2023

© 
        Javier Biosca
© Javier Biosca

ARCHIVE

Workshops
Public Moves
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 24.04.2024, 12:20 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/artist/id2063/

José Manuel Álvarez (ES)

BIOGRAFIE

José Manuel Alvarez kam als nur Vierjähriger in Barcelona an und begann schon damals sein Training und seinen zukünftigen Beruf. Seit 2014 erforschte er seine Art, Tanzstücke zu schaffen, mit der er bis heute unterschiedliche Stücke entwickelte. Zu nennen seien sein choreografisches Duo D-Structures (2014), Ángulo Muerto mit Lucía Álvarez, La Piñona (2015), Hostal Pascual (2016) und Movimiento Colateral (2019). Bailes Colaterales (2019) war sein erstes Compagniestück, das wie Cruces in Koproduktion mit Tanzhaus nrw and Dansa Metropolitana (2020) weltweit tourte. Das partizipatorische Stück El Rumbòdrom (2021) hatte seine Premiere am Fira de Manresa. Die Letztgenannten wurden ebenfalls präsentiert am Palau de la Música Catalana, am Festival de Jerez, bei den Festivals Flamenco Madrid und Flamenco Azul, in Riyadh, im Dansa Metropolitana und im La Mercè in Barcelona. Bald werden sie u. a. im Theatre de La Villete in Paris zu sehen sein.

José choreografierte für die Show Ser of the dancer Sergio Bernal, für die Compagnie Angel Rojas in Ya no seremos, die Sängerin Rosalia und die Formation Laboratoria. Er führte Regie in der Show La Leyenda del Tiempo für das Chaneki Flamenco Ensemble.

José kooperierte mit La Fura dels Baus, Antonio Canales, der Musicalgruppe Las Migas, Pedro Javier González, der Stepptänzerin Roxane Butterfly, der Kompanie Increpación Danza und dem Meister des Tarspiels Hamid Khabbazi. Er war Mitglied der Flamenco-Jazzband Los Aurora. José arbeitete als Performer in Moarco Flores Kompanie in den Shows Laberíntica (2014) und Entrar al Juego (2016) als auch für Ana Morales als Choreograf und Tänzer in Sin Permiso.

José trat in verschiedenen Tablaos  wie dem emblematischen Villarrosa, in Las Carboneras, El Corral de la Morería, El Cordobés und Los Tarantos auf. Er war künstlerischer Leiter des nicht mehr aktiven Tablaos Flamenco Ramblas in Barcelona.

2017 eröffnete José sein eigenes Flamencostudio La Capitana!, Espacio Flamenco in L'Hospitalet, mit dem klaren Fokus auf dem Training von professionellen Tänzer*innen. Er ist Gastprofessor am Instituto del Teatro de Barcelona und leitet international Choreografie-Workshops und Meisterklassen.

04.04.2023

© 
        Laura Abad
© Laura Abad

ARCHIV

Workshops
Public Moves
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 16.04.2024, 00:24 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/artist/id2063/