You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

KEITH HENNESSY & MICHAEL J. MORRIS

ImPulsTanz Workshops 2017 © Emilia Milewska
ImPulsTanz Workshops 2017 © Emilia Milewska
ImPulsTanz Workshops 2017 © Emilia Milewska
© Robbie Sweeny
© Robbie Sweeny
© Kat Reynolds
© Megan Leigh Barnard
© Abby Koskinas

The Spiral of Fortune (7 of Birds)

A laboratory of political witchcraft

The Spiral of Fortune (7 of Birds) is a week of dance divination, queer becoming, healing from political harm, and collaborative world-making, where world-making manifests as post/de-colonial choreography, magic, healing, activism, discourse, and ritual.

Keith Hennessy and Michael J. Morris will offer a week-long intensive laboratory, a politicised mystery school, in an expansive field where the politics of the land meet the politics of the body, and potential is everywhere. Incorporating tarot, astrology, fake and real healing, death practice, dancing together and alone, negotiating difference, somatic exploration and improvised ritual, in an on-going studio practice of shared play, research, and performance. We'll move between tradition and invention, the world as it has been and all the worlds that are yet to come, the known and the unknowable — and the spaces in-between. We'll cultivate full-bodied attention to what is subtle, spectacular, felt, invisible, imaginary, visionary, ancient, emergent, more-than-human, and marginal in order to devise collaborative art/ritual experiences that address contemporary crises in our global age. At the heart of this investigation is the conviction that what we practice at the small scale supports what we are capable of practising at other scales; thus, engaging with the forces of global crises at the scale of individual bodies and communities has the capacity to generate strategies for navigating and co-creating our world.

We'll make experiences and relationships in a vibrant real time composition that resonates in non-linear frequencies with the past, the future, and the timeless. We'll situate our studio in the crisis of power and empowerment destabilised by an era of both privilege and dispossession, economic and environmental precarity.

ARTISTBIO: Keith Hennessy

Keith Hennessy dances in and around performance. Born in Sudbury Canada, he lives in San Francisco since 1982 and tours internationally. His performances engage improvisation, ritual, collaboration, and protest as tools for investigating political realities. Practices inspired by anarchism, critical whiteness, post/Modern dance, activist art, the Bay Area, wicca, punk, contact improvisation, indigeneity, and queer-feminist performance motivate and mobilise Hennessy’s work. Keith’s 2016-17 collaborators include Peaches, Meg Stuart, Scott Wells, Jassem Hindi, J Jha, Annie Danger, Gerald Casel, and the collaboratives Blank Map and Turbulence. 2017 awards include the Guggenheim Fellowship and the Sui Generis award. Keith's writings have been published in Contact Quarterly, Movement Research Journal, Performance Research (UK), Society of Dance History Scholars Journal, and Dance Theatre Journal (UK). Hennessy directs Circo Zero and was a member of Contraband with Sara Shelton Mann. Hennessy is a co-founder of CounterPULSE (formerly 848 Community Space) a thriving performance space in San Francisco. He earned an MFA and PhD from UC Davis.

ARTISTBIO: Michael J. Morris

Michael J. Morris is a choreographer, performer, scholar, and a witch. They are a Visiting Assistant Professor at Denison University where they teach in the Department of Dance, Environmental Studies, Queer Studies, and Women’s and Gender Studies. Morris’ choreographic and performance work draws influences from early formalist postmodern dance, Japanese Butoh, queer burlesque, and Wiccan ritual, and has been presented at universities, galleries, community spaces, theatres, bars and nightclubs, films, domestic spaces, and most recently the Wexner Center for the Arts. They have also served as dramaturge for Available Light Theatre, Maree ReMalia|merrygogo, the Baker & Tarpaga Dance Project, and James Graham Dance Theatre. Their writing appears in The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Theater, TDR: The Drama Review, Choreographic Practices, Dance Chronicle, and the European Journal of Ecopsychology. They have presented research on eco-sexualities, post-human ethics, kinaesthetic kinship as a strategy for mitigating climate change, the pedagogical potential of feminist and queer pornography, and transgender histories and rhetorical strategies at international, national, and regional conferences. Morris holds a PhD in Dance Studies from The Ohio State University, and they completed their 200-hour Yoga Teacher Training at the Laughing Lotus Yoga Center in San Francisco.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© ImPulsTanz

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched here. MORE

impressions'15 © Karolina Miernik

FAQ

Do you have any questions? How to book a workshop? How can I buy tickets for the performances? Where can I get more information about the soçial programme?Where and when to find details on our website? Find answers to your questions on our FAQ page!

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 17.07.2019, 15:05 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2019/id3946/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

KEITH HENNESSY & MICHAEL J. MORRIS

ImPulsTanz Workshops 2017 © Emilia Milewska
ImPulsTanz Workshops 2017 © Emilia Milewska
ImPulsTanz Workshops 2017 © Emilia Milewska
© Robbie Sweeny
© Robbie Sweeny
© Kat Reynolds
© Megan Leigh Barnard
© Abby Koskinas

The Spiral of Fortune (7 of Birds)

Ein Labor für politische Zauberkraft

Eine Woche voller Tanz-Prophezeiungen, des Queer-Werdens, der Heilung von politischen Schäden und der kollaborativen Weltgestaltung, in der sich das Welten-Machen als post/dekoloniale Choreografie, Magie, Heilung, Aktivismus, Diskurs und Ritual manifestiert. Keith Hennessy und Michael Morris bieten ein einwöchiges Intensivlabor, eine politisierte Mysterienschule, in einem weitläufigen Bereich, in dem die Politik des Landes auf die Politik des Körpers trifft und Potential überall vorhanden ist. Tarot, falsche und echte Heilung, Todespraxis, gemeinsam und alleine Tanzen, Verhandeln von Unterschieden in einer fortlaufenden Studiopraxis aus gemeinsamem Spiel, Recherche und Performance. Wir machen Erfahrungen und kreieren Beziehungen in einer lebendigen Echtzeitkomposition, die in nichtlinearen Frequenzen mit der Vergangenheit, der Zukunft und dem Zeitlosen schwingt. Wir situieren unser Studio in die Krise von Macht und Handlungsfähigkeit, die durch eine Ära an Privilegien und Enteignung, wirtschaftlichen und ökologischen Prekaritäten destabilisiert wird.

Dieses politische Zauberkraft-Laboratorium ist eine poetische (Zauber) und praktische (Kraft) Beschäftigung mit Kunst und Ritual als Reaktion auf politische Schäden. In diesem Labor werden bestimmte Themen und Fragen zusammengefasst – einige explizit, andere intuitiv.

Die Tarot-Leserin Rachel Pollack interpretiert die Spirale des Glücks als ein Tor zum Durchbrechen alter Muster, der Veränderung, die befreit, um eine breitere Vision zu erlangen. Pollack interpretiert die 7 der Vögel als Aufruf zu guter Kommunikation und Verhandlung, zur Zusammenarbeit in Bezug auf Unterschiede und zur Nutzung der Stimme oder des Körpers, um Raum für Kultur, Gemeinschaft und Veränderung einzufordern.

ARTISTBIO: Keith Hennessy

Keith Hennessy tanzt in und um den Performance-Bereich. Geboren in Sudbury (CA) lebt er seit 1982 in San Francisco und tourt auf internationaler Ebene. Seine Performances befassen sich mit Improvisation, Ritual, Zusammenarbeit und Protest als Mittel für die Untersuchung von politischen Realitäten. Praktiken, die von Anarchismus, Critical Whiteness, post/modernen Tanz, aktivistischer Kunst, der Bay Area in Kalifornien, Wicca, Punk, Contact Improvisation, Indigenität, und queer-feministischer Performance inspiriert sind, sind die Motivation und der Motor in Keith Hennessys Arbeit. 2016/2017 arbeitete er mit Peaches, Meg Stuart, Scott Wells, Jassem Hindi, J Jha, Annie Danger, Gerald Casel und den Kollektiven Blank Map und Turbulence zusammen. 2017 erhielt er das Guggenheim Forschungsstipendium und den Sui Generis Preis. Keiths Publikationen wurden bei Contact Quarterly, Movement Research Journal, Performance Research (UK), Society of Dance History Scholars Journal und Dance Theatre Journal (UK) veröffentlicht. Hennessy leitet den Circo Zero und war Mitglied von Contraband mit Sara Shelton Mann. Hennessy ist Mitbegründer von CounterPULSE (ehemals 848 Community Space), ein blühender Performanceraum in San Francisco. Er erhielt einen MFA und ein PhD an der UC Davis.

ARTISTBIO: Michael J. Morris

Michael J. Morris choreografiert, performt, unterrichtet und ist Hexe. Michael ist Visiting Assistant Professor an der Denison University und unterrichtet in der Abteilung für Tanz, Umweltstudien, Queer Studies sowie Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung. Morris' choreografische und performative Arbeit hat Einflüsse aus dem frühen formalistischen postmodernen Tanz, dem japanischen Butoh, Queer Burlesque und dem Wiccan-Ritual und wurde an Universitäten, Galerien, Gemeinschaftsräumen, Theatern, Bars und Nachtclubs, Filmen, Wohnräumen und kürzlich im Wexner Center for the Arts präsentiert. Michael machte die Dramaturgie für Available Light Theatre, Maree ReMalia|merrygogo, das Baker & Tarpaga Dance Project und das James Graham Dance Theatre. Michaels Schriften erscheinen in The Oxford Handbook of Dance & Theatre, TDR: The Drama Review, Choreographic Practices, Dance Chronicle und dem European Journal of Ecopsychology. Michael präsentierte Forschungsergebnisse zu Öko-Sexualitäten, posthumaner Ethik, kinästhetischer Verwandtschaft als Strategie zur Abschwächung des Klimawandels, zum pädagogischen Potenzial femininer und queerer Pornografie sowie zu Transgendergeschichten und rhetorischen Strategien auf internationalen, nationalen und regionalen Konferenzen. Michael promovierte in Tanzstudien an der Ohio State University und absolvierte eine 200-stündige Yogalehrerausbildung im Laughing Lotus Yoga Center in San Francisco.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie hier. MORE

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 19.08.2019, 08:02 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2019/id3946/