Workshops 2019

Workshops 2019

© Jeremy Salazar

Sri Louise
Yoga & Extinction Rebellion

© Jeremy Salazar
O
Week 4, 5.8.–9.8.2019
09:00–11:30 / XL
Arsenal 4

Yoga & Extinction Rebellion

The Somatics of Adaptation and Resistance

This Yoga Asana based workshop, will explore Extinction Rebellion, which is a phrase coined by Climate Change/Justice activists. Yoga & Extinction Rebellion offers participants the philosophical tenants of Yoga as a cognitive framework for facing impending social collapse.

We are currently in the sixth mass extinction phase, where we have been living in a disappearing world for some time now. It is estimated that 150-200 species of plant, insect, bird and mammal become extinct every 24 hours.

Yoga & Extinction Rebellion is about moving from denial to post-denial, where you can begin to incorporate the tools of The Deep Adaptation Agenda, coined by Jem Bendell, in a process of inter-personal/planetary reconciliation. The three aspects of the agenda are:

1. Resilience
2. Relinquishment
3. Restoration

The Deep Adaptation Agenda posits a form of Radical Hope, "…a form of hope that’s consciously chosen after denial. It is a form of hope that is ‘empowered surrender’ to a situation."

Extinction is a natural process and both Extinction and Death are inevitable; inextricable from the cycle of life. Our denial of climate change and social catastrophe is embedded in our denial of physical death.

Yoga has something to teach about this "transition". The final Asana of every Yoga class is Savasana, corpse pose. What does it mean to assume a position of death as a place to relax?

Each day we will explore a verse from the Bhagavad Gita to help us understand decline, death and disappearance in a way that restores radical hope to the individual. In Dharmic traditions this hope is called Moksa, liberation. It is not meant to induce denial, but to foster engagement.

Get Up And Fight!
Welcome To Extinction Rebellion!

The Asana portion of this class will focus on standing poses, particularly Warrior Poses. We will also explore all the asanas that are named after non-human species, for example, Garuda/Eagle, Bakasana/Crane and Bhujangasana/Cobra as meditations in restorative justice.
All bodies and levels welcome!

Sri Louise
© Jeremy Salazar
© Jeremy Salazar
© Jessica Hubbard Marr
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 26.02.2024, 08:35 | Link: https://impulstanz.com/en/workshops/id3950/

Workshops 2019

Workshops 2019

© Jeremy Salazar

Sri Louise
Yoga & Extinction Rebellion

© Jeremy Salazar
O
Week 4, 5.8.–9.8.2019
09:00–11:30 / XL
Arsenal 4

Yoga & Extinction Rebellion

Die Somatik von Anpassung und Widerstand

Dieser auf Asana-Yoga basierende Workshop beschäftigt sich mit Extinction Rebellion. Es handelt sich dabei um einen Begriff, der von Aktivist_innen für Klimawandel bzw. Klimagerechtigkeit geprägt wurde. Yoga & Extinction Rebellion bietet den Teilnehmer_innen einen Einblick in die philosophischen Prinzipien des Yoga als kognitiven Rahmen, um dem bevorstehenden sozialen Zusammenbruch gegenüberzutreten.

Derzeit vollzieht sich das sechste Massenaussterben der Erdgeschichte – wir leben bereits seit einiger Zeit in einer von Verlust geprägten Welt. Schätzungen zufolge sterben alle 24 Stunden 150–200 Pflanzen-, Insekten-, Vogel- und Säugetierarten aus.

Bei Yoga & Extinction Rebellion geht es darum, von der Verleugnung in den Zustand der Post-Verleugnung zu gelangen. In diesem Zustand kannst du damit beginnen, die von Jem Bendell formulierten Hilfsmittel der Deep Adaptation Agenda in einen Prozess der zwischenmenschlichen/planetenweiten Versöhnung zu integrieren. Die drei Aspekte der Agenda sind:

1. Widerstandskraft
2. Loslassen
3. Regeneration

Die Deep Adaptation Agenda postuliert eine Art radikaler Hoffnung: „… eine Form von Hoffnung, für die man sich nach der Verleugnung bewusst entscheidet. Diese Form von Hoffnung ist in der Lage, sich willentlich mit einer Situation abzufinden (empowered surrender).“

Das Aussterben ist ein natürlicher Prozess und sowohl das Aussterben als auch der Tod sind unvermeidlich und untrennbar mit dem Kreislauf des Lebens verbunden. Unsere Leugnung des Klimawandels und der sozialen Katastrophe ist eingebettet in unsere Leugnung des physischen Todes.

Wir können von Yoga zu diesem „Übergang“ etwas lernen. Die letzte Asana jeder Yoga-Klasse ist Savasana, die Totenstellung. Was bedeutet es, als Form der Entspannung eine Position einzunehmen, die den Tod repräsentiert?

Wir werden uns jeden Tag mit einem Vers aus der Bhagavad Gita beschäftigen, der uns dabei hilft, Untergang, Tod und Verlust auf eine Weise zu verstehen, die der/m Einzelnen radikale Hoffnung gibt. In dharmischen Traditionen heißt diese Hoffnung Moksha, Befreiung. Sie soll nicht zur Verleugnung führen, sondern durch Verbundenheit den persönlichen Einsatz fördern.

Get Up And Fight!
Welcome To Extinction Rebellion!

Der Asana-Teil dieses Kurses konzentriert sich auf Standübungen, insbesondere auf die Kriegerstellungen. Als Meditationen zur regenerativen Gerechtigkeit werden wir uns auch mit allen Asanas beschäftigen, die nach nicht-menschlichen Arten benannt sind, z. B. Garuda/Adler, Bakasana/Kranich und Bhujangasana/Kobra.
All bodies and levels welcome!

Sri Louise
© Jeremy Salazar
© Jeremy Salazar
© Jessica Hubbard Marr

MEHR VON Sri Louise

Sri Louise
Yoga
PUBLIC MOVES
29.7., 17:00–18:15
Sri Louise
Yoga
Termine
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 16.04.2024, 01:02 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/id3950/