MEG STUART

Eva Würdinger
© Eva Würdinger

The Matter

For two days we commit ourselves to listening and the need to speak. How to articulate expression through and with the body? Stand up tips over to lie down, into sit it out and then walk it off, towards run away or hold it down, tie it together, keep it quiet. We rant and we rave. A subterranean mode of speech ready to emerge. To speak it out, to hear it out, to move the words out. Movement as a text transcribed by our necessary, unrelenting, and unfiltered questions: What decisions were forgotten after we said yes? What is after consent and the agreement? Is commitment a gift towards another, maybe to oneself? Rant and rave—the act to act out. Moving the words while being open to the live moments of shift, with no assumptions, no pre-conceptions. What can we glean from positions of desperation, healing, and resistance? Care is a commitment. Commit to listen—again and again—to feel what we are saying, to move what is held, to catalyse, to shift, to sit it out, to stand up, to walk out if necessary, to step aside, to feel and to come back again and again to the heart of the matter.

ARTISTBIO: Meg Stuart

Meg Stuart is an American choreographer and dancer, born in New Orleans, living and working in Berlin and Brussels. A daughter of theatre directors, Stuart began dancing and acting at an early age and made her first choreographic studies at the age of 15. She moved to New York in 1983 and studied dance at New York University and at Movement Research. In these early years, she explored contact improvisation and release techniques and was actively involved in the downtown New York dance scene, working with Randy Warshaw among others.

Stuart stepped into the European art field in 1991 with the creation of her first evening-length piece Disfigure Study, on the invitation of the Klapstuk festival in Leuven. Disfigure Study and her second piece, No Longer Readymade (1994) established themes which would stay relevant throughout her career, such as the deconstruction and distortion of the body and the assimilation of physical and emotional states through movement. With her company Damaged Goods, founded in 1994, she has created over thirty productions, ranging from solos and duets such as Maybe Forever (2007), Blessed (2007) and Hunter (2014) to large-scale choreographies such as VIOLET (2011), Celestial Sorrow (2018) and CASCADE (2021). Her work also takes on the form of multi-disciplinary installations, site-specific creations such as Projecting [Space[ (2017–2019), and video works, among which a series of four videos for CC:World (2020), an online exhibition by Haus der Kulturen der Welt.

As a mediator and curator Stuart creates spaces where artists and dance professionals can share knowledge through practice. Perhaps the most radical example of this is her curatorship of the 2019 Tanzkongress in Dresden. In tandem with this event she and the choreographer Moriah Evans facilitated a series of Tanzsalons in, among other places, New York, Madrid, Bogotá, and Ouagadougou, questioning the current state of the dance field. Stuart also regularly teaches workshops and master classes. She and her collaborators have initiated trailblazing improvisation projects such as Crash Landing (1996–1999), Auf den Tisch! (2004–2011), and City Lights (2016). Since 2016, she and Mark Tompkins have been engaged in an ongoing research on real-time composition, comprising a book, workshops and performances under the title One Shot.

Stuart strives to develop a new language for every piece in collaboration with artists from different creative disciplines and navigates the tension between dance and theatre. Previous collaborations include works developed with visual artists Gary Hill and Ann Hamilton (among others) and composers such as Hahn Rowe and Brendan Dougherty. The use of theatrical devices, in addition to the dialogue between movement and narrative, are recurrent themes in her choreographies. Stuart’s choreographic work revolves around the idea of an uncertain body, one that is vulnerable and self-reflexive. Through improvisation, she explores physical and emotional states or the memories of them. Her artistic work is analogous to a constantly shifting identity. It constantly redefines itself while searching for new presentation contexts and territories for dance.
 

Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods has an ongoing collaboration with Kaaitheater (Brussels) and HAU Hebbel am Ufer (Berlin).

Last update: 13.04.2021

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

Public Moves 2020 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 12.05.2021, 07:20 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2021/artist267/
NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTIONORDER PROGRAMME
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival

MEG STUART

Eva Würdinger
© Eva Würdinger

The Matter

Zwei Tage lang widmen wir uns dem Zuhören und dem Bedürfnis zu sprechen. Wie kann man sich durch und mit dem Körper artikulieren? Aufstehen kippt ins Liegen, ins Aussitzen und dann ins Weggehen, ins Weglaufen oder Festhalten, Zusammenhalten, Stillhalten. Wir schimpfen und wir toben. Eine unterirdische Redeweise, die reif ist, hervorzutreten. Um es auszusprechen, um es herauszuhören, um die Worte heraus zu bewegen. Bewegung als Text, der von unseren notwendigen, unerbittlichen und ungefilterten Fragen geschrieben wird: Welche Entscheidungen wurden vergessen, nachdem wir Ja gesagt haben? Was kommt nach der Zustimmung und dem Einverständnis? Ist Bekenntnis ein Geschenk an einen anderen, vielleicht an sich selbst? Schimpfen und toben – der Akt des Ausspinnens. Worte bewegen und sich dabei öffnen für Live-Momente der Veränderung, ohne Vermutungen, ohne Vorurteile. Was können wir aus Positionen der Verzweiflung, der Heilung und des Widerstands zusammentragen? Fürsorge heißt Bekenntnis. Sich dazu verpflichten, zuzuhören – immer und immer wieder – zu fühlen, was wir sagen, zu bewegen, was festgehalten wird, zu katalysieren, zu verschieben, es auszusitzen, aufzustehen, zu gehen, wenn nötig, zur Seite zu treten, zu fühlen und immer wieder zum Kern der Sache zurückzukehren.

Live Musik von Mieko Suzuki
Mieko Suzukis Website

ARTISTBIO: Meg Stuart

Meg Stuart ist eine amerikanische Choreografin und Tänzerin, geboren in New Orleans. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Brüssel. Als Tochter von Theaterschaffenden begann Stuart schon früh zu tanzen und zu schauspielern und machte ihre ersten choreografischen Studien im Alter von 15 Jahren. 1983 zog sie nach New York und studierte Tanz an der New York University und bei Movement Research. In diesen frühen Jahren erforschte sie Contact Improvisation und Release-Technik und war aktiv in der Downtown New Yorker Tanzszene involviert, wo sie unter anderem mit Randy Warshaw arbeitete.

Stuart tat 1991 in die Europäische Tanzwelt mit der Kreation ihres ersten abendfüllenden Stücks Disfigure Study ein, das auf Einladung des Klapstuk Festivals in Leuven, gezeigt wurde. Disfigure Study und ihr zweites Stück, No Longer Readymade (1994), etablierten Themen, die während ihrer gesamten Karriere relevant bleiben sollten – die Dekonstruktion und Verzerrung des Körpers und die Assimilation von physischen und emotionalen Zuständen durch Bewegung. Mit ihrer 1994 gegründeten Compagnie Damaged Goods schuf sie über dreißig Produktionen, die von Solos und Duetten wie Maybe Forever (2007), Blessed (2007) und Hunter (2014) bis zu groß angelegten Choreografien wie VIOLET (2011), Celestial Sorrow (2018) und CASCADE (2021) reichen. Ihre Arbeit nimmt auch die Form von multidisziplinären Installationen, ortsspezifischen Kreationen wie Projecting [Space[ (2017-2019) sowie Videoarbeiten an, darunter eine Serie von vier Videos für CC:World (2020), eine Online-Ausstellung des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt.

Als Vermittlerin und Kuratorin schafft Stuart Räume, in denen Künstler*innen und Tanzschaffende ihr Wissen durch Praxis teilen können. Das vielleicht radikalste Beispiel dafür ist ihre Tätigkeit als Kuratorin für den Tanzkongress 2019 in Dresden. Parallel zu dieser Veranstaltung moderierte sie zusammen mit der Choreografin Moriah Evans eine Reihe von Tanzsalons u.a. in New York, Madrid, Bogotá und Ouagadougou, die den aktuellen Stand des Tanzbereichs hinterfragen. Stuart unterrichtet auch regelmäßig Workshops und Meisterklassen. Sie und ihre Mitarbeiter*innen haben bahnbrechende Improvisationsprojekte initiiert, wie Crash Landing (1996–1999), Auf den Tisch! (2004–2011) und City Lights (2016). Seit 2016 betreibt sie zusammen mit Mark Tompkins eine fortlaufende Recherche zur Real-time Composition, die ein Buch, Workshops und Performances unter dem Titel One Shot umfasst.

Stuart ist bestrebt, in Zusammenarbeit mit Künstler*innen aus verschiedenen kreativen Disziplinen für jedes Stück eine neue Sprache zu entwickeln und bewegt sich dabei im Spannungsfeld zwischen Tanz und Theater. Frühere Kollaborationen umfassen Arbeiten, die u. a. mit den bildenden Künstler*innen Gary Hill und Ann Hamilton sowie Komponisten wie Hahn Rowe und Brendan Dougherty entwickelt wurden. Die Verwendung von theatralischen Mitteln sowie der Dialog zwischen Bewegung und Erzählung sind wiederkehrende Themen in ihren Choreografien. Stuarts choreografische Arbeit kreist um die Idee eines unsicheren Körpers, der verletzlich und selbstreflexiv ist. Durch Improvisation erforscht sie körperliche und emotionale Zustände oder die Erinnerungen daran. Ihre künstlerische Arbeit ist analog zu einer sich ständig verschiebenden Identität. Sie definiert sich ständig neu, während sie nach neuen Präsentationskontexten und Territorien für den Tanz sucht.

Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods hat eine laufende Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kaaitheater (Brüssel) und dem HAU Hebbel am Ufer (Berlin).

Stand: 13.04.2021

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Public Moves 2020 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak Previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events findest du HIER.

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals findest du HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 30.07.2021, 05:06 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2021/artist267/
NEWSLETTER ABONNIERENPROGRAMM BESTELLEN
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival