Workshops 2017

Workshops 2017

© Saurabh Mehta

Sri Louise
Yoga & The White Mask

© Saurabh Mehta
O
Week 1, 17.7.–21.7.2017
09:00–11:30
Arsenal 4

Yoga & The White Mask

Capitulate or Backbending?

"Oh my body, make of me always a man who questions!" – Frantz Fanon

Is Yoga in the West wearing a white mask and therefore “forced” to identity itself with colonial culture? This workshop explores Euro/American ideas of Yoga. What is it, Who gets to decide and why? In reshaping Yoga to our own self-image do we inadvertently capitulate to western, colonial hegemony? Familiarising ourselves with the anti-colonial critique of Frantz Fanon’s Black Skin, White Masks and Glen-Coulthard’s Red Skin, White Masks, we’ll explore the coercive cruelties of colonialism and what post-colonial, decolonisation might mean in the current context of Yoga.

Although motivated by theoretical discourse, this workshop is ultimately an embodiment practice that uses Asana as a psycho-somatic tool for sensing how our experience of ourselves, has been largely shaped by colonial conditioning.

The week will focus on a full range of backbending postures from Anjaneyasana to Eka Pada Raja Kapotasana to Dhanurasana and Chakrasana in all their classical and variant forms.

All bodies and levels welcome.
Class instruction, reading and video materials are in English.

Recommended: If you intend on attending this course you can find Frantz Fanon’s Black Skin, White Mask in your mother language. I do not think Coulthard’s Red Skin, White Masks has been translated into other languages. It is not necessary to do any pre-requisite reading, as the subject matter will be unfolded in the context of class/practice, but if you desire, Fanon is widely available.

Sri Louise
© Saurabh Mehta
© Jessica H. Marr
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 26.02.2024, 09:32 | Link: https://impulstanz.com/en/workshops/id3284/

Workshops 2017

Workshops 2017

© Saurabh Mehta

Sri Louise
Yoga & The White Mask

© Saurabh Mehta
O
Week 1, 17.7.–21.7.2017
09:00–11:30
Arsenal 4

Yoga & The White Mask

Kapitulation oder Rückbeugen?

Trägt Yoga im Westen eine weiße Maske und ist damit „gezwungen“ sich mit der Kolonialkultur zu identifizieren? Dieser Workshop beschäftigt sich mit europäischen / amerikanischen Vorstellungen von Yoga. Was ist Yoga, wer entscheidet das und weshalb? Kapitulieren wir unbeabsichtigter Weise vor der westlichen, kolonialen Hegemonie, weil wir Yoga an unser Selbstbild anpassen? Wir machen uns mit der antikolonialen Kritik Black Skin, White Masks von Frantz Fanon und Red Skin, White Masks von Glen Coulthard vertraut, untersuchen dabei die einschränkenden Grausamkeiten des Kolonialismus und fragen uns was postkolonial und Entkolonialisierung im gegenwärtigen Kontext des Yoga bedeuten könnte.

Obwohl der theoretische Diskurs eine große Rolle spielt, ist dieser Workshop letztlich eine Verkörperungspraxis, die Asana als psycho-somatisches Werkzeug einsetzt, um zu erkennen, wie unsere Selbstwahrnehmung weitgehend von der kolonialen Konditionierung geprägt ist.

Die Woche konzentriert sich auf eine ganze Reihe von Rückbeugen von Anjaneyasana und Eka Pada Raja Kapotasana bis hin zu  Dhanurasana und Chakrasana in all ihren klassischen Formen und Varianten.

Alle Körper und Levels sind willkommen.
Die Unterrichtssprache, Skripten und Videomaterialien sind in englischer Sprache.

Empfohlen: wenn du diesen Workshop besuchen möchtest, findest du Frantz Fanons Black Skin, White Masks in deiner Muttersprache. Ich weiß nicht, ob Coulthards Red Skin, White Masks übersetzt wurde. Die Lektüre dieser Bücher ist nicht verpflichtend, da die Inhalte im Workshop durchgenommen werden. Solltest du aber Interesse haben, Fanons Buch ist weitgehend erhältlich.

„Oh mein Körper, mach aus mir einen Menschen, der immer alles hinterfragt!“ – Frantz Fanon

Sri Louise
© Saurabh Mehta
© Jessica H. Marr

MEHR VON Sri Louise

Sri Louise
Yoga
PUBLIC MOVES
23.7., 11:00–12:15
Sri Louise
Yoga
Termine
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 14.04.2024, 04:18 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/id3284/