You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

IAN KALER & PLANNINGTOROCK AKA JAM ROSTRON

Nadja Hallström
© Nadja Hallström

Shared Practice 

Ian Kaler and Jam Rostron have been developing a unique shared practice since 2015. Their joint practice is intuitive, vulnerable, profound and humorous transforming and spanning from choreography to music production/composition.

In the two-day workshop we will explore a basic presence exercise as a subtle build-up of awareness for the space we are in and the bodies we share it with, connecting the visual and spatial with the somatic, fine-tuning our perception individually and as a group. On a sonic and musical level we will connect with our voice(s) and vocal folds. We will build simple (acoustic) vocal loops as Solos and in groups and play with the given range of vocal diversity that each individual brings. From there we will go into practicing jam-sessions adding layers and finding a range of real-time decision making in moving, performing, being present and sounding. During the sessions we will have space for exchange and reflection.

The workshop is aiming at people/bodies with a queer sensitivity and openness to explore a range of very subtle to perhaps more bold and un_controlled (not as in going-crazy but as being okay with not knowing) introspection: output. You don't need to have any dance training or have any singing skills or have ever sung before. Bring shoes to work with.

Please apply via email with a short statement, CV and photos for this workshop.

ARTISTBIO: Ian Kaler

Ian Kaler studied Transmedial Arts in Vienna and graduated from the pilot study programme Contemporary Dance, Context, Choreography at the higher educational Centre for Dance at the College of Fine Arts, Berlin (Universität der Künste Berlin). Since 2010, he has been developing choreographic series that are accompanied by (visual) media works and in exchange with different artists. Since 2015, Ian Kaler has been working on the choreographic series o.T. (German acronym for untitled) in collaboration with the music producer Planningtorock as well as further guest artists, such as Philipp Gehmacher, Stephane Peeps Moun, Imogen Heath, Joy Leah Joseph and Houwaide Hedfi. So far, three pieces have been created as part of the series, two of which premiered at ImPulsTanz in 2015 ("the emotionality of the jaw") and ("gateways to movement"). "Incipient Futures" and the practice format "RAW PRACTICE" complete the current series.

Two of his video installations, "Me becoming myself (unfinished)" (2016) and "Shifting the burden", the result of a collaboration with Anne Quyrinen in 2014, have been shown at the Leopoldmuseum Wien as part of ImPulsTanz 2016.

"LIVFE" – the first piece of a new series of choreographic works, in which choreography and dance are combined with spoken-word texts and theatre as well as live music (rRoxymore) and live video (and visual effects: Imogen Heath) – was first performed during ImPulsTanz 2017 and was subsequently showcased in a slightly adapted version at the HAU1 Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin in 2018.

The premiere of "ON THE CUSP", Kaler’s first choreographic piece for 16 dancers of the Cullbergbaletten, took place at the Tanzquartier Wien in January 2019. In the meantime, Kaler has also been working with Planningtorock on Rostron’s musical show "Powerhouse". "Powerhouse" and "RAW PRACTICE" will premiere in Austria as part of ImPulsTanz 2019.

Ian Kaler also develops workshops that function as research formats in parallel to his choreographic series, which he has held at the ImPulsTanz International Contemporary Dance Festival in Vienna, the Tanzquartier Wien, PACT Zollverein Essen, DOCH School for Dance and the Circus Stockholm, the Cullbergbaletten, Escuela Profesional de Danza in Mazatlán as well as the University of Sonora in Mexico, amongst others. Aside from teaching workshops that are designated for professional dancers with Mixed Abilities, he also teaches his practice to people who have artistic backgrounds outside for the realm of dance.

ARTISTBIO: Planningtorock aka Jam Rostron

Planningtorock – aka Jam Rostron – is a Bolton-born Berlin-based singer-songwriter, composer, producer and director with three critically acclaimed studio albums of left-field dance to their name – not to mention various collaborations, operas, film scores and remixes. A self-taught, non-binary, working-class musician, they’ve spent a decade plus queering sound and vision as Planningtorock.

Planningtorock debuted in the Noughties with 2006’s Have It All [Chicks On speed], finding artistic community among fellow DIY outliers and gender outlaws such as Peaches and The Knife. Their sound – tense, spellbinding dance music with classical flourishes, unexpected brass and pitched-down vocals that have become Planningtorock's signature – have earned them a dedicated following.

W, Planningtorock’s critically acclaimed 2011 debut on DFA, revealed a visionary and politicised producer. It offered up deeply queered art-pop – 2014’s All Love’s Legal (“a masterclass in left-of-centre dance music”, Mixmag), released on Rostron's own imprint Human Level with banner-ready slogans (‘Patriarchy Over And Out’, ‘Let’s Talk About Gender Baby’), revealed their ability to combine pop-oriented music with a political message.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched here. MORE

© ImPulsTanz

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 21.08.2019, 15:57 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2019/id4002/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

IAN KALER & PLANNINGTOROCK AKA JAM ROSTRON

Nadja Hallström
© Nadja Hallström

Shared Practice 

Ian Kaler und Jam Rostron entwickeln schon seit 2015 eine einzigartige, gemeinsame Praxis. Ihre geteilte Praxis besteht aus intuitiver, verwundbarer, profunder und humorvoller Transformation und umfasst Choreografie bis hin zu Musikproduktion und -komposition.

In diesem zweitägigen Workshop werden wir eine einfache Daseinsübung erforschen, welche uns beim subtilen Aufbau einer Wahrnehmung des Raums, in dem wir uns befinden, sowie den Körpern, mit denen wir diesen Raum teilen, helfen soll. Sie wird uns auch ermöglichen, das Visuelle und Räumliche mit dem Somatischen zu verbinden, und somit unsere individuelle und Gruppenwahrnehmung zu verfeinern. Mit Hilfe von Sound und Musik werden wir den Klang unserer Stimmen und Stimmbänder genauer kennenlernen. Wir werden einfache (akustische) vocal loops als Soli und in Gruppen kreieren und mit der stimmlichen Bandbreite aller Teilnehmer_innen spielen. Dann werden wir das Gelernte in jam sessions ausprobieren und die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten von Bewegung, vom Auftreten, Dasein und vom Geräuschemachen in Echtzeit entdecken. Dabei werden wir auch genug Zeit und Raum für Austausch und Besinnung haben.

Der Workshop ist gedacht für Menschen und Körper, die eine queere Sensibilität und eine Offenheit besitzen, um eine Bandbreite von sehr subtilen bis zu gewagteren und unkontrollierten (nicht im Sinne von Verrückt-Werden, sondern als Akzeptanz des Unbewussten) Formen von Introspektion zu erforschen: Output. Bisherige Tanz- oder Gesangserfahrung sind nicht erforderlich. Es wird gebeten, Schuhe mitzubringen.

Für diesen Workshop wird um eine Bewerbung mit einem Motivationsschreiben, CV und Foto gebeten.
Bitte alle Dokumente per E-Mail an das Workshop Office senden.

ARTISTBIO: Ian Kaler

Ian Kaler studierte Transmediale Kunst in Wien und absolvierte den Pilotstudiengang Zeitgenössischer Tanz, Kontext, Choreografie am Hochschulübergreifenden Zentrum Tanz an der Universität der Künste Berlin. Seit 2010 entwickelt er im Austausch mit unterschiedlichen Künstler_innen Stücke in choreografischen Reihen, die von Arbeiten in (visuellen) Medien begleitet werden.

Seit 2015 arbeitet Ian Kaler an der choreografischen Reihe „o.T. (german acronym for untitled)“ in Kollaboration mit Musik-Producer Planningtorock sowie weiteren Gäst_innen (u.a. Philipp Gehmacher, Stephane Peeps Moun, Imogen Heath, Joy Leah Joseph u. Houwaide Hedfi) – bisher sind drei Stücke („the emotionality of the jaw“), („gateways to movement“) Uraufführung bei ImPulsTanz 2015 und („Incipient Futures“) und das Praxis Format „RAW PRACTICE“ in der Reihe entstanden.

Zwei seiner Video-Installationen, „Me becoming myself (unfinished)“ von 2016, und „Shifting the burden“, einer Kollaboration mit Anne Quyrinen aus dem Jahr 2014, wurden im Leopoldmuseum Wien im Rahmen von ImPulsTanz 2016 gezeigt.

„LIVFE“ – das erste Stück einer neuen choreografischen Arbeitsreihe, in der Choreografie und Tanz mit (gesprochenem) Text und Schauspielszenen, sowie live Musik (rRoxymore) und live Video (und Licht: Imogen Heath) verbunden werden – wurde im Rahmen von ImPulsTanz 2017 uraufgeführt und war in einer überarbeiteten Version im HAU1 Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin 2018 zu sehen.

Die Uraufführung von „ON THE CUSP“, Kalers erster Choreografie für 16 Tänzer_innen des Cullbergbaletten, fand im Tanzquartier Wien im Januar 2019 statt.
Parallel dazu arbeitet Kaler momentan mit Planningtorock an Rostron's Musical Show „Powerhouse“.
„Powerhouse“ und „RAW PRACTICE“ haben bei ImPulsTanz 2019 Österreich-Premiere.

Ian Kaler entwickelt analog zu seinen choreografischen Serien Workshops, die als Researchformate funktionieren – so bereits für ImPulsTanz, das Tanzquartier Wien, PACT Zollverein Essen, DOCH School for Dance and Circus Stockholm, das Cullbergbaletten, die Escuela Profesional de Danza in Mazatlán und die University of Sonora in Mexico. Neben Workshops, die er für professionelle Tänzer_innen mit Mixed Abilities gibt, unterrichtet er seine Praxis für Teilnehmer_innen mit anderen (künstlerischen) Hintergründen als dem Tanz.

ARTISTBIO: Planningtorock aka Jam Rostron

Planningtorock – aka Jam Rostron – ist in Bolton geboren, in Berlin ansässig und arbeitet als Singer-Songwriter, Komponist_in, Produzent_in und Regisseur_in mit drei erfolgreichen Studioalben eher linker Tanzkultur und befasst sich weiters mit verschiedenen Zusammenarbeiten, Opern, Filmpartituren und Remixes unter diesem Namen. Aus der Arbeiterklasse stammend nicht-binär, autodidaktisch macht Planningtorock schon seit mehr als zehn Jahren Musik, queeren Sound und Visionen.

Planningtorock debütierte in den Nullerjahren mit „Have It All [Chicks On Speed]“ (2006) und fand bald eine aus DIY und Gender Außenseiter_innen bestehende Künstlercommunity, zu der u.a. Peaches und The Knife gehören. Der Sound – angespannte, verzaubernde Tanzmusik mit klassischen Elementen, unerwartete Blechtöne und herunter gestimmter Gesang, welche Planningtorocks Sound unverkennbar machen – haben bereits ein passioniertes Publikum gefunden.

„W“, das gefeierte Debut von Planningtorock auf DFA, enthüllte eine visionäre und zugleich politisierte Produktion. Es ist auch ein zutiefst queeres Art-Pop Werk – das 2014 veröffentlichte „All Love’s Legal“ („eine Masterclass in der links-angelehnten Tanzszene”, Mixmag), veröffentlicht auf Rostrons eigenem Aufdruck Human Level mit Banner-würdigen Slogans („Patriarchy Over and Out“, „Let’s Talk About Gender Baby“), zeigte wie Begabung und pop-orientierte Musik mit politischen Botschaften gekonnt vermischt wird.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie hier. MORE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 19.08.2019, 08:05 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2019/id4002/