Kira Kirsch
Love and Gravity – Axis Syllabus

© yako.one
Beg
Week 1, 15.7.–19.7.2024
13:50–15:35
Arsenal A
only bookable at the Workshop Office

Movement studies on falling, surrender and agency

What does an authentic play with gravity look like? Does it exist? What is potential energy and where is it located? How much resistance, how much letting go? How about falling up and how small can a micro fall be?

These and other questions around falling are subject of this workshop, which invites surrender, pretending, beating or meeting gravity, sometimes a beast, sometimes a magic wizard. Falling matters because it can be feared or harnessed to make movement effortless. Working on disarming the fear and cultivating falling as a primary ingredient for our movement experiments will be part of Love and Gravity, beginning with rolling in many different ways, discovering the soft surfaces of our body topography and exploring creative and practical ways in and out of the floor. Last but not least, we add spirals and curves plus a dash of momentum to fall in love with falling.

The Axis Syllabus is an approach of learning, researching and experiencing movement. It is a precise system of orienting the body internally and externally that is based on ongoing empirical, multi-scientific and pedagogical inquiry. Applied anatomy, physics, biomechanics and tensegrity are considered in the creation and analysis of movement. The study of safe falling reflexes, fluid transitions, injury prevention and kinetic efficiency are some of the aspects of this approach. An Axis Syllabus class aims to create a collaborative learning environment and effective space for personal research.

Kira Kirsch
© yako.one
© yako.one
© Mattthias Lüdecke
© Anna Maynard
© Anna Maynard
© Anna Maynard
© Rune Abro

Kira Kirsch
Love and Gravity – Axis Syllabus

© yako.one
Beg
Week 1, 15.7.–19.7.2024
13:50–15:35
Arsenal A
voll

Bewegungsstudien übers Fallen, Hingabe und Handlungsfähigkeit

Wie sieht ein authentisches Spiel mit der Schwerkraft aus? Gibt es das? Was ist potentielle Energie und wo findet man sie? Wie viel Widerstand und wie viel Nachgeben braucht es? Wie wäre ein nach-Oben-fallen und wie klein ist ein Mikro-Fallen?

Diese und andere Fragen sind Teil des Workshops, der dazu einlädt der Schwerkraft nachzugeben, sie vorzutäuschen, gegen sie anzukämpfen und ihr zu begegnen, manchmal ist sie Biest, manchmal pure Magie. Fallen ist wichtig, denn man fürchtet sich davor oder macht es sich zu nutzen, weil es Bewegung mühelos machen kann. Zusammen wird daran gearbeitet, die Angst zu mindern und Fallen als primäre Zutat für Bewegungsexperimente zu entdecken. Beginnend mit Rollen auf verschiedenste Weise, werden die weichen und nachgiebigen Oberflächen unseres Körpers erforscht und es wird gelernt Rampen zu bilden, die in und aus dem Boden helfen. Schließlich kommen spiralförmige Bewegungen und Kurven dazu, mit einem Schuss Momentum für ein genussreiches Fallen und Tanzen.

Axis Syllabus ist eine Herangehensweise für das Lernen, Erforschen und Erfahren von Bewegung. Ein präzises System zur Orientierung des Innen und Außen des Körpers, das auf kontinuierlicher, multi-wissenschaftlicher und pädagogischer Studie basiert. Angewandte Anatomie, Physik, Biomechanik und Tensegrity sind wichtige Aspekte bei der Kreation und Analyse von Bewegung. Das Studium des sicheren Fallens und seinen Reflexen, Veränderungen in Flüssigkeiten, Verletzungsvorbeugung und kinetische Effizienz sind nur einige wichtige Elemente dieses Zugangs. Eine Axis Syllabus Klasse ist ein kollaboratives Lernumfeld und ein Ort für die persönliche Recherche.

Kira Kirsch
© yako.one
© yako.one
© Mattthias Lüdecke
© Anna Maynard
© Anna Maynard
© Anna Maynard
© Rune Abro