You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

SRI LOUISE

© Jerem Salazar
© Jerem Salazar
© Jessica Hubbard Marr

Yoga & Extinction Rebellion

The Somatics of Adaptation and Resistance

This Yoga Asana based workshop, will explore Extinction Rebellion, which is a phrase coined by Climate Change/Justice activists. Yoga & Extinction Rebellion offers participants the philosophical tenants of Yoga as a cognitive framework for facing impending social collapse.

We are currently in the sixth mass extinction phase, where we have been living in a disappearing world for some time now. It is estimated that 150-200 species of plant, insect, bird and mammal become extinct every 24 hours.

Yoga & Extinction Rebellion is about moving from denial to post-denial, where you can begin to incorporate the tools of The Deep Adaptation Agenda, coined by Jem Bendell, in a process of inter-personal/planetary reconciliation. The three aspects of the agenda are:

1. Resilience
2. Relinquishment
3. Restoration

The Deep Adaptation Agenda posits a form of Radical Hope, "…a form of hope that’s consciously chosen after denial. It is a form of hope that is ‘empowered surrender’ to a situation."

Extinction is a natural process and both Extinction and Death are inevitable; inextricable from the cycle of life. Our denial of climate change and social catastrophe is embedded in our denial of physical death.

Yoga has something to teach about this "transition". The final Asana of every Yoga class is Savasana, corpse pose. What does it mean to assume a position of death as a place to relax?

Each day we will explore a verse from the Bhagavad Gita to help us understand decline, death and disappearance in a way that restores radical hope to the individual. In Dharmic traditions this hope is called Moksa, liberation. It is not meant to induce denial, but to foster engagement.

Get Up And Fight!
Welcome To Extinction Rebellion!

The Asana portion of this class will focus on standing poses, particularly Warrior Poses. We will also explore all the asanas that are named after non-human species, for example, Garuda/Eagle, Bakasana/Crane and Bhujangasana/Cobra as meditations in restorative justice.
All bodies and levels welcome!

OTHER WORKSHOPS OF Sri Louise

Yoga: Beyond Deep Somatics

This workshop seeks to reorient the practice of Asana towards the goal of Yoga. Something which is more than somatics or Yoga as something that is beyond deep somatics.

Yoga is more than embodied self-reflexivity. The word somatics was coined by Thomas Hanna to describe practices that involve an awareness of the interior of the soma, body. Western somatic practices can be seen as a "digestion" of Yoga. It is the West’s approach to understanding its own interiority, without an epistemological means to understanding the relationship of the body/mind/sense complex to consciousness itself.

This workshop will be mainly practice based including Kriyas, cleansing actions, Asana, postures, Pranayama, regulation of breath, Dhyanam, meditation, Bhakti, prayer and finally Vidya, knowledge. Using Kena Upanisad to help answer the question, who or what is the ear of the ear, the eye of the eye, i.e. who is the one behind the sense organ of sight, who is aware of the process and function of seeing?

This workshop is about relinquishing tone, really dropping into the parasympathetic nervous system and using this deep state as a place of self-inquiry.
All levels and bodies are welcome!

ARTISTBIO: Sri Louise

Sri Louise is an independent performer and Yoga teacher currently based in the high desert of Albuquerque, New Mexico.
Increasingly critical of the culture surrounding Yoga, particularly in America, Sri Louise created a blog titled PostYoga, where she writes on the Intersection of Yoga, whiteness, anti-racism, anti-patriarchy, anti-capitalism, cultural-appropriation, colonialism, post-colonialism and decolonisation.

Her workshops are intended to affirm Yoga as a Moksa sadhana, a path of liberation that does not psychologically bypass the limiting social borders constructed by race, class and gender, but actually participates in deconstructing the cognitive dissonance that many Euro-Americans maintain in their quest for personal freedom and spiritual well being.
She is a long time disciple of Swami Dayananda Sarasvati, who is a traditional teacher of Advaita Vedanta with a remarkable ability to bring the ontological self into unmistakable view.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

impressions'15 © Karolina Miernik

FAQ

Do you have any questions? How to book a workshop? How can I buy tickets for the performances? Where can I get more information about the soçial programme?Where and when to find details on our website? Find answers to your questions on our FAQ page!

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched here. MORE

© ImPulsTanz

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 20.05.2019, 00:49 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2019/id3950/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

SRI LOUISE

© Jeremy Salazar
© Jeremy Salazar
© Jessica Hubbard Marr

Yoga & Extinction Rebellion

Die Somatik von Anpassung und Widerstand

Dieser auf Asana-Yoga basierende Workshop beschäftigt sich mit Extinction Rebellion. Es handelt sich dabei um einen Begriff, der von Aktivist_innen für Klimawandel bzw. Klimagerechtigkeit geprägt wurde. Yoga & Extinction Rebellion bietet den Teilnehmer_innen einen Einblick in die philosophischen Prinzipien des Yoga als kognitiven Rahmen, um dem bevorstehenden sozialen Zusammenbruch gegenüberzutreten.

Derzeit vollzieht sich das sechste Massenaussterben der Erdgeschichte – wir leben bereits seit einiger Zeit in einer von Verlust geprägten Welt. Schätzungen zufolge sterben alle 24 Stunden 150–200 Pflanzen-, Insekten-, Vogel- und Säugetierarten aus.

Bei Yoga & Extinction Rebellion geht es darum, von der Verleugnung in den Zustand der Post-Verleugnung zu gelangen. In diesem Zustand kannst du damit beginnen, die von Jem Bendell formulierten Hilfsmittel der Deep Adaptation Agenda in einen Prozess der zwischenmenschlichen/planetenweiten Versöhnung zu integrieren. Die drei Aspekte der Agenda sind:

1. Widerstandskraft
2. Loslassen
3. Regeneration

Die Deep Adaptation Agenda postuliert eine Art radikaler Hoffnung: „… eine Form von Hoffnung, für die man sich nach der Verleugnung bewusst entscheidet. Diese Form von Hoffnung ist in der Lage, sich willentlich mit einer Situation abzufinden (empowered surrender).“

Das Aussterben ist ein natürlicher Prozess und sowohl das Aussterben als auch der Tod sind unvermeidlich und untrennbar mit dem Kreislauf des Lebens verbunden. Unsere Leugnung des Klimawandels und der sozialen Katastrophe ist eingebettet in unsere Leugnung des physischen Todes.

Wir können von Yoga zu diesem „Übergang“ etwas lernen. Die letzte Asana jeder Yoga-Klasse ist Savasana, die Totenstellung. Was bedeutet es, als Form der Entspannung eine Position einzunehmen, die den Tod repräsentiert?

Wir werden uns jeden Tag mit einem Vers aus der Bhagavad Gita beschäftigen, der uns dabei hilft, Untergang, Tod und Verlust auf eine Weise zu verstehen, die der/m Einzelnen radikale Hoffnung gibt. In dharmischen Traditionen heißt diese Hoffnung Moksha, Befreiung. Sie soll nicht zur Verleugnung führen, sondern durch Verbundenheit den persönlichen Einsatz fördern.

Get Up And Fight!
Welcome To Extinction Rebellion!

Der Asana-Teil dieses Kurses konzentriert sich auf Standübungen, insbesondere auf die Kriegerstellungen. Als Meditationen zur regenerativen Gerechtigkeit werden wir uns auch mit allen Asanas beschäftigen, die nach nicht-menschlichen Arten benannt sind, z. B. Garuda/Adler, Bakasana/Kranich und Bhujangasana/Kobra.
All bodies and levels welcome!

ANDERE WORKSHOPS VON Sri Louise

Yoga: Beyond Deep Somatics

Dieser Workshop möchte das Praktizieren von Asanas wieder auf den eigentlichen Zweck von Yoga ausrichten. Etwas, das mehr ist als Somatik – Yoga als etwas, das über Tiefensomatik hinausgeht.

Yoga ist mehr als verkörperte Selbstreflexivität. Der Begriff Somatik stammt von Thomas Hanna und bezeichnet Praktiken, bei denen es um eine bewusste Wahrnehmung des Körperinneren geht (soma = Körper). Westliche somatische Praktiken können als eine reduzierte Form von Yoga verstanden werden. Es ist die Herangehensweise des Westens, das eigene Innere zu verstehen, ohne ein epistemologisches Mittel zum Verständnis um die Beziehung des Komplexes aus Körper/Geist/Sinn mit dem Bewusstsein an sich zur Verfügung zu haben.

Der Workshop ist praxisbasiert und beinhaltet u. a. Kriyas (reinigende Handlungen), Asana (Stellungen), Pranayama (Atemübungen), Dhyanam (Meditation), Bhakti (Gebet) und schließlich Vidya (Erkenntnis). Mithilfe der Kena Upanishad werden wir Antworten auf die Frage finden, wer oder was das Ohr des Ohrs ist, das Auge des Auges, d. h.: Wer steht hinter dem für das Sehvermögen zuständige Sinnesorgan, wer ist sich des Vorgangs und der Funktion des Sehens bewusst?

In diesem Workshop geht es darum, das Thema Tonus loszulassen, sich vollkommen ins parasympathische Nervensystem fallen zu lassen und diesen Tiefenzustand als einen Ort der Selbstbefragung zu nutzen.
All levels and bodies are welcome!

ARTISTBIO: Sri Louise

Sri Louise ist freischaffende Performerin und Yoga-Lehrerin und lebt derzeit in der Wüste von Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Mit immer kritischerem Blick auf den Yoga-Kult, vor allem in den USA, kreierte Sri Louise einen Blog mit dem Titel PostYoga, wo sie an den Schnittstellen von Yoga, Weißsein, Anti-Rassismus, Anti-Patriarchat, Anti-Kapitalismus, Kultur-Aneignung, Kolonialismus, Post-Kolonialismus und Entkolonialisierung schreibt.

Ihre Workshops sollen Yoga als Moksa sadhana (Weg der Befreiung) etablieren, der die von nationalen Identitäten kreierten sozialen Grenzen nicht psychologisch umgeht, sondern vielmehr zur Dekonstruktion von kognitiven Unstimmigkeiten, die bei vielen Euro-Amerikaner_innen auf ihrer Suche nach persönlicher Freiheit und spirituellem Wohlbefinden vorherrschen, beiträgt.

Sie ist langjährige Schülerin von Swami Dayananda Sarasvati, ein traditioneller Advaita Vedanta-Gelehrter, mit einer bemerkenswerten Fähigkeit, das ontologische Selbst auf unverwechselbare Weise ans Licht zu bringen.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie hier. MORE

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 18.08.2019, 17:29 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2019/id3950/