MAGDALENA CHOWANIEC

© Stefan Werner

Chorische Rituale mit Techno Wiki

Guided by Magdalena’s alter ego “Techno Wiki” and with the aid of somatic approaches, we explore what it means to listen with the skin and discover rhythms within us and between us. We work with volume, tonality, dynamics of voice and movement and follow our inner monster. As a group we create choral and choreographic swarm rituals with our voices and bodies, which result in a rave-like experience.
P.S.: Dress as you like, don’t be shy!

ARTISTBIO: Magdalena Chowaniec

Magdalena Chowaniec (1983, Poland, lives and works in Austria) uses choreography, performance, theatre and music, to explore notions of transformation and resistance. Her interests focus on the activist and emancipatory potential of the performing arts, as well as the transformative power and shared experience they offer. She studied dance and performance at the State Ballet School in Bytom (PL) and at the Anton Bruckner University in Linz (AT). She holds a MA in Dance Arts.

Chowaniec has worked with a.o. SUPERAMAS (FR/AT), Oleg Soulimenko (AT/RU), Cooperativa Performativa (RO), Mark Tompkins (FR/US), Georg Blaschke (AT), Agata Maszkiewicz (FR/PL), Mathieu Grenier (FR), Jérôme Bel (FR), Amanda Piña (AT/CL), Valerie Oberleithner (AT/FR), Marysia Zimpel (PL), Michael Laub (BE), Florentina Holzinger (AT), Alex Baczynski-Jenkins (PL/UK), Michael Portnoy (US).
Her works "Hold Your Horses" (2008), "The Mob: Fixing Freedom Tour" (2009), "Empathy Project Vol. I" (2010), "Until death do us part" (2011), "New Viennese Organic Actionism" (2011), "When I don't dance, I collect crystal balls" (2012), "Sanctuary" (2014), "What’s in the artist head" (2016), "iChoreography" (2018) were shown in various European venues. In 2009 she obtained a scholarship for performing arts from the Austrian Ministry of Culture and was mentioned as a Remarkable Emerging Choreographer in the Yearbook of Ballettanz 2010. Between 2008 and 2014 she was a lead singer of a punk band The Mob Fixing Freedom, since 2015 she raps in the duo Mermaid & Seafruit. In 2014 and 2015 she created dance performances "Attan stays with us" and "Songs of the water, tales of the sea" with juvenile refugees from Rechnitz. Both shows were shown during the ImPulsTanz Festival.

Her recent projects include: "Anti Fascist Ballet School" (Wienwoche 2016, Wiener Festwochen 2017) together with Elizabeth Ward (AT/US) – a pop up ballet school in various public locations examining emancipatory and activist potential of ballet and somatic practices, "iChoreography" together with Valerie Oberleithner (FR/AT) – a physical practice against internet addiction developed with various teenagers around Europe, #resisters – a movement bringing together female* artists and activists against the rise of the neo-fascist politics.
From 2019, Chowaniec is granted a research position at the Institute for Artistic Research in Graz.

Last update: 08.04.2019

 
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 18.09.2020, 22:03 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/publicmoves/id84/
NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTIONORDER PROGRAMME
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival

MAGDALENA CHOWANIEC

© Stefan Werner

Chorische Rituale mit Techno Wiki

Geleitet von Magdalenas Alter Ega „Techno Wiki“ und mittels somatischer Ansätze erforschen wir, was es heißt mit der Haut zuzuhören, und entdecken Rhythmen in uns und zwischen uns. Wir arbeiten mit Lautstärken, Tonalität sowie Dynamiken von Stimme und Bewegung und folgen unserem inneren Monster. Als Gruppe gestalten wir mit unseren Stimmen und Körpern chorische und choreografische Schwarmrituale, die in einer Rave-Erfahrung münden.
P.S.: Zieh an, was du magst. Nur nicht schüchtern sein!

ARTISTBIO: Magdalena Chowaniec

Magdalena Chowaniec (1983 in Polen geboren, lebt und arbeitet in Österreich) nutzt Choreografie, Performance, Theater und Musik, um Vorstellungen von Transformation und Widerstand zu erforschen. Ihre Interessen konzentrieren sich auf das aktivistische und emanzipatorische Potenzial der darstellenden Künste sowie auf die transformative Kraft und die geteilte Erfahrung, die sie bieten. Sie studierte Tanz und Performance an der Staatlichen Ballettschule in Bytom (PL) und an der Anton Bruckner Universität in Linz (AT). Sie hat einen MA in Dance Arts.

Chowaniec arbeitete mit u.a.: SUPERAMAS (FR/AT), Oleg Soulimenko (AT/RU), Cooperativa Performativa (RO), Mark Tompkins (FR/US), Georg Blaschke (AT), Agata Maszkiewicz (FR/PL), Mathieu Grenier (FR), Jérôme Bel (FR), Amanda Piña (AT/CL), Valerie Oberleithner (FR/AT), Marysia Zimpel (PL), Michael Laub (BE), Florentina Holzinger (AT), Alex Baczynski-Jenkins (UK/PL), Michael Portnoy (US).
Ihre Arbeiten „Hold Your Horses“ (2008), „The Mob: Fixing Freedom Tour“ (2009), „Empathy Project Vol. I“ (2010), „Until Death do us part“ (2011), „New Viennese Organic Actionism“(2011), „When I don’t dance, I collect crystal balls“ (2012), „Sanctuary“(2014), „What's in the Artist Head“ (2016), „iChoreography“ (2018) wurden in verschiedenen Veranstaltungsorten in Europa gezeigt. 2009 erhielt sie ein Stipendium für darstellende Kunst vom österreichischen Kulturministerium und wurde im Jahrbuch von Ballettanz 2010 als Bemerkenswerte aufstrebende Choreografin erwähnt. Von 2014 bis 2015 war sie Leadsängerin der Punkband The Mob Fixing Freedom, seit 2015 rappt sie im Duo Mermaid & Seafruit. 2014 und 2015 schuf sie mit jungen Geflüchteten aus Rechnitz Performances „Attan bleibt bei uns “ und "Songs of the Water, Tales of the Sea“, die beide während des ImPulsTanz Festivals gezeigt wurden.

Zu ihren jüngsten Projekten gehören: „Anti-Fascist Ballet School“ (Wienwoche 2016, Wiener Festwochen 2017) zusammen mit Elizabeth Ward (AT/US) – einer Pop-Up-Ballettschule an verschiedenen öffentlichen Orten, in der das emanzipatorische und aktivistische Potenzial von Ballett und somatischen Praktiken untersucht wird. „iChoreography“ zusammen mit Valerie Oberleithner (FR/AT) – eine körperliche Praxis gegen Internetsucht, die mit verschiedenen Teenagern in ganz Europa entwickelt wurde, „#resisters“ – eine Bewegung, die Künstlerinnen* und Aktivistinnen* gegen den Aufstieg der neofaschistischen Politik zusammenbringt.
Ab 2019 hat Chowaniec eine Forschungsstelle am Institut für künstlerische Forschung in Graz.

Stand: 08.04.2019

 
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 26.10.2020, 13:12 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/publicmoves/id84/
NEWSLETTER ABONNIERENPROGRAMM BESTELLEN
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival