You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

DANA MICHEL

Camille McOuat
© Camille McOuat

NO FIXED POSITIONS
NO FIXED POSITIONS
NO FIXED POSITIONS

We will ____ on being present, on sharpening listening, on awakening our voices, on speaking and looking through our bodies, on softening our focus. This is another opportunity for us to meet other selves, our selves, and everything that runs between these selves. During this workshop, we will engage in activities devised to instigate ____, which MAY or MAY NOT have incidence on your creation practice. Taking chances is important, yes? I’d like for us to do a little writing, a little bit of making small experiments, a little reading things, a little watching things. Also: critically – hell yes, encouraging each other – hell yes, we will talk A LOT (probably). WE WILL MAKE THINGS.

Okay, here, let me be clear: I am not coming to teach you how to create. I am coming to join you on a wandering through potentially fertile dirt or air. I will bring a few seeds, seeds that I have been meaning to plant in my own dirt or air for a long time, but that I have been hesitant to plant for various reasons. But also I’ve surely used some of these seeds before. Let us join each other. I look forward to meeting you all. I look forward to finding with you all. I look forward to zooming in and I look forward to us getting very lost. But when we are together, we are not so lost actually, and therefore – well – we are not so lost. Let us both, embrace and reject scepticism. What might that bring? What do you think you need more of right now? Is it time to do the opposite? (class: get lost or get lost) Also people are obviously coming to find shit. Specific shit. Currently, I’m not so fond of the word "practice". But today it occurred to me that if I do have a practice, it is a practice of actively trying to lose control and to get lost. I am actively trying to not know – probably in order to potentially know more and because I have control issues but somewhere inside of me, I know better than to obey them completely. Also because obviously I know that I know so very little and the way that I think I can hack my system/a system is to lose focus on hacking said system and to swing blindly and see what surprises may infiltrate my systems. Okay, I do allow some obsessive control but I think some obsessive control can be a nice doggy treat for letting oneself lose lots of control in other ways. Let’s not practice (but we are obviously practicing but let’s change the word to "so"-ing or whatever loosens our ropes). Let’s not look for specific shit, yeah? Anyway, please sign this "get lost or get lost contract” if you’d like to join along for this prescribed moment in time.

ARTISTBIO: Dana Michel

Dana Michel is a choreographer and live artist. Her works interact with the expanded fields of improvisation, sculpture, HipHop, comedy, cinematography, dub, and social commentary to create centrifuge of experience.
Before graduating from the BFA program in Contemporary Dance at Concordia University in her late twenties, Michel was a marketing executive, competitive runner and football player. In 2014, she was awarded the Jardin d'Europe Award at ImPulsTanz (Vienna) in recognition for outstanding artistic accomplishments, and was highlighted among notable female choreographers of the year by the New York Times. In 2017, Michel was awarded the Silver Lion for Innovation in Dance at the Venice Biennale. In 2018, she became the first ever dance artist in residence at the National Arts Centre, Canada. Recently, she has been shortlisted for the ANTI Festival International Prize for Live Art.
Michel is currently touring two solo performance works, "Yellow Towel" and "Mercurial George". She will present her new solo performance work, "Cutlass Spring", at ImPulsTanz 2019. Based in Montreal, Michel is an associate artist with Par.B.L.eux.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© ImPulsTanz

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

impressions'15 © Karolina Miernik

FAQ

Do you have any questions? How to book a workshop? How can I buy tickets for the performances? Where can I get more information about the soçial programme?Where and when to find details on our website? Find answers to your questions on our FAQ page!

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched here. MORE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 19.05.2019, 15:01 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2019/id4062/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

DANA MICHEL

Camille McOuat
© Camille McOuat

NO FIXED POSITIONS
NO FIXED POSITIONS
NO FIXED POSITIONS

Wir ____ an Präsenz, an der Verfeinerung des Zuhörens, an der Erweckung der Stimme, am Sprechen und am Durchschauen unserer Körper sowie am Weichmachen unseres Fokus. Es ist eine Gelegenheit für uns, anderes Selbst, unser Selbst und alles was zwischen den Selbst zu finden ist, zu begegnen. Während dem Workshop vertiefen wir uns in Aufgaben, die dafür geschaffen sind, um _____  anzuregen, was VIELLEICHT aber VIELLEICHT AUCH NICHT öfter in unserer künstlerischen Praxis vorkommt. Es darauf ankommen lassen ist wichtig, oder? Ich fände es gut, wenn ein wenig schreiben, kleine Experimente durchführen, was lesen und was anschauen würden. Außerdem: kritisch – ja warum nicht? – einander Feedback geben – tja, wir werden (wahrscheinlich) VIEL miteinander reden. WIR WERDEN KREIEREN.

Okay, lasst mich das klarstellen: ich werde nicht unterrichten, wie ihr kreieren sollt. Ich bin gekommen, um euch auf einer Wanderung auf potentiell fruchtbaren Boden oder nährender Luft zu begleiten. Ich bringe Samen, die ich schon lange in meiner Erde oder Luft säen wollte, dies aber noch aus verschiedenen Gründen und Zweifel unterlassen habe. Einige der Samen habe ich bereits verwertet. Lasst uns zusammen kommen. Ich freue mich darauf euch kennenzulernen und zu erkennen. Ich freue mich auf ein Reinzoomen und in ein heftiges Verloren-Gehen. Wenn wir zusammen sind, sind wir auch gar nicht so verloren und deshalb – naja – verlieren wir uns auch nicht gänzlich. Lasst und die Skepsis sowohl begrüßen, als auch verweigern. Was soll das bringen? Was meint ihr braucht ihr zurzeit am meisten? Wie wäre es das Gegenteil zu tun? (Klasse: verzieh dich oder verirr dich.) Einige werden hier sein um genau Nichts zu finden. Ein Bestimmtes Nichts. Derzeit bin ich kein Fan des Wortes „Praxis“. Aber heute ist mir aufgefallen, wenn ich überhaupt eine Praxis habe, dann ist es eine Praxis des Kontrollverlusts und des Verlorengehens. Ich versuche aktiv nicht zu wissen – wahrscheinlich, um im Grunde mehr zu erfahren und weil ich ein Kontrollfreak bin, wobei ich tief in mir drinnen, weiß ich ja, dass es besser ist, nicht komplett zu folgen. Außerdem, weil ich weiß, dass ich sehr wenig weiß und auf diese Weise kann ich mein System hacken. Ein System ist es, den Fokus beim Hacken dieses Systems zu verlieren, blind mitzuschwingen und sich davon überraschen lassen, was bei diesem System durchsickern kann. Okay, ich gestatte mir ein wenig obsessive Kontrolle, aber ich glaube diese Obsessionen können auch Leckerlies sein für den Kontrollverlust in anderen Momenten. Lasst uns keiner Praxis nachgehen (aber offensichtlich werden wir was üben, vielleicht ändern wir das Verb und nennen es „so“-en oder was auch immer eure Zügel lockert). Lasst uns nach nichts Spezifischem suchen, okay? Bitte unterschreibt einfach diesen „Verzieht euch oder Verliert-Euch-Vertrag“, wenn ihr in diesem speziellen Moment dabei sein wollt.
 

ARTISTBIO: Dana Michel

Dana Michel ist Choreografin und Live-Künstlerin. Ihre Arbeiten interagieren mit den erweiterten Bereichen Improvisation, Skulptur, HipHop, Comedy, Kino, Synchronisation und sozialem Kommentar, um eine Zentrifuge an Erfahrung zu schaffen.
Vor ihrem Abschluss des BFA-Programms für zeitgenössischen Tanz an der Concordia University in ihren späten Zwanzigern war Michel als Marketingmanagerin, Läuferin und Fußballerin tätig. 2014 wurde sie bei ImPulsTanz mit dem Jardin d'Europe Preis für herausragende künstlerische Leistungen ausgezeichnet und von der New York Times als bemerkenswerte weibliche Choreografin des Jahres gelistet. 2017 wurde Michel auf der Biennale in Venedig mit dem Silbernen Löwen für Innovation im Tanz ausgezeichnet. Im Jahr 2018 wurde sie die erste Tanzkünstlerin am National Arts Center, Kanada. Vor kurzem wurde sie für den ANTI Festival International Prize for Live Art nominiert.
Michel ist momentan auf Tournee mit zwei Solo-Performances, "Yellow Towel“ und „Mercurial George“. Sie präsentiert ihre neue Solo-Performance „Cutlass Spring“ bei ImPulsTanz 2019. Michel ist in Montreal ansässig und ist Künstlerin bei Par.B.L.eux.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

impressions'15 © Karolina Miernik

FAQ

Wo finden die Workshops statt? Wie bewerbe ich mich für Research Projects? Wo kann ich Performance-Tickets erwerben? Wo gibt es mehr Informationen zum soçial-Programm? Wie finde ich detaillierte Informationen auf der Website? Finden Sie Antworten auf Ihre Fragen auf unserer FAQ Seite!

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie hier. MORE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 23.04.2019, 18:23 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2019/id4062/