GERMAN JAUREGUI

© Borja Ramos
© Judith Lutz
Workshops 2012 © Judith Lutz
© Maciej Schwarz

Ultima Vez Vocabulary

We will study different materials from several shows by the company Ultima Vez under the direction of choreographer Wim Vandekeybus in order to understand the most important aspects of these works. We will get familiarised with concepts like risk, trust and instinct. These tasks will allow us to discover where we stand, how we dance, where our limits are and how we can develop further.

Veiling the creation process as act of resistance

This workshop aims to develop working methods that stimulate research, practice and discourse. The participants will work on their own projects, interests or concerns. The practical exercises will be combined with negotiations that encourage the learning process, thus evacuating the conventional forms of transmission and creating a common place for the exchange.

ARTISTBIO: German Jauregui

German Jauregui is a choreographer, dancer and teacher based in Brussels. In 1998 he joined the company Ultima Vez/Wim Vandekeybus, where he worked as a dancer for more than 10 years, in the creation and touring of 8 pieces. Since 2015, he works as a movement assistance and rehearsal director for the company. In 2007, he started to develop his own work with the creation of the pieces Isaac (2007), Sunset on Mars (2009), Confession (2013). As a guest choreographer he created the pieces Testamento (2010) for the Festival EINCE in Guadalajara (Mexico), Esbozo (2010) for the Centro de las Artes in San Luis de Potosí (Mexico), Tres silencios (2011) for the company Date Danza in Granada (Spain), Albatross (2016) for the collective 605 in Vancouver (Canada). He often collaborates with different choreographers, theatre makers and circus companies. In parallel, he teaches workshops internationally at festivals and dance centres such as ImPulsTanz (Vienna), Circuit-Est (Montreal), Atelier de Paris (Paris), Russia Dance Academy (St. Petersburg), Tsekh festival (Moscow), among others.

In 2016, German Jauregui and Antia Diaz started an artistic collaboration that includes creation, research and teaching practices. They co-directed the pieces Isaac y Diola (2016) and Rassemblement (2019). From these creations as well as from their previous experiences, they began a reflection on the creation process, its methods and forms of organisation. All these practices have given rise to the “An approach to a creation process“ workshop which is held in different centers, festivals and universities such as the University of Music and Dance of Koln (Germany), Iwanson International School of Contemporary Dance of Munich (Germany), SEAD-Salzburg experimental academy of dance (Austria) and Marosi Festival (Italy), among others.

Last update: 07.04.2020

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 05.07.2020, 21:30 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2020/artist295/
NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTIONORDER PROGRAMME
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival

GERMAN JAUREGUI

© Borja Ramos
© Judith Lutz
Workshops 2012 © Judith Lutz
© Maciej Schwarz

Ultima Vez Vocabulary

Wir beschäftigen uns mit dem vielseitigen Material der Compagnie Ultima Vez des Choreografen Wim Vandekeybus, um die wichtigsten Aspekte dieser Arbeiten zu verstehen. Dabei nähern wir uns einigen, in den Stücken wiederkehrenden Konzepten an – wie Risiko, Vertrauen und Instinkt. So wollen wir austesten, wo wir persönlich stehen, wo unsere Grenzen liegen und wie wir uns weiterentwickeln können.

Veiling the creation process as act of resistance

Dieser Workshop zielt darauf ab, Arbeitsmethoden zu entwickeln, die Recherche, Praxis und Diskurs anregen. Jede*r Teilnehmer*in wird an einem eigenen Projekt, Interesse oder Anliegen arbeiten. Die praktischen Übungen werden mit Diskussionen kombiniert, die den Lernprozess fördern und so im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen Unterrichtspraktiken einen gemeinsamen Ort für den Austausch schaffen.

ARTISTBIO: German Jauregui

German Jauregui ist Choreograf, Tänzer und Dozent und lebt in Brüssel. Er trat 1998 der Compagnie Wim Vandekeybus/Ultima Vez bei, wo er mehr als 10 Jahre lang als Tänzer arbeitete, 8 Stücke mitkreierte und auf Tournee brachte. Seit 2015 arbeitet er als Assistent und Probenleiter in Bei Ultima Vez. 2007 begann er mit der Entwicklung seiner eigenen Arbeit und kreierte die Stücke Isaac (2007), Sunset on Mars (2009) und Confession (2013). Als Gastchoreograf schuf er die Stücke Testamento (2010) für das Festival EINCE in Guadalajara (Mexiko), Esbozo (2010) für das Centro de las Artes in San Luis de Potosí (Mexiko), Tres silencios (2011) für die Compagnie Date Danza in Granada (Spanien), Albatross (2016) für das Kollektiv 605 in Vancouver (Kanada). Er arbeitet oft mit verschiedenen Choreograf*innen, Theaterschaffenden und Zirkuscompagnien zusammen. Parallel dazu unterrichtet er international Workshops an Festivals und Tanzzentren wie ImPulsTanz (Wien), Circuit-Est (Montreal), Atelier de Paris (Paris), Russia Dance Academy (St. Petersburg), Tsekh-Festival (Moskau), u.a.

Im Jahr 2016 begannen German Jauregui und Antia Diaz eine künstlerische Zusammenarbeit, die Kreation, Forschung und Lehrmethoden umfasst. Sie führten gemeinsam die Regie bei den Stücken Isaac y Diola (2016) und Rassemblement (2019). Ausgehend von diesen Kreationen sowie von ihren bisherigen Erfahrungen begannen sie eine Reflexion über den Schaffensprozess, seine Methoden und Organisationsformen. Aus all diesen Praktiken entstand der Workshop „An approach to a creation process“, der in verschiedenen Tanzzentren, Festivals und Universitäten wie der Universität für Musik und Tanz in Köln (Deutschland), der Iwanson International School of Contemporary Dance in München (Deutschland), der Experimentalakademie für Tanz SEAD-Salzburg (Österreich) und dem Marosi-Festival (Italien) u.a. unterrichtet wird.

Stand: 07.04.2020

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals findest du HIER

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak Previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events findest du HIER.

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 04.06.2020, 00:49 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2020/artist295/
NEWSLETTER ABONNIERENPROGRAMM BESTELLEN
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival