You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ISABEL LEWIS

Isabel Lewis, Inner Strip (2014)
© Isabel Lewis, Inner Strip (2014)

Unambitious Stripper

Departing from feminist sociologist Roslyn Wallach Bologh's notion of "erotic sociability" as a form of interhuman sociality as an alternative to the dominant 20th century relational modes of competition, conflict, and coercion, this workshop will focus on the tuning and heightening of the senses in order to facilitate a state of hyper-presence that will be the aid towards generative and affective forms of being and dancing together in heterotopic space. The figure of the unambitious stripper serves as a guide to connecting with our inner worlds in order to become more radically receptive to our outer worlds. For Lewis "unambitiousness" is key to the notion of the unambitious stripper. The outward-oriented gaze that reaches out to address and arrest the client with the ambition of monetary gain is turned in on itself in this scenario. Here the strip dancer turns their gaze inward, initially away from the paying customer and into their immediate kinesphere, toward the surface of their own skin, through the epidermis and into their fleshy, wet innards. The unambitious stripper uses imagination combined with physicality to sensually strip away these bodily layers and approach presence and energetic states in order to ultimately reconnect with the human and nonhuman presences they share space with. The dance that emerges is processual, a double motion of inner and outer, a becoming and an undoing, a movement on a continuum of becoming an object of interest and desire and being drawn out as an interested and desiring subject.

Continuing her trajectory at ImPulsTanz of workshops as artistic proposals, Lewis continues her research with Unambitious Stripper. This workshop will incorporate elements of her past workshops such as her research on agentic capacities within collective creative efforts from Communal EPIC Fiction (2011) and research from Ballistic Body (2012) on the development of a technique Lewis calls "epidermal dancing", dancing from the surfaces of both our biological skin and the choreographic "skin" we inhabit as habitus – our systems of embodied dispositions and tendencies that organise the ways we perceive the social world around us and how we react to it. Unambitious Stripper will put acute focus on all the senses including the olfactory with smells by renowned smell researcher Sissel Tolaas.
 

ARTISTBIO: Isabel Lewis

Isabel Lewis, based in Berlin since 2010, is a dancer and artist born in the Dominican Republic and raised on a man-made island off the coast of southwest Florida. She lived in New York City from 2003-2009 where she danced for many choreographers and where she showed her own commissioned works at The Kitchen, Dance Theater Workshop, New Museum, Dancespace Project at St. Marks Church, PS 122 and Dia Foundation. Trained in literary criticism, dance, and philosophy her work takes on many different formats from lecture performances to workshops, music sessions, parties, installation and what she calls "hosted occasions." Her occasions have been presented at Centre d'Art Contemporain Genève, Kunsthalle Basel, Frieze London, Liverpool Biennial, the Institute of Contemporary Arts London (ICA), Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo Turin, Tanz Im August Berlin, Göteborg International Biennial for Contemporary Art, Palais de Tokyo, Tate Modern London, and Ming Contemporary Art Museum Shanghai. Lewis has created works around such topics as open source technology and dance improvisation, social dances as cultural storage systems (Mountain Grass, Mountain Hare: bodily imprinting and social dances, 2012), collaborative creative formats (Communal EPIC Fiction, 2010), future bodily techniques (BALLISTIC BODY, 2011), and rapping as an embodied speech act (FLOW PLAY: Sensualized Speech and Hip Hop, 2013) that have been presented at Serpentine Galleries, Kampnagel, and Hebbel Am Ufer amongst others.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched here. MORE

© ImPulsTanz

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

impressions'15 © Karolina Miernik

FAQ

Do you have any questions? How to book a workshop? How can I buy tickets for the performances? Where can I get more information about the soçial programme?Where and when to find details on our website? Find answers to your questions on our FAQ page!

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 22.05.2019, 09:21 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2019/id3965/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ISABEL LEWIS

Isabel Lewis, Inner Strip (2014)
© Isabel Lewis, Inner Strip (2014)

Unambitious Stripper

Ausgehend von der Vorstellung der feministischen Soziologin Roslyn Wallach Bologhs „erotische Umgänglichkeit“ als Form der interhumanen Sozialität als Alternative zum dominanten Wettbewerb, zu Konflikten und zu Zwängen des 20. Jahrhunderts zu betrachten, konzentriert sich dieser Workshop auf die Verfeinerung und Steigerung der Sinne, um einen Zustand der Hyperpräsenz zu ermöglichen, der für generative und affektive Formen des gemeinsamen Seins und Tanzens im heterotopischen Raum hilfreich ist. Die Gestalt des/r nicht-ehrgeizigen Strippers_in dient als Leitfaden für die Verbindung mit unseren inneren Welten, um für unsere äußeren Welten radikal empfänglicher zu werden. Für Lewis ist „Nicht-Ehrgeizig-Sein“ der Schlüssel zum Begriff des/r nicht-ehrgeizigen Strippers_in. Der nach außen gerichtete Blick, der den Klienten mit dem Ansporn des finanziellen Gewinns anspricht und festhält, wird in diesem Szenario auf uns selbst gerichtet. Hier richtet der/die Striptänzer_in den Blick nach innen, zunächst weg vom Zahlenden und in seine/ihre unmittelbare Kinesphäre, auf die Oberfläche der eigenen Haut, durch die Epidermis und in die fleischigen, feuchten Eingeweide. Der/Die nicht-ehrgeizige Stripper_in nutzt Fantasie, kombiniert mit Körperlichkeit, um diese körperlichen Schichten sinnlich wegzuziehen und sich der Präsenz und den energetischen Zuständen zu nähern, um letztlich wieder in Verbindung mit menschlichen und nichtmenschlichen Präsenzen mit denen er/sie den Raum teilt, in Verbindung zu treten. Der Tanz, der auftaucht, ist prozessual, eine doppelte Bewegung von Innerem und Äußerem, ein Werden und ein Rückgängig-machen, eine Bewegung in einem Kontinuum, bei dem er zu einem Gegenstand von Interesse und Begehren wird und dabei als interessiertes und begehrendes Subjekt heraus kommt.

Isabel Lewis setzt ihre Recherche Unambitious Stripper fort und erweitert ihre Workshop-Reihe im Sinne künstlerischer Vorschläge bei ImPulsTanz. Dieser Workshop beinhaltet Elemente ihrer vergangenen Workshops wie ihre Recherchen über agentive Fähigkeiten in kollektiven kreativen Bemühungen bei Communal EPIC Fiction (2011) und ihre Untersuchungen bei Ballistic Body (2012) über die Entwicklung einer Technik, die Lewis „epidermales Tanzen“ nennt, gemeint ist das Tanzen aus den Oberflächen heraus: sowohl aus unserer biologischen Haut als auch der „choreografischen Haut“, die wir als Habitus bewohnen – unsere Systeme von verkörperten Dispositionen und Tendenzen, die die Art und Weise organisieren, wie wir die soziale Welt um uns herum wahrnehmen und auf sie reagieren. Unambitious Stripper wird akuten Fokus auf alle Sinne legen, einschließlich dem olfaktorischen, mit Gerüchen der renommierten Geruchsforscherin Sissel Tolaas.

ARTISTBIO: Isabel Lewis

Isabel Lewis, lebt seit 2010 in Berlin, ist Tänzerin und bildende Künstlerin, geboren in der Dominikanischen Republik und auf einer von Menschenhand erschaffenen Insel an der Küste südwestlich von Florida aufgewachsen. Zwischen 2003 und 2009 lebte sie in New York, wo sie für viele Choreograf_innen als Performerin tätig war und ihre eigenen Arbeiten bei The Kitchen, Dance Theater Workshop, New Museum, Dancespace Project at St. Marks Church, PS 122 und der Dia Foundation präsentierte. Sie studierte Literaturkritik, Tanz und Philosophie und kreiert Arbeiten in verschiedenen Formaten, von Lecture Performances zu Workshops, Musik-Sessions, Partys, Installationen und etwas, das sie „hosted occasions“ (veranstaltete Anlässe) nennt. Diese Occasions wurden am Centre d'Art Contemporain Genève, der Kunsthalle Basel, bei Frieze London, bei der Liverpool Biennale, dem Institute of Contemporary Arts London (ICA), der Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo Turin, bei Tanz Im August Berlin, der Göteborg International Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst, dem Palais de Tokyo, der Tate Modern London und dem Ming Contemporary Art Museum Shanghai präsentiert. Isabel Lewis kreierte ihre Arbeiten über Themen, wie Open Source Technologie und Tanzimprovisation, soziale Tänze als kulturelle Speichersysteme (Mountain Grass, Mountain Hare: bodily imprinting and social dances, 2012), kreative Formate in Zusammenarbeit (Communal EPIC Fiction, 2010), zukünftige Körpertechniken (BALLISTIC BODY, 2011) und Rap als verkörperter Sprechakt FLOW PLAY: Sensualized Speech and Hip Hop, 2013). Sie wurden unter anderem bei Serpentine Galleries, Kampnagel und Hebbel Am Ufer gezeigt.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie hier. MORE

impressions'15 © Karolina Miernik

FAQ

Wo finden die Workshops statt? Wie bewerbe ich mich für Research Projects? Wo kann ich Performance-Tickets erwerben? Wo gibt es mehr Informationen zum soçial-Programm? Wie finde ich detaillierte Informationen auf der Website? Finden Sie Antworten auf Ihre Fragen auf unserer FAQ Seite!

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 19.04.2019, 21:07 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2019/id3965/