You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

JOS MCKAIN

© Bea Rodrigues
© Alexandre Sade
© Alexandre Sade
© Alexandre Sade

Extremity Agenda

How do we deal with extremity? After deciding that the sun is the centre of the solar system, humans firmly placed themselves at the centre of the universe. Memories, empathies, feelings, emotions, the attention economy, image culture all representing the commodification of the emotional spectrum. Partitioning our personalities into screens, photos, and mostly being our own planets in our little palms. Connecting everything together alone.

This workshop will focus on practicing adaptation as a performative practice. Switching topics and techniques to work with impossibility. We will practice things like time traveling, shopping and hold instagram interventions. We will talk about, how we can die, examine, how we are killing. Experimenting with change as a form of iridescence.

TOPICS:
- screens
- intimacy
- economy
- extinction

NOTE:
Participants will be asked to select a photo of themselves to share and to log all their media interactions for a week up to the workshop. Participants are encouraged to bring their mobile devices. Accompanying the workshop a media log will be generated as archive.

OTHER WORKSHOPS OF Jos McKain

Contemporary – The Pleasure Principle

Feeling is fact. This is about moving for pleasure. Simple straight forward, a passé is just a passé. A chaîné is just a chaîné. Using pop we will have fun. Subtext is kept to a minimal.
Through technical training and sequences we will begin building our own choreographies to find the pleasure principle.

How choreography can work for us and living for the pleasure principle.
We will sweat sweet sweat.

ARTISTBIO: Jos McKain

Jos McKain has worked with some people that are famous and some people that are not. He studied with contemporary jazz guru Ryan Heffington for seven years. He has been living and working in Berlin for the last three. He grew up on a farm next to Dorothy. In between he lived in Bollywood than Hollywood.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

impressions'15 © Karolina Miernik

FAQ

Do you have any questions? How to book a workshop? How can I buy tickets for the performances? Where can I get more information about the soçial programme?Where and when to find details on our website? Find answers to your questions on our FAQ page!

© cin cin

Performance catalogue available for download

65 Productions in one small booklet:
All pieces and extras can be found here in the performance catalogue as a DOWNLOAD

Workshop catalogue available for download

Workshops for professionals, beginners, come-back dancers, enthusiasts: all workshops included in our new catalogue here as DOWNLOAD

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 17.07.2019, 15:28 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2019/id4009/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

JOS MCKAIN

© Bea Rodrigues
© Alexandre Sade
© Alexandre Sade
© Alexandre Sade

Extremity Agenda

Wie gehen wir mit Extremitäten um? Nachdem entschieden wurde, dass die Sonne das Zentrum des Sonnensystems ist, nahmen Menschen den Platz im Zentrum des Universums ein. Erinnerungen, Empathie, Gefühle, die Aufmerksamkeitsökonomie, visuelle Kultur, sie alle repräsentieren die Kommodifizierung des emotionalen Spektrums. Unsere Persönlichkeiten werden in und auf Bildschirme und Fotos zerteilt, wobei wir meistens wie kleine Planeten alleine Zeit in unseren Handflächen verbringen. Zusammen – aber zugleich allein – verbinden wir alles.

In diesem Workshop geht es um Adaptierung als performative Praxis. Das Ändern von Sujets und Techniken wird uns dabei helfen, mit Unmöglichkeiten zu arbeiten. Wir machen Zeitreisen, kaufen ein und kreieren Instagram-Interventionen. Wir reden darüber, wie wir sterben können, und betrachten, wie wir töten. Wir experimentieren mit dem Wandel als schillernde Form.

THEMEN:
- Bildschirme
- Intimität
- Wirtschaft
- Aussterben

ANMERKUNG:
Jede Person wird gebeten, ein Foto von sich auszusuchen und zu teilen und alle Interaktionen auf Medienplattformen eine Woche lang bis zum Workshop-Beginn zu verfolgen. Mitnahme von mobilen Geräten ist erwünscht. Ein Medienprotokoll wird außerdem als Teil des Workshops und für Archivierungszwecke generiert.
Es wird auch getanzt.

ANDERE WORKSHOPS VON Jos McKain

Contemporary Jazz – The Pleasure Principle

Gefühle sind Tatsachen. Hier geht es um Bewegung zum reinen Vergnügen. Kurz und knapp gesagt, ein passé ist einfach nur ein passé. Ein chaîné ist nur ein chaîné. Von Popmusik begleitet werden wir Spaß haben. Subtexte werden minimal gehalten.
Durch technisches Training und Übungen werden wir beginnen, unsere eigenen Choreografien zu entwickeln, um dem pleasure principle auf die Spur zu kommen.

Wir werden herausfinden, wie Choreografie für uns funktioniert und wie wir das Leben auf das pleasure principle ausrichten können.
Wir werden schwitzen, ganz schön schwitzen.

ARTISTBIO: Jos McKain

Jos McKain hat schon mit vielen Menschen zusammengearbeitet, manche davon sind berühmt, manche nicht. Er studierte Contemporary Jazz sieben Jahre lang bei Ryan Heffington. Seit drei Jahren lebt und arbeitet er in Berlin, ein Kontrast zu der Farm in der Nähe von Dorothy, wo er aufwuchs. Dazu kamen auch noch Zwischenstopps in Bollywood und Hollywood.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

impressions'15 © Karolina Miernik

FAQ

Wo finden die Workshops statt? Wie bewerbe ich mich für Research Projects? Wo kann ich Performance-Tickets erwerben? Wo gibt es mehr Informationen zum soçial-Programm? Wie finde ich detaillierte Informationen auf der Website? Finden Sie Antworten auf Ihre Fragen auf unserer FAQ Seite!

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie hier. MORE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 19.04.2019, 20:44 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2019/id4009/