CHRISTOPHER MATTHEWS

ImPulsTanz Workshops 2019 © Emilia Milewska
ImPulsTanz Workshops 2019 © Emilia Milewska
ImPulsTanz Workshops 2019 © Emilia Milewska
© Christopher Matthews
Dance Contest ImPulsTanz 2016 © Karolina Miernik

A queer house party: Film Night

This house party welcomes everyone, who loves a good, cheesy dance film. Girls just want to have fun, so step it up to save the last dance in your red shoes during the white nights. Let’s dress up, make popcorn and enjoy the films we love to hate! We will watch, re-enact and develop activities that allow us to think critically about how the identity of a dancer is glamorised.

Commercial Jazz

Chris is an award-winning choreographer and dancer, trained in Ballet, early Modern Dance, Classical and Commercial Jazz, who claims: “I’m a jazzerina!” He is inspired by, among others, Bob Fosse, Matt Mattox and Gus Giordano. In his classes, he enhances the participants’ precision, speed and performance abilities.

ARTISTBIO: Christopher Matthews

Christopher Matthews is an award winning choreographer-dancer with a practice deeply embedded in performing: 20+ years experience in classical ballet, early modern dance, classical/commercial jazz, dance reality TV (Bounce Angola: choreographer/judge, So You Think You Can Dance US/UK and America’s Got Talent: featured contestant) and other commercial contexts. Recently, he worked with Trajal Harrell, Jeremy Shaw, Paula Roselen, Janine Harrington and Tino Sehgal.

"My embodied histories inform my work with interest in versatility/stability of identity in relation to technical codes/formats. With extensive investigation of dance history and contemporary presentation modes, my works dialogue with the spectator on themes of voyeurism, criticism, gender, body image, working conditions, intersections of the classical and contemporary, icon vs self and pop culture. Recent experimentation with the music video format led to Untitled Video Portraits, which won the 2017 1st Prize + Cinema Prize of the 9th International Choreographic Captures Competition (CCC). My work will be presented in cinema networks and festivals across Switzerland, Germany and France from May 2018 and nominated for IMDB Alternative Film Festival as Best Artistic Short."

Past work has been supported by: CreativeWorks London (entrepreneur in residence at Roehampton University), Southbank Centre (dance artist in residence 2012), Jardin D’Europe (WildCard residency in Zagreb), ImPulsTanz (danceWEB scholarship 2016) and through presentation contexts in Europe, USA and Asia.

Last update: 07.05.2018

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 05.07.2020, 21:48 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2020/artist1659/
NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTIONORDER PROGRAMME
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival

CHRISTOPHER MATTHEWS

ImPulsTanz Workshops 2019 © Emilia Milewska
ImPulsTanz Workshops 2019 © Emilia Milewska
ImPulsTanz Workshops 2019 © Emilia Milewska
© Christopher Matthews
Dance Contest ImPulsTanz 2016 © Karolina Miernik

A queer house party: Film Night

Diese Hausparty heißt alle willkommen, die gute, kitschige Tanzfilme lieben. Girls just want to have fun, also lasst uns noch eins drauf legen und unseren letzten Tanz für unsere roten Schuhe in der Nacht der Entscheidung reservieren. Wir schmeißen uns in Schale, machen Popcorn und ziehen uns die Filme rein, die wir lieben zu hassen! Wir glotzen, re-enacten und überlegen uns Aktivitäten, die es uns erlauben, kritisch über die Romantisierung der Identität von Tänzer*innen nachzudenken.

Commercial Jazz

Chris ist preisgekrönter Choreograf und Tänzer, der in Ballett, Jazz und Modern Dance ausgebildet ist und von sich selbst behauptet: „I’m a jazzerina!“. Bob Fosse, Matt Mattox und Gus Giordano zählen zu seinen wichtigsten Inspirationsquellen. Als Lehrender ist sein Ziel, Präzision, Schnelligkeit und die Performancekünste der Teilnehmer*innen zu verbessern.

ARTISTBIO: Christopher Matthews

Christopher Matthews ist ein preisgekrönter Choreograf und Tänzer mit einer tief in der Performance verwurzelten Praxis: mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung in klassischem Ballett, frühem Modern Dance, klassischem/kommerziellem Jazz, Tanz-Reality-TV (Bounce Angola: Choreograf/Judge, So You Think You Can Dance US/UK und America's Got Talent: Kandidat) und anderen kommerziellen Kontexten. Vor kurzem arbeitete er mit Trajal Harrell, Jeremy Shaw, Paola Roselen, Janine Harrington und Tino Sehgal.

"Meine verkörperte Geschichte liefert meiner Arbeit das Interesse an Vielseitigkeit/Stabilität der Identität in Bezug auf technische Codes / Formate. Mit ausführlichen Untersuchungen zur Tanzgeschichte und zeitgenössischen Präsentationsmodi führt meine Arbeit den Dialog mit dem Zuschauer über Voyeurismus, Kritik, Geschlecht, Körper. Die jüngsten Experimente mit dem Musikvideoformat führten zu Untitled Video Portraits, die den 1. Preis + Kinopreis des 9. Internationalen Choreographic Captures Competition (CCC) erlangen. Meine Arbeiten werden ab Mai 2018 in Kinonetzwerken und Festivals in der Schweiz, Deutschland und Frankreich präsentiert und für das IMDB Alternative Film Festival als Best Artistic Short nominiert. "

Frühere Arbeiten wurden unterstützt von: CreativeWorks London (Entrepreneur in Residenz an der Roehampton University), Southbank Center (Tanzkünstler in Residenz 2012), Jardin D'Europe (WildCard Residenz in Zagreb), ImPulsTanz (danceWEB Stipendium 2016) und durch Präsentationskontexte in Europa, USA und Asien.

Stand: 07.05.2018

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals findest du HIER

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak Previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events findest du HIER.

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 03.06.2020, 23:55 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2020/artist1659/
NEWSLETTER ABONNIERENPROGRAMM BESTELLEN
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival