Clara Furey (CA)

BIOGRAPHY

After completing musical training at the Conservatoire de Paris, Clara Furey, trained as a dancer at the École de danse contemporaine de Montréal and worked with choreographers such as George Stamos, Damien Jalet, and Benoît Lachambre. An artist accustomed to collaborative work (Untied Tales with Peter Jasko, showcased at the Venice Biennale in 2016, Ciguë with Éric Arnal Burtschy, Night Will Come with Michikazu Matsune), Furey created her first solo work as artistic director in 2017 with Cosmic Love, a collective piece with minimal gestures, exploring the voids and invisibilities in the interactions between body, song and space.

As both a choreographer and a performer, Furey is interested in shifting codes within various forms of art by way of an interdisciplinary dialogue. In 2017, she performed When Even The 90 times alongside a sculpture by Marc Quinn as part of the Leonard Cohen exhibit at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. She is the choreographer of Rather a Ditch (2019), a solo piece written for Céline Bonnier centering on the permeability of bodies, as a response to Steve Reich’s album Different Trains.

Her works toured in numerous festivals including the Biennale of Venice, Les Rencontres Chorégraphiques in Paris, the Festival TransAmériques in Montreal, ImPulsTanz – Vienna International Dance Festival, Performance Mix in New York City, Fierce Festival in Birmingham and in different countries such as Lithuania, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Spain, The Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Azerbaïdjan and Bulgaria.

With Dog Rising, Furey concludes her exploration of tension and immobility, freeing previously contained energies in a performance focusing on persistence, groove and pleasure. She insists on the repetition of infinite loops through an extreme physical journey, a mesmerizing, haunting and penetrating spiral.

24.10.22

Guillaume Simoneau
Guillaume Simoneau

ARCHIVE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 30.11.2022, 14:57 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/artist/id1244/

Clara Furey (CA)

BIOGRAFIE

Nach ihrer musikalischen Ausbildung am Conservatoire de Paris absolvierte Clara Furey eine Tanzausbildung an der École de danse contemporaine de Montréal und arbeitete mit Choreografen wie George Stamos, Damien Jalet und Benoît Lachambre. Als Künstlerin, die an kollektive Arbeiten gewöhnt ist (etwa Untied Tales mit Peter Jasko, das 2016 auf der Biennale von Venedig gezeigt wurde, Ciguë mit Éric Arnal Burtschy, Night Will Come mit Michikazu Matsune), erarbeitete Furey mit Cosmic Love 2017 ihre erste Choreografie als künstlerische Leiterin, ein kollektives Stück mit minimalen Gesten, das die Leerstellen und Unsichtbarkeiten in den Interaktionen zwischen Körper, Gesang und Raum erkundet.

Als Choreografin und Performerin interessiert sich Clara Furey für die Verschiebung von Codes innerhalb verschiedener Kunstformen durch einen interdisziplinären Dialog. 2017 führte sie When Even The 90 Mal neben einer Skulptur von Marc Quinn als Teil der Leonard Cohen- Ausstellung im Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal auf. Sie ist die Choreografin von Rather a Ditch (2019), einem für Céline Bonnier geschriebenen Solostück, das die Porosität von Körpern in den Mittelpunkt stellt und sich als Antwort auf das Album Different Trains von Steve Reich versteht.

Ihre Arbeiten waren auf zahlreichen Festivals zu sehen, darunter die Biennale von Venedig, Les Rencontres Chorégraphiques in Paris, das Festival TransAmériques in Montréal, ImPulsTanz – Vienna International Dance Festival, Performance Mix in New York City, Fierce Festival in Birmingham und in verschiedenen Ländern wie Litauen, Tschechien, der Slowakei, Spanien, den Niederlanden, Belgien, Deutschland, Aserbaidschan und Bulgarien.

Mit Dog Rising schließt Furey ihre Erkundung von Spannung und Unbeweglichkeit ab und setzt zuvor eingeschlossene Energien in einer Performance frei, die sich auf Beharrlichkeit, Lust und den Groove konzentriert. Sie kreiert durch die Wiederholung unendlicher Loops eine körperliche Reise, eine hypnotisierende, eindringliche und durchdringende Spirale.

24.10.22

Guillaume Simoneau
Guillaume Simoneau

ARCHIV

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 30.01.2023, 18:18 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/artist/id1244/