You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

DD DORVILLIER

© Eileen Travell
© Chris Cameron
© Caroline Vincart

Skinner Releasing Technique (SRT)

Sometimes quiet and gentle, sometimes surprising and inventive

Skinner Releasing Technique (SRT) is a pioneering approach to dance, movement and creative process that has evolved from the simple principle that when we are releasing physical tension, we can move with greater freedom, power and articulation. SRT was developed, from the early 1970-ies onward, by Joan Skinner. Since then, it has become a significant influence on dance training and creative practice, as well as on leading choreographers and dance-makers across the world.

SRT lets the student practice letting go of habitual holding patterns and habitual ways of thinking in order to find energy and power and awaken creativity and spontaneity. Class includes music and guided imagery as a powerful tool for transformation, tapping into the imagination while working on technical aspects of movement, and involves movement studies with partners, in groups and solos. Movement unfolds, sometimes in quiet gentle ways, sometimes in surprising and inventive ways. Integration of the technical with the creative is a unique aspect of the Skinner approach.

ARTISTBIO: DD Dorvillier

Choreographer and performer DD Dorvillier has been developing her work and practice in New York City since 1989, and in Paris since 2010. In 1991 she and dancer/choreographer Jennifer Monson created the Matzoh Factory, in Brooklyn. Their home and studio was a legendary site for experimentation where artists congregated for low-tech shows, rehearsals, parties, and readings. She has worked with many artists in different contexts including: Zeena Parkins, Katerina Andreou, Sébastien Roux, Walter Dundervill, Jennifer Lacey, Heather Kravas, Elizabeth Ward, Amanda Piña, Yvonne Meier, Sarah Michelson, Ishmael Houston-Jones, Karen Finley, Deuffert/Plischke, Jefta Van Dinther/Frédéric Gies, Annie Dorsen/Anne Juren. Honours include The Doris Duke Performing Arts Award (2013), a Guggenheim Fellowship (2011), and a Foundation for Contemporary Arts Award (2007), as well as Bessies for the choreography and creation of "Dressed for Floating" (2002) and for her performance in "Parades & Changes, replays" (2008).

Dorvillier has presented her work at venues such as PS 122, The Kitchen, Danspace Project, ImPulsTanz, Kaaitheater, Rencontres Internationales Chorégraphiques de Seine St Denis, L'Atelier de Paris/Carolyn Carlson, STUK, DeSingel, and Hau/Hebel am Ufer, among many others. In 2014, Danspace Project commissioned Platform 2014: "Diary of an Image" by DD Dorvillier, a four week platform which focused on her work and practice, including the premieres of two new works: "Diary of an Image" and "A catalogue of steps", and a publication entitled "Diary of an Image", a collection of images and writings about her work by invited scholars and artists connected to her work. In 2008 Dorvillier was the danceWeb Scholarship Programme coach, along with choreographer Trajal Harrell.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched here. MORE

impressions'15 © Karolina Miernik

FAQ

Do you have any questions? How to book a workshop? How can I buy tickets for the performances? Where can I get more information about the soçial programme?Where and when to find details on our website? Find answers to your questions on our FAQ page!

© ImPulsTanz

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 20.05.2019, 00:54 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2019/id4024/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

DD DORVILLIER

© Eileen Travell
© Chris Cameron
© Caroline Vincart

Skinner Releasing Technique (SRT)

Manchmal ruhig und sanft, manchmal überraschend und einfallsreich

Skinner Releasing Technique (SRT) ist ein wegweisender Ansatz für Tanz, Bewegung und kreativen Prozess, der aus dem einfachen Prinzip hervorgegangen ist, dass wir uns beim Loslassen der körperlichen Spannung mit größerer Freiheit, Kraft und Artikulation bewegen können. SRT wurde in den frühen 1970er Jahren von Joan Skinner entwickelt. Seitdem hat SRT einen bedeutenden Einfluss auf das Tanztraining und die kreative Praxis sowie auf führende Choreograf_innen und Performanceschaffende auf der ganzen Welt.

SRT lässt die Teilnehmer_innen entdecken, wie sie gewohnheitsmäßige Haltungsmuster und gewohnheitsmäßige Denkweisen loslassen können, um Energie und Kraft zu finden sowie Kreativität und Spontanität zu erwecken. Der Unterricht umfasst Musik und angeleitete Bildgebungen als wichtiges Werkzeug für die Transformation, die Erschließung der Vorstellungskraft bei der Arbeit an technischen Aspekten von Bewegung sowie Bewegungsstudien mit Partner_innen, in Gruppen und alleine. Bewegung entfaltet sich manchmal auf ruhige und sanfte, manchmal auf überraschende und einfallsreiche Weise. Die Integration des Technischen im Kreativen ist ein einzigartiger Aspekt des Skinner-Ansatzes.

ARTISTBIO: DD Dorvillier

Die Choreografin und Performerin DD Dorvillier entwickelt ihre Arbeiten und Praxis seit 1989 in New York, und seit 2010 in Paris. 1991 gründete sie mit der Tänzerin/Choreografin Jennifer Monson die Matzoh Factory, in Brooklyn. Ihr Zuhause und Atelier war ein legendärer Ort für Experimente, wo Künstler_innen sich für Low-Tech-Shows, Proben, Partys und Lesungen versammelten. Sie arbeitete mit vielen Künstler_innen in unterschiedlichen Zusammenhängen einschließlich: Zeena Parkins, Katerina Andreou, Sébastien Roux, Walter Dundervill, Jennifer Lacey, Heather Kravas, Elizabeth Ward, Amanda Piña, Yvonne Meier, Sarah Michelson, Ishmael Houston-Jones, Karen Finley, Deuffert/Plischke, Jefta van Dinther/Frédéric Gies, Annie Dorsen/Anne Juren. Unter den Ehrungen: The Doris Duke Performing Arts Award (2013), ein Guggenheim-Stipendium (2011), ein Foundation for Contemporary Arts Preis (2007), sowie Bessies für die Choreografie und Kreation von „Dressed for Floating“ (2002) und für ihre Performance in "Parades & Changes, Replays" (2008).

Dorvillier präsentierte ihre Arbeit an Veranstaltungsorten wie u.a. PS 122, The Kitchen, Danspace Project, ImPulsTanz, Kaaitheater, Rencontres Internationales de Seine Chorégraphiques St. Denis, L'Atelier de Paris/Carolyn Carlson, STUK, DeSingel und Hau/Hebel am Ufer. Im Jahr 2014 beauftragte Danspace Projekt Platform 2014: „Diary of an Image“ von DD Dorvillier, eine vierwöchige Plattform, die sich auf ihre Arbeit und Praxis, darunter die Uraufführungen von zwei neuen Werken konzentriert: „Diary of an Image“ und „A catalogue of steps“ sowie eine Publikation mit dem Titel „Diary of an Image“, eine Sammlung von Bildern und Schriften über ihre Arbeit von eingeladenen Wissenschaftler_innen und Künstler_innen, die mit ihrer Arbeit verbunden sind. Im Jahr 2008 war Dorvillier Coach des danceWEB Stipendienprogramms, zusammen mit dem Choreografen Trajal Harrell.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie hier. MORE

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 18.08.2019, 17:52 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2019/id4024/