You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

FREY FAUST

© Barbara Cali
ImPulsTanz Workshops 2017 © Emilia Milewska
ImPulsTanz Workshops 2017 © Emilia Milewska
ImPulsTanz Workshops 2017 © Emilia Milewska

Teach Us to Fish – The Axis Syllabus

Empowerment and communal energising

Focus on principle rather than form. Embrace our common uniqueness.
Consider, adapt, revise, review, integrate, practice.
Rather than a dance method or training approach, The Axis Syllabus is a repository of useful information concerning the use, preparation, treatment, structure, function, limitation and potential of the human body in motion.
Besides proposing motif and material that serve as focal points for the dancer’s ritual of finding collective purpose while allowing for individual variation, in this session I will provide personal and group counsel for skill level enhancement, injury avoidance, rehabilitation and management.

OTHER WORKSHOPS OF Frey Faust

Speechless – Axis Syllabus

Past-into-future slipstream, a near-silent journey

We string ideas and concepts along in a linear chain as we read or speak. This means that our understanding is shaped by an arbitrary hierarchy in the order of appearance, rather than what might be causal or pertinent to the quality or function of an action. This is true even when we describe events that are happening simultaneously. There are of course definite uses for this attribute, but it also imposes a fundamental, incontrovertible limit.
In this session I will introduce a basic working set from the symbolic language I have been developing over the past 20 years, the "Human Movement Alphabet (HMA)", which has evolved into an economical way to capture or express complex process or simultaneous events in a single character. The HMA character or symbol represents a nexus point that allows me to consider multiple departure points for arriving there, and multiple destinations or outcomes. I have found the HMA to be useful in dissolving the arbitrary value-attribution problem inherent in the verbal languages. In this session, I would like to avoid using the spoken language as much as possible, instead rely on sign, symbol and gesture to convey, outline, evaluate, practice and invent.
Come prepared to move more than to speak, armed with pen, paper or a tablet drawing app.

ARTISTBIO: Frey Faust

Born in 1960, Frey Faust began performing at the age of 8 with his family as a traveling troubadour. He is a second-generation contact improviser and an alumnus of the 80´s New York dance scene. Some of his more important early influences came from: Shekhinah Mountainwater, Nita Little, Pavel Rouba, Rene Bazinet, and Janet Panetta. He has worked with and for a number of artists (order of appearance): Ohad Naharin, Donald Byrd, David Parsons, Gina Buntz, Howard Katz, Merce Cunningham, Meredith Monk, Randy Warshaw, Bob Een, Stephen Petronio, Danny Ezralow... to name a few. He founded or co-founded three dance companies, and has created or co-created over 40 choreographic solo and group works. Following an independent study of anatomy, biomechanics, and physics, he has been able to build a pedagogical approach that has made him a sought after teacher, personal coach and technical counsellor. After fifteen years of research, he consolidated his findings in a book, "The Axis Syllabus – human movement lexicon", which he continues to edit with the help of the Axis Syllabus International Research Network. Founded in 2009, the ASIRN is a rapidly expanding group of experts from many related fields in the human movement and education sciences. Recently, his work on the AS has been focused on the provision of an online university for the study of the human body: The ASIRN Forum, as well as the construction of a symbol set with the potential to streamline movement documentation, creation and analysis, The Human Movement Alphabet. He also makes shoes, speaks four languages, and continues to create and perform dances.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

impressions'15 © Karolina Miernik

FAQ

Do you have any questions? How to book a workshop? How can I buy tickets for the performances? Where can I get more information about the soçial programme?Where and when to find details on our website? Find answers to your questions on our FAQ page!

© cin cin

Performance catalogue available for download

65 Productions in one small booklet:
All pieces and extras can be found here in the performance catalogue as a DOWNLOAD

Workshop catalogue available for download

Workshops for professionals, beginners, come-back dancers, enthusiasts: all workshops included in our new catalogue here as DOWNLOAD

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 18.07.2019, 13:28 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2019/id3879/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

FREY FAUST

© Barbara Cali
ImPulsTanz Workshops 2017 © Emilia Milewska
ImPulsTanz Workshops 2017 © Emilia Milewska
ImPulsTanz Workshops 2017 © Emilia Milewska

Teach Us to Fish – Axis Syllabus

Gemeinsames Sich-stark-fühlen und Energie aufladen

Der Fokus liegt auf Prinzipien und weniger auf der Form. Begrüßen wir unsere gemeinsame Einzigartigkeit.
In Erwägung ziehen, adaptieren, überarbeiten, umarbeiten, integrieren, ausüben.

Anstelle einer Tanzmethode oder einem Trainingsansatz, bietet Axis Syllabus ein Depot wertvoller Informationen zur Verwendung, Vorbereitung, Behandlung, Struktur, Funktion und den Grenzen sowie dem Potential des sich bewegenden Körpers.

Für das tänzerische Ritual, in dem sowohl kollektive Zwecke sowie deren individuelle Variationen nachgegangen werden, schlage ich vor, sich auf Motiv und Material zu konzentrieren. Weiters werde ich in dieser Session individuelle und Gruppenberatung für die Verbesserung von Fähigkeiten, Unfallprävention, Rehabilitierung und Management machen.

ANDERE WORKSHOPS VON Frey Faust

Speechless – Axis Syllabus

Der Wandel von Vergangenheit zur Zukunft, eine fast stille Reise

Beim Lesen oder Sprechen verknüpfen wir Ideen und Konzepte auf einer linearen Logik basierend. Das bedeutet, dass unser Verständnis von einer arbiträren Hierarchie, die der Reihenfolge des Erscheinens folgt, geprägt ist, und nicht etwas auf Grund von Kausalität oder der Qualität oder Funktion einer Handlung. Das ist wahr, auch wenn wir Gegebenheiten beschreiben, die zugleich passieren. Es gibt natürlich auch eindeutige Verwendungszwecke für dieses Attribut aber es geht einher mit einem fundamentalen, unumstößlichen Limit.

Zu Beginn dieses Workshops stelle ich das Grundvokabular meiner symbolischen Sprache vor. Diese Sprache, das „Human Movement Alphabet (HMA)“, entwickle ich schon seit 20 Jahren. In dieser Zeit verwandelte sie sich in eine ökonomische Art, komplexe Prozesse oder gleichzeitig stattfindende Geschehnisse in einem einzigen Zeichen darzustellen oder auszudrücken. Die Zeichen und Symbole des HMA stellen einen Knotenpunkt dar, von dem aus ich verschiedene Ausgangspunkte in Erwägung ziehe, um an diesen Punkt zu gelangen. Gleichzeitig bietet er alternative Destinationen oder Ausgänge. Das HMA kann man nützen, um das Problem der inhärenten Werte-Zuordnung in verbaler Sprache aufzulösen. In diesem Workshop würde ich gerne so gut wie möglich die Verwendung gesprochener Sprache verhindern und stattdessen Signale, Symbole und Gestik nutzen, um zu vermitteln, zu umschreiben, zu evaluieren, zu praktizieren und zu erfinden.
Sei bereit, dich mehr zu bewegen, als zu sprechen – gewappnet mit einem Stift, Papier oder einer Tablet-Zeichenapp.

ARTISTBIO: Frey Faust

Geboren 1960, begann Frey Faust schon mit 8 Jahren als reisender Troubadour mit seiner Familie aufzutreten. Er gehört der zweiten Generation von Kontaktimprovisationskünstlern an und hat starke Wurzeln in der New Yorker Tanzszene der 80er Jahre. Zu den wichtigsten frühen Inspirationsquellen zählen Shekinah Mountainwater, Nita Little, Pavel Rouba, Rene Baziner und Janet Panetta. Im Laufe der Jahre arbeitete er für und mit einer Vielzahl an Künstlern: Ohad Naharin, Donald Byrd, David Parsons, Gina Buntz, Howard Katz, Merce Cunningham, Meredith Monk, Randy Warshaw, Bob Een, Stephen Petronio, Danny Ezralow... u.v.m. Er gründete und mitbegründete drei verschiedene Compagnien und schaffte allein oder in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen über 40 choreografische Solo und Gruppentänze. Nach unabhängigem Studium der Anatomie, Biomechanik und Physik sammelte er sein Wissen in einem Buch, „The Axis Syllabus – human movement lexicon“, welches er weiterhin mit Hilfe des Axis Syllabus International Research Network weiterentwickelt. 2009 gegründet, ist das ASIRN eine schnell wachsende Gruppe an Experten aus verschiedenen verwandten Bereichen, die sich allesamt mit menschlicher Bewegung und Erziehungswissenschaften beschäftigen. Zuletzt widmete er sich in seiner Arbeit am AS der Erstellung einer Online-Universität, die das Studium des menschlichen Körpers ermöglichen sollte: das ASIRN Forum. Zudem kam auch die Entwicklung eines Symbolsets, unter dem Namen The Human Movement Alphabet, dass das Potential haben sollte, Bewegungsdokumentation, -kreation und -analsye zu vereinigen. Er näht auch Schuhe, spricht vier Sprachen und schafft und führt weiterhin Tänze auf.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© cin cin

Performance-Katalog zum Download

65 Produktionen in nur einem Büchlein: Alle Stücke und Extras finden Sie zum Stöbern in unserem neuen Katalog hier als
DOWNLOAD

Workshop-Katalog zum Download

Workshops für Profis, Neutänzer_innen, dauerhaft Begeisterte und Wiederauffrischer_innen: Alle Workshops finden Sie in unserem neuen Katalog hier als DOWNLOAD

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie hier. MORE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 20.06.2019, 09:34 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2019/id3879/