You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ELIZABETH WARD

Julie Calbert
© Julie Calbert

Phototropism and the Lampenfieber

Grow in the garden of (de)light

Sometimes simply bringing the word BALLET into the room can cause people to stiffen and become rigid in their bodies. Often bringing the word BALLET into the room brings a sea of expectations and the fear of failing: When perfection seems so elusive can the fear of failing become our common ground?

In this workshop we will turn towards our fears, not to make a monstrosity out of them, but rather to think of navigating collective fears in relation to ballet. Growing out of a larger research around stage fright, or the more poetic German Lampenfieber (lamp fever), we will together step into the light. Mostly Lampenfieber is navigated individually. Some individuals transform the rush of adrenaline into something out of this world. Others are crushed by it, while many of us have up and down moments with the delight and terror of being in front of others. Conjuring a bit of magical thinking we will take this journey collectively, addressing performance anxieties by exercising the plant medicine often portrayed in ballet’s romantic narratives. Lilacs and Roses are the most famous but there are more to grow and tend to. Working with the metaphor of light we step away from the stage and into the garden where plants grow through phototropism – both away and towards light. It has been said that the same principles that shaped baroque gardens were at play in ballet’s early spatial forms. Let’s imagine we’ve discovered a garden where the "cultivated" and "uncultivated" balletic plants mingle and dance. Paths are over-grown, in some places their traces remain and in others we must create new ways through. It’s in this garden that we collectively set our wishes in action and invite the shadows of our fears into the dancing.

ARTISTBIO: Elizabeth Ward

Elizabeth Ward is choreographer and performer currently living in Vienna. Previously she has lived and worked in New York City, Athens, Brussels, and Portland, Oregon. Her work explores the collective histories of dance lineages embedded in a dancer’s muscle memory as a living archaeological terrain. She is developing a new piece with visual artist Julia Zastava and musician Ana Threat on hauntings, specifically looking at the complicated political histories of early Modern Dance, to premiere in early 2020. Her project Anti-Fascist Ballet School, made in collaboration with Magdalena Chowaniec, was presented by Wiener Festwochen, wien woche, and at Der Blöde Dritte Mittwoch. Since 2014 she has worked with electronic music producer AC/Boy on a techno ballet project that has been presented by Brut, WUK, The Kitchen (NYC), Trinosophes (Detroit), ANA (Copenhagen) and featured by the Boiler Room. As a performer she has participated in the works of DD Dorvillier, Miguel Gutierrez, Anne Juren, Jennifer Lacey, and Frédéric Gies amongst others.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

impressions'15 © Karolina Miernik

FAQ

Do you have any questions? How to book a workshop? How can I buy tickets for the performances? Where can I get more information about the soçial programme?Where and when to find details on our website? Find answers to your questions on our FAQ page!

© ImPulsTanz

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched here. MORE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 22.05.2019, 09:24 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2019/id4014/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ELIZABETH WARD

Julie Calbert
© Julie Calbert

Phototropism and the Lampenfieber

Wachsen im Garten des Lichts

Wenn man das Wort BALLETT in den Raum stellt, führt das manchmal dazu, dass einige Personen erstarren und versteifen. Meistens, wenn man das Wort BALLETT in den Raum bringt, löst es ein Meer von Erwartungen und eine Angst vor dem Scheitern aus: Wenn Perfektion so schwer ist, könnte dann die Angst vor dem Scheitern zu einer gemeinsamen Basis werden?

In diesem Workshop werden wir uns unseren Ängsten stellen, nicht um aus ihnen eine Monströsität zu machen, sondern eher um daran zu denken, kollektive Ängste in Bezug auf das Ballett zu steuern. Aus einer größeren Recherche zum Thema Bühnenangst oder dem poetischeren Lampenfieber werden wir gemeinsam ins Licht treten. Meist wird Lampenfieber alleine bewältigt. Einige Menschen verwandeln den Adrenalinrausch in etwas, das nicht von dieser Welt zu sein scheint. Andere lassen sich davon zermalmen. Viele von uns freuen sich darauf oder haben ihre Up-and-Downs damit, vor anderen aufzutreten. Um ein bisschen magisches Denken hervorzuholen, werden wir diese Reise gemeinsam antreten, um Performancesängste anzugehen, indem wir Pflanzenmedizin zu Rate ziehen, die oft in romantischen Erzählungen des Balletts dargestellt wird. Flieder und Rosen sind die bekanntesten, aber es gibt viel mehr, die wachsen und um die wir uns kümmern könnten. Wenn wir mit der Metapher des Lichts arbeiten, treten wir von der Bühne weg in den Garten, in dem Pflanzen durch Phototropismus wachsen – sowohl weg als auch in Richtung des Lichts. Es wurde gesagt, dass die gleichen Prinzipien, die die Barockgärten prägten, auch in den frühen Raumformen des Balletts eine wichtige Rolle gespielt haben. Stellen wir uns vor, wir haben einen Garten entdeckt, in dem sich „kultivierte“ und „unkultivierte“ Ballett-Pflanzen tummeln und miteinander tanzen. Die Wege sind verwachsen, an manchen Orten bleiben ihre Spuren und an anderen müssen wir neue Wege schaffen. In diesem Garten setzen wir gemeinsam unsere Wünsche in die Tat um und laden die Schatten unserer Ängste zum Tanzen ein.

ARTISTBIO: Elizabeth Ward

Elizabeth Ward ist Choreografin und Performerin, die derzeit in Wien lebt. Zuvor lebte und arbeitete sie in New York, Athen, Brüssel und Portland, Oregon. Ihre Arbeit erforscht die kollektive Geschichte von Tanzlinien, die in das Muskelgedächtnis von Tänzer_innen als lebendiges archäologisches Terrain eingebettet sind. Sie entwickelt ein neues Stück mit der bildenden Künstlerin Julia Zastava und der Musikerin Ana Threat zum Thema Spuk, wobei sie sich vor allem auf die komplizierten politischen Geschichten des frühen Modern Dance konzentriert, das Anfang 2020 uraufgeführt werden soll. Ihr Projekt Antifascist Ballet School, in Zusammenarbeit mit Magdalena Chowaniec , wurde von Wiener Festwochen, wien woche und am Der Blöde Dritte Mittwoch präsentiert. Seit 2014 arbeitet sie mit dem Elektronikproduzenten AC/Boy an einem Techno-Ballett-Projekt, das von Brut, WUK, The Kitchen (NYC), Trinosophes (Detroit), ANA (Kopenhagen) und dem Boiler Room präsentiert wurde. Als Performerin performte sie unter anderem in den Werken von DD Dorvillier, Miguel Gutierrez, Anne Juren, Jennifer Lacey und Frédéric Gies.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

impressions'15 © Karolina Miernik

FAQ

Wo finden die Workshops statt? Wie bewerbe ich mich für Research Projects? Wo kann ich Performance-Tickets erwerben? Wo gibt es mehr Informationen zum soçial-Programm? Wie finde ich detaillierte Informationen auf der Website? Finden Sie Antworten auf Ihre Fragen auf unserer FAQ Seite!

Workshop-Katalog zum Download

Workshops für Profis, Neutänzer_innen, dauerhaft Begeisterte und Wiederauffrischer_innen: Alle Workshops finden Sie in unserem neuen Katalog hier als DOWNLOAD

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 18.06.2019, 07:13 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2019/id4014/