Performances 2023

Performances 2023

© Klaus Gigga

Thomas Köck & Michael v. zur Mühlen (AT/DE)
opera - a future game / vienna edition

© Klaus Gigga

a post(operatic)-apocalyptic video game essay

with music by ole hübner
and texts by thomas köck
based on the opera opera, opera, opera! revenants&revolutions

The (in)ability of collective action, prognoses of the future, emerging utopias: In Thomas Köck’s text, a chorus of the last humans meets a cyborg. The final act takes place in an abandoned opera house ... Accompanied by an inner voice, the users wander through a landscape that tells of the disappearance of the present and of a society that can only think of the future as a catastrophe.

opera – a future game is an interactive digital music-theatre videogame essay based on an opera project that was interrupted in the wake of a pandemic. Fragments of the production, sets, costumes, orchestral and video recordings are transformed in this haunting digital version into a playable, proliferating archive, an immersive hybrid of gaming situation and interactive video art. For the Vienna Edition, Thomas Köck and Michael v. zur Mühlen will explore the representations of human bodies in digital environments in a 5-day research project on motion capture processes and expand the work previously presented at Essen Zollverein and Dresden HELLERAU, among others, to include a further performative level. The results will be shown as an analogue/digital happening and a mixture of collective Let's Play, Physical Theatre and Lecture Performance on the stage of the Burgtheater.

Austrian Premiere

Duration: 75 Min

With German and English surtitles.
17.7.2023, 19:00
Burgtheater Bühne
© Klaus Gigga
© Michael v. zur Mühlen
© Michael v. zur Mühlen
© Hannes Stoll

CREDITS

Game design, direction and animation: Michael v. zur Mühlen
Space and set design: Martin Miotk
Camera and editing: Stefan Bischoff
Sound design: Paul Hauptmeier and Martin Recker
Programming Unreal Engine/Mocap: Hannes Stolle

A cooperation of the NRW KULTURsekretariat and the Next Level Festival for Games
with HELLERAU – European Centre for the Arts
Premiere 25.11.2022, Next Level Festival Essen / 24.3.2023 Festspielhaus Hellerau

Developed in cooperation with LEFX GmbH from Leipzig.
Supported by DOCKdigital Berlin
The motion caption suits were funded as part of a project grant from DOCK11 through tanz:digital, a funding programme of the Dachverband Tanz Deutschland as part of NEUSTART KULTUR, and are now also available to this project.
Other stations so far: A MAZE./ Berlin, ZIMMT Leipzig, Münchner Kammerspiele

With visual and sound recordings by: Michael Taylor, Robert Sellier, Michael Zehe, Miriam Knackstedt, Philine Götz, Damien Rebgetz, Halle Opera Choir, Halle Opera Children's and Youth Choir, Halle State Orchestra.
MDR KLASSIK production of excerpts from the opera, September 2020 in Halle.
Musical direction: Michael Wendeberg
Sound engineer: Michael Leverkus

The underlying work opera, opera, opera! revenants&revolutions is a commission and libretto by the City of Munich for the Munich Biennale 
Co-production of the Munich Biennale with Oper Halle 2020–2022

MORE OF Thomas Köck & Michael v. zur Mühlen

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 22.02.2024, 08:11 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/performances/pid1554/

Performances 2023

Performances 2023

© Klaus Gigga

Thomas Köck & Michael v. zur Mühlen (AT/DE)
opera - a future game / vienna edition

© Klaus Gigga

ein post(operatischer)-apokalytischer video spiel essay

mit musik von ole hübner
und texten von thomas köck
basierend auf der oper opera, opera, opera! revenants&revolutions

Kollektive Handlungs(un)fähigkeit, Zukunftsprognosen, aufscheinende Utopien: In Thomas Köcks Text trifft ein Chor letzter Menschen auf einen Cyborg. Der letzte Akt spielt in einem verlassenen Opernhaus … Begleitet von einer inneren Stimme durchwandern die User*innen eine Landschaft, die vom Verschwinden der Gegenwart erzählt und von einer Gesellschaft, die Zukunft scheinbar nur noch als Katastrophe denken kann.

opera – a future game ist ein interaktives digitales Musiktheater-Videospielessay, basierend auf einem Opernprojekt, das im Zuge einer Pandemie unterbrochen werden musste. Fragmente der Inszenierung, Bühnenbilder, Kostüme, Orchester- und Videoaufnahmen verwandeln sich in dieser gespenstischen digitalen Version zu einem spielbaren, wuchernden Archiv, einem immersiven Hybrid aus Gamingsituation und interaktiver Videokunst. Für die Vienna Edition erforschen Thomas Köck und Michael v. zur Mühlen in einem 5-tägigen Research Project zu Motion Capture Verfahren die Repräsentationen menschlicher Körper in digitalen Umgebungen und erweitern die bisher u.a. auf Essen Zollverein und in Dresden HELLERAU präsentierte Arbeit um eine weitere performative Ebene. Die Ergebnisse werden als analog/digitales Happening und Mischung aus kollektivem Let’s Play, Physical Theatre und Lecture Performance auf der Bühne des Burgtheaters gezeigt. 

Österreichische Erstaufführung

Dauer: 75 Min

Mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln.
17.7.2023, 19:00
Burgtheater Bühne
© Klaus Gigga
© Michael v. zur Mühlen
© Michael v. zur Mühlen
© Hannes Stoll

CREDITS

Game Design, Regie und Animation: Michael v. zur Mühlen
Raum und Ausstattung: Martin Miotk
Kamera und Schnitt: Stefan Bischoff
Sound-Design: Paul Hauptmeier und Martin Recker
Programmierung Unreal Engine/Mocap: Hannes Stolle

Eine Kooperation des NRW KULTURsekretariats und des Next Level Festival for Games
mit HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste
Premiere 25.11.2022, Next Level Festival Essen / 24.3.2023 Festspielhaus Hellerau
Weitere Stationen bislang: A MAZE./ Berlin, ZIMMT Leipzig, Münchner Kammerspiele

Entwickelt in Zusammenarbeit mit der LEFX GmbH aus Leipzig
Unterstützt von DOCKdigital Berlin
Die Motion Caption Anzüge wurden im Rahmen einer Projektförderung von DOCK11 durch tanz:digital, ein Förderprogramm des Dachverband Tanz Deutschland im Rahmen von NEUSTART KULTUR, gefördert und stehen nun auch diesem Projekt zur Verfügung.

Mit Bild- und Tonaufnahmen von: Michael Taylor, Robert Sellier, Michael Zehe, Miriam Knackstedt, Philine Götz, Damien Rebgetz, Opernchor Halle, Kinder- und Jugendchor der Oper Halle, Staatsorchester Halle
MDR KLASSIK-Produktion von Ausschnitten aus der Oper, September 2020 in Halle.
Musikalische Leitung: Michael Wendeberg
Tonmeister: Michael Leverkus

Das zugrundeliegende Werk opera, opera, opera! revenants&revolutions ist eine Auftragskomposition und ein Libretto der Landeshauptstadt München für die Münchener Biennale
Koproduktion der Münchener Biennale mit der Oper Halle 2020–2022

MEHR VON Thomas Köck & Michael v. zur Mühlen

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 21.02.2024, 22:15 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/performances/pid1554/