Sophia Treanor
Six Viewpoints: Horizontal Wilderness

© Arjan Gebraad
O
Intensive 2, 23.7.+24.7.
10:30–16:30
Arsenal C

The seed of the entire work of The Six Viewpoints is found in the simple act of standing in space. The artist is invited to perceive the lexicon of daily experience. The information of space, the experience of time, the familiarity of shapes, the qualities and rules of kinetics in movement, the development of logic and the states of being and emotional exchanges that constitute the process of communication between living creatures. These are the six materials named in The Six Viewpoints that constitute basic deconstructed performance.

The simplicity of The Six Viewpoints is based on one-on-one contact with the basic materials. Working directly with these materials the artist begins to learn of performance through the essential languages – each as an independent intelligence.

Drawing on the work of Mary Overlie, the workshop will introduce a horizontal frame of mind that enables the performer to choose which materials they are working with and significantly nourishes their relationship with their environment, opening their process up to innumerable subjects of study. The weekend will move through different laboratories that facilitate practices of contemplation of the materials, improvisations and experiments in composition.

In entering this work the artist finds that they are anchored in 3-D reality and freed of the opinions of others about how to make dance or theatre. In this undertaking the artist is challenged to develop self-guidance, the discipline of keeping focused and the ability to have perspective. To accomplish this requires a type of physical training that focuses on the body in great detail. This requires educating the mind and body to its function. Underlying training such as Contact Improvisation and Jean Hamilton's Floor Barre Technique educates the instrument in depth without culturing patterns of movement. This type of approach is essential in that it develops availability to sense rather than to produce.

Sophia Treanor
© Arjan Gebraad
© Adam Gundersheimer
© Nicole Lehrmann
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 19.08.2022, 22:00 | Link: https://impulstanz.com/en/workshops/pid4518/

Sophia Treanor
Six Viewpoints: Horizontal Wilderness

© Arjan Gebraad
O
Intensive 2, 23.7.+24.7.
10:30–16:30
Arsenal D
buchen

Der Keim des gesamten Werks von The Six Viewpoints liegt in dem einfachen Akt des Stehens im Raum. Die Künstlerin*Der Künstler ist eingeladen, das Lexikon der täglichen Erfahrung wahrzunehmen. Die Informationen des Raums, die Erfahrung von Zeit, die Vertrautheit von Formen, die Qualitäten und kinetischen Regeln von Bewegung, die Entwicklung von Logik, die Zustände des Seins und der emotionale Austausch machen den Prozess der Kommunikation zwischen Lebewesen aus. Es handlet sich um die sechs Materialien, die in The Six Viewpoints bearbeitet werden und die die Grundlage der dekonstruierten Performance bilden.

Die Einfachheit von The Six Viewpoints beruht auf dem persönlichen Kontakt mit den Grundmaterialien. Durch die direkte Arbeit mit diesen Materialien beginnen Künstler*innen, die Performance durch die wesentlichen Sprachen zu erlernen – jede als unabhängige Intelligenz.

In Anlehnung an die Arbeit von Mary Overlie führt der Workshop eine horizontale Denkweise ein, die es den Künstler*innen ermöglicht, die zu bearbeitenden Materialien, selbst auszuwählen, und die die Beziehung zur Umgebung erheblich verbessert, indem ein Prozess für zahllose Studienobjekte eröffnet wird. Das Wochenende wird sich durch verschiedene Labore bewegen, die Praktiken der Materialbetrachtung, Improvisationen und Kompositionsexperimente ermöglichen.

Wenn man sich auf diese Arbeit einlässt, stellt man fest, dass man in der 3-D-Realität verankert und von den Meinungen anderer darüber, wie man Tanz oder Theater macht, befreit ist. Bei diesem Unterfangen wird die Künstlerin*der Künstler herausgefordert, sich selbst zu führen, sich zu konzentrieren und dabei eine Perspektive zu entwickeln. Um dies zu erreichen, ist eine Art körperliches Training erforderlich, das sich bis ins Detail auf den Körper konzentriert. Dies erfordert, dass der Geist und der Körper in seiner Funktion geschult werden. Das zugrundeliegende Training wie Contact Improvisation und Jean Hamiltons Floor Barre Technique schult das Instrument in der Tiefe, ohne Bewegungsmuster zu kultivieren. Diese Art der Herangehensweise ist wesentlich, da sie die Verfügbarkeit für das Empfinden und nicht für das Produzieren entwickelt.

Sophia Treanor
© Arjan Gebraad
© Adam Gundersheimer
© Nicole Lehrmann
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 25.06.2022, 13:29 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/pid4518/