You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

LENIO KAKLEA

© Marc Domage
© Marc Domage
© Marc Domage

Relocation: choreographic strategies in an era of cultural appropriation

Since 2016, I have developed Practical Encyclopedia, a choreographic project that observes how social transformations affect our intimate relation to movement. Together with a team of writers, researchers and dancers, we conducted around 600 interviews with people of different social backgrounds in seven European cities. Our inquiry reveals the diversity of habits, rituals and techniques exercised by groups and individuals living in these territories. It informs us on the modes of production of subjectivity through the organised repetition and transmission of movements.

For this workshop, we will work through different choreographic strategies. In an era of YouTube and cultural appropriation, how and where do we find material? Every dance practice is situated, how do we negotiate with the context in which we produce? When establishing a process that implicates investigation outside of the studio, how do we proceed? How can we look at what we make as part of a larger social process that affects our techniques and modes of working?

Our time together in the studio will be structured by compositional exercises, discussion within the group, as well as time dedicated to developing personal material.

ARTISTBIO: Lenio Kaklea

Lenio Kaklea, born in Athens in 1985, is a dancer, choreographer and writer. She graduated from the National School of Contemporary Dance of Athens, the CNDC of Angers and the master program of Political Sciences, SPEAP, directed by Bruno Latour.
She performed with Alexandra Bachzetsis, François Chaignaud and Cecilia Bengolea, Boris Charmatz, Claudia Triozzi and made a solo collaboration with Lucinda Childs on the music of Ryoji Ikeda in 2013.
Since 2009, she makes work using a range of media such as choreography, text and film. She has created "Matter of Act", "Arranged by Date", "Margin Release", "A Hand's Turn", "Analphabet", "Practical Encyclopedia", "Chosen Portraits" and "41 Lécuyer street". In 2016, she was the curator of "Iris, Alexandra, Mariela, Katerina and me", a program around Athens based female choreographers.
Her work has been presented in various festivals and art contexts such as Center Pompidou, documenta 14 - Public programs, Les Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers, PACT Zollverein, Le Quartz – National scene of Brest, ImPulsTanz, Ménagerie de verre, Athens and Epidaurus Festival and the Onassis Foundation.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched here. MORE

© ImPulsTanz

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 24.08.2019, 18:48 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2019/id4046/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

LENIO KAKLEA

© Marc Domage
© Marc Domage
© Marc Domage

Relocation: choreographic strategies in an era of cultural appropriation

Seit 2016 entwickle ich das Practical Encyclopedia, ein choreografisches Projekt, das beobachtet, wie soziale Veränderungen unsere enge Verbindung mit Bewegung beeinflussen. Zusammen mit einer Gruppe von Schriftsteller_innen, Wissenschaftler_innen und Tänzer_innen haben wir ungefähr 600 Interviews mit Menschen aus verschiedenen sozialen Verhältnissen in sieben europäischen Städten geführt. Unsere Recherche enthüllte die Vielfalt von Gewohnheiten, Ritualen und Techniken, die von dort ansässigen Gruppen und Individuen praktiziert wird. Sie offenbart die Art und Weise, in der Subjektivität durch organisierte Wiederholung und Übermittlung von Bewegungen produziert wird.

In diesem Workshop werden wir uns durch verschiedene choreografische Strategien durcharbeiten. Wir werden uns mit der Frage beschäftigen, wie und wo wir Material in Zeiten von YouTube und kultureller Appropriation finden können. Jede Tanzpraxis ist verortet: wie vereinbaren wir sie mit dem Kontext, in dem wir etwas schaffen? Wie gehen wir vor, wenn wir einen Prozess beginnen, der Erkundigungen außerhalb des Studios verlangt? Wie können wir das, was wir als Teil eines größeren sozialen Prozesses schaffen und was unsere Techniken und Arbeitsweisen beeinflusst, betrachten?

Unsere gemeinsame Zeit im Studio folgt einer Struktur, die aus kompositionellen Übungen, Gruppendiskussionen und genügend Zeit, am eigenen Material zu arbeiten, besteht.

ARTISTBIO: Lenio Kaklea

Lenio Kaklea, geboren 1985 in Athen, ist Tänzerin, Choreografin und Schriftstellerin. Sie absolvierte die National School of Contemporary Dance in Athen, studierte am CNDC in Angers und schloss einen Master in Politikwissenschaft, SPEAP, unter Bruno Latour ab.
Sie trat zusammen mit Alexandra Bachzetsis, François Chaignaud and Cecilia Bengolea, Boris Charmatz, und Claudia Triozzi auf und kreierte 2013 ein Solowerk mit Lucinda Childs zur Musik von Ryoji Ikeda.
Seit 2009 bedient sie sich an einer Bandbreite an Medien, wie Choreografie, Text und Film, um Werke zu schaffen. Zu diesen gehören „Matter of Act, Arranged by Date“, „Margin Release“, „A Hand's Turn“, „Analphabet“, „Practical Encyclopedia“, „Chosen Portraits“ und „41 Lécuyer street“. 2016 kuratierte sie „Iris, Alexandra, Mariela, Katerina and me“, ein Programm, das sich mit in Athen lebenden Choreografinnen befasst.
Ihre Arbeit wurde schon bei verschiedenen Festivals und Kunstkontexten präsentiert, u.a. am Centre Pompidou, documenta 14 - öffentliche Programme, Les laboratoires d’Aubervilles, PACT Zollverein, Le Quartz - National Scene of Brest, ImPulsTanz, Menagerie de Verre, Athen, dem Epidaures Festival sowie der Onassis Foundation.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie hier. MORE

impressions'15 © Karolina Miernik

FAQ

Wo finden die Workshops statt? Wie bewerbe ich mich für Research Projects? Wo kann ich Performance-Tickets erwerben? Wo gibt es mehr Informationen zum soçial-Programm? Wie finde ich detaillierte Informationen auf der Website? Finden Sie Antworten auf Ihre Fragen auf unserer FAQ Seite!

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 18.06.2019, 07:11 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2019/id4046/