SHINICHI IOVA-KOGA

© Beth Martin
© Pak Han
© Pak Han
© Pak Han
© Pak Han

Butoh – Deconstruct the Darkness

Never fixed in culture or time, this dance remains a personal investigation

Allow images to change your body or your action. Transform your condition until you perceive your programming. Deconstruct your habits. Develop energy-efficient and fluid movement. Intensively examine yourself through new frames. Send power through the system and then drain it. Sink weight until the most essential and poignant impulses remain. The training will encourage physical and mental receptivity as well as precise physical engagement. Build a coherent body ready to ride the chaotic stream of the subconscious.

Butoh dance belongs to mystery. Walk, crawl, roll, spiral, extend, contract, transform the dance.

We integrate improvisational training with exact physicality.

OTHER WORKSHOPS OF Shinichi Iova-Koga

Dao Yin Training

Dao Yin practices focus on the interconnected nature of sinews, muscle and bone. The training opens and stretches the channels of the body to develop a more resilient, strong and healthy web of tissue. The solar plexus and lower abdomen initiate the movement of limbs. Conversely, the movement or condition of limbs can affect the internal areas of the torso. Spiral motion and extension will open the joints and tissues, allowing energy to travel more efficiently through the body.

ARTISTBIO: Shinichi Iova-Koga

Shinichi Iova-Koga is the Artistic Director of the Physical Theater and Dance company called inkBoat. The company has won five Izzie awards and toured in Europe, Asia and the USA. Long-term collaborations with Anna Halprin (Postmodern Dance), Ko Murobushi (Butoh Dance), Yuko Kaseki (Butoh Dance) Ann Carlson (Contemporary Dance) and Yumiko Yoshioka (Butoh Dance) as well as mentorships with Ralph Lemon (Contemporary Dance) and Ruth Zaporah (Action Theater) have shaped his perceptions and aesthetic.

Shinichi has existed and trained primarily within the contexts of Butoh Dance, Daoist Internal Arts, Action Theater (improvisation training), Aikido and Noh Theater. These perspectives formed his approaches to body mobility and circulation, awareness of weight, breath, physical connectivity, feeling states and relationship to the environment. He is certified to teach Qi Gong by Lotus Nei Gong and he runs the Swiss branch of Wudang West.

He teaches both independent workshops and within University dance programmes, most notably at Mills College in California from 2009-2017. In addition, he is the editor of the book 95 Rituals, a tribute to Anna Halprin, and a contributing writer to The Routledge Companion to Butoh Performance.     

Last update: 12.04.2021

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Public Moves 2020 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 01.08.2021, 00:55 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2021/id4457/
NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTIONORDER PROGRAMME
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival

SHINICHI IOVA-KOGA

© Beth Martin
© Pak Han
© Pak Han
© Pak Han
© Pak Han

Butoh – Deconstruct the Darkness

Niemals in Kultur oder Zeit fixiert, bleibt dieser Tanz eine persönliche Untersuchung

Erlaube Bildern den Körper oder das Handeln zu verändern. Transformiere den Zustand, bis du deine Programmierung wahrnimmst. Dekonstruiere Gewohnheiten. Erarbeite energieeffiziente und fließende Bewegungen. Intensive Selbsterforschung durch neue Rahmengebung. Schicke Energie durch das System und lasse sie dann heraus. Senke das Gewicht, bis die wesentlichsten und prägnantesten Impulse übrig bleiben. Das Training fördert die körperliche und geistige Aufnahmefähigkeit sowie den präzisen körperlichen Einsatz. Erschaffe einen einheitlichen Körper, der bereit ist, auf dem chaotischen Strom des Unterbewussten zu reisen.

Butoh-Tanz gehört zum Mystischen. Gehen, kriechen, rollen, Spiralen, dehnen, kontrahieren, verändere den Tanz.

Wir integrieren Improvisationstraining mit exakter Körperlichkeit.

ANDERE WORKSHOPS VON Shinichi Iova-Koga

Dao Yin Training

Dao Yin ist die Praxis von Fokus in Zusammenhang mit Sehnen, Muskeln und Knochen. Das Training öffnet und dehnt die Kanäle des Körpers, um ein widerstandsfähigeres, stärkeres und gesünderes Gewebe zu entwickeln. Der Solarplexus und der Unterbauch initiieren die Bewegung der Gliedmaßen. Umgekehrt kann die Bewegung oder der Zustand der Gliedmaßen die inneren Bereiche des Körperzentrums beeinflussen. Spiralbewegungen und Dehnungen öffnen Gelenke und Gewebe und verbessern damit den Energiefluss durch den Körper.

ARTISTBIO: Shinichi Iova-Koga

Shinichi Iova-Koga ist der künstlerische Leiter der Physical Theater- und Tanzcompagnie inkBoat. Die Compagnie gewann fünf Izzie-Preise und tourte in Europa, Asien und den USA. Langjährige Zusammenarbeiten mit Anna Halprin, Ko Murobushi, KT Nelson, Yuko Kaseki, Do Theater, Ann Carlson und Yumiko Yoshioka sowie die Mentor*innen Ralph Lemon und Ruth Zaporah haben seine Wahrnehmung und Ästhetik geprägt.

Shinichi arbeitete und lernte vor allem in den Kontexten von Butoh-Tanz, Qi Gong, Action Theater, Improvisation, Aikido und Noguchi Taiso. Aus diesen Perspektiven heraus formten sich seine Ansätze zu Körperbeweglichkeit und Zirkulation, Wahrnehmung von Gewicht, Atem, körperlicher Verbundenheit, Gefühlszuständen und der Beziehung zur Umwelt. Als Lehrer und Performer unterzieht er seine eigenen Erfahrungen einer erneuten Betrachtung oder Neuzusammensetzung, um Prinzipien aus dem Inneren der Formen herauszuholen

Er unterrichtet sowohl in unabhängigen Workshops als auch im Rahmen von akademischen Tanzprogrammen, wie am Mills College in Kalifornien zwischen 2009 und 2017. Darüber hinaus ist er Herausgeber des Buches 95 Rituals, einer Hommage an Anna Halprin, und Autor des Buches The Routledge Companion to Butoh Performance.

Stand: 12.04.2021

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals findest du HIER

Public Moves 2020 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak Previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events findest du HIER.

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 12.05.2021, 07:56 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2021/id4457/
NEWSLETTER ABONNIERENPROGRAMM BESTELLEN
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival