Workshops 2014

Workshops 2014

Rasmus Ölme
The Business of Showing

© Vojtech Brtnicky
Adv
Week 4, 11.8.–15.8.2014
11:45–14:45
Arsenal 3

The Business of Showing

How consciously do you, as performer, deal with being watched?

Neuroscience has taught the world about mirror neurons. Contemporary dance and theatre has experimented with audience activation and participatory agendas. Gender studies and identity politics have revealed performance at the core of our understanding of ourselves and communication. The web has provided a potential for self-exposure, and revealed a self inflicted Big Brother’s gaze that surveillance society could only have dreamt of.
Where does contemporary choreography place itself in relation to subjectivity and the relation between the individual and the collective through the performance as media?

Although everyone works with the aim of public presentation, the field rarely speaks of it as a technical skill. By some it is thought of as a soulful talent that will make the performer shine, by others it is dealt with denial through a nonchalant, supposedly casual attitude.
We will look into this technical skill by diversifying the idea of being watched into nuances of being watched, observed, witnessed or paid attention to. What intentional differences can we find in showing, doing, hiding, displaying, revealing, covering and uncovering.

Workshop manifesto (claimer/disclaimer):
The workshop aims at loosing your self rather than finding it. The workshop aims at un-grounding a representational regime in performance. The workshop is not about exhibitionism and will not develop your persona.

We will discuss all the above and we will engage in exercises to confuse object with subject; you with me; doing with observing.

Rasmus Ölme
© Marta Lamovsek
© Marta Lamovsek
© Carmelo Fernandez

Workshops 2014

Workshops 2014

© Vojtech Brtnicky

Rasmus Ölme
The Business of Showing

© Vojtech Brtnicky
Adv
Week 4, 11.8.–15.8.2014
11:45–14:45
Arsenal 3

The Business of Showing

Wie bewusst gehst du, als Performer_in damit um, gesehen zu werden?

Die Neurowissenschaft hat die Welt über Spiegelneuronen unterrichtet. Zeitgenössischer Tanz und Theater hat mit Interaktivität und Animation von Publikum experimentiert. Die Geschlechterforschung und Identitätspolitik haben Performativität im Kern unseres Verständnisses von Kommunikation und Identität entlarvt. Das Internet hat uns mit einem großen Portal für die Selbstdarstellung beglückt und uns damit einen Blick von Big Brother auferlegt, von dem die Überwachungsindustrie nur so träumen konnte.
Wo positioniert sich zeitgenössische Choreografie in Bezug auf Subjektivität und der Beziehung zwischen Individuum und dem Kollektiv?

Ich habe festgestellt, dass obwohl alle mit dem Ziel einer öffentlichen Präsentation arbeiten, kaum jemand in unserem Arbeitsbereich davon spricht, dass es eine technische Fertigkeit ist. Für manche scheint es ein glühendes Talent zu sein, das den/die Performer_in zum Strahlen bringt. Andere wiederum betrachten es mit Ablehnung mit gleichgültiger, vermeintlich lässiger Einstellung.

Wir werden uns diese technische Fertigkeit genauer ansehen, indem wir die Idee des Gesehen-Werdens differenzieren: gesehen, beobachtet, verfolgt und bemerkt werden. Welche unterschiedlichen Intentionen hat das Herzeigen, Tun, Verstecken, Offenlegen, Offenbaren, Verbergen und Aufdecken?

Workshop Manifesto (Haftung/Vorbehalte):
Der Workshop zielt mehr auf den Verlust als auf die Suche des Selbst ab.
Der Workshop hat die Entwurzelung des repräsentativen Regimes in der Performancekunst zum Ziel.
Der Workshop ist kein Exhibitionismus-Pflaster und wird deine Persönlichkeit nicht weiterentwickeln.

Wir werden das oben genannte besprechen und üben, Objekt und Subjekt – meine und deine Person – Machen und Beobachten – vertauschen.

Rasmus Ölme
© Vojtech Brtnicky
© Marta Lamovsek
© Marta Lamovsek
© Carmelo Fernandez
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 14.04.2024, 15:46 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/id2605/