You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

MÅRTEN SPÅNGBERG

© Emmilou Rößling
© Emmilou Rößling

The Climate and The Atmosphere, Ecologies In Dance

For the coming two or so years I’m doing deep-diving into ecology, both concerning the environment, the planet and even global warming and in respect of dance and choreography, and perhaps even art in general. Ecology, in both senses, saving the world and in the sense of determinations of dance.

Dance has many ecologies and they are based on certain determinations of the world, the body, art, science, truth, materiality etc. They largely overlap with determinations of the world, society, communication, law etc.

Now, we can try to save the world by sorting waste and flying less, but we all know that "yeah, good but it will not change the course we have determined for the planet" – we most of all want to save us and the way we are. An alternative is that in order to save the world, we need to change what determines our relation to the world, nature, each other, art, suffering, exploitation, life etc. If we want to save the world with respect of the second, is it then not important to "try" to change what determines dance (and choreography). This workshop/research takes on the dual task of attempting to change the determinations of dance as a way of changing what determines "life" – as well as changing the ecologies of dance, not improving but changing.

Which is in a way what I have done with all my work for many years but now it is a workshop, so it is also a workshop exploring the creativities of Spångberg. It is also, implicitly, an interest in changing the ecology of workshop – teacher/student, speaking/listening, critique/germination etc. In other words, it is also a research into how we can spend time together learning.
 

OTHER WORKSHOPS OF Mårten SPÅNGBERG

Dancing the threshold of humankind

Close your eyes and you can see the dance

This workshop explores how dance opens up for alternative forms of subjectivity where individuality and identity dissolve in favour of flux, fluidity, ambiguity and super-imposition. Can dance be a place for the practice of forms of being that are not attached to models of identity based on language and representation? Is dance a dynamic where one can be oneself without being mediated, captured and named? Is dance a practice where we can see what we have in common, not only with other humans but also with other life forms and inanimate stuff? Is dance in itself one of those life forms, and if so what can we learn from dance – not about ourselves (awareness), not about dance (skill) but from dance given its own non-human agency.

This workshop explores how individuals and groups embody and exchange energy. We will keep an open mind about how energy is present, sensed, and a source in us: chakra and breathing exercises, next to bodywork and improvisation protocols, will open up for possibilities to engage in choreographic dynamics resonating of Mårten Spångberg's more recent works, addressing specific forms of inspiration, collaboration, presence, emotion, spirituality.

ARTISTBIO: Mårten SPÅNGBERG

Mårten Spångberg is a performance related artist living and working in Stockholm. His interests concern choreography in an expanded field, something that he has approached through experimental practices and creative process in multiplicity of formats and expressions. He has been active on stage as performer and creator since 1994, and since 1999 he has created his own choreographies from solos to larger scale works, which has toured internationally. He has collaborated with Xavier Le Roy, Christine De Smedt/Les Ballets C. de la B., Jan Ritsema and Krõõt Juurak a.o.
Mårten Spångberg initiated with the architect Tor Lindstrand the International Festival, an interdisciplinary practice merging architecture and choreography/performance.
From 1996 - 2005 Spångberg organised and curated festivals in Sweden and internationally and initiated the network organisation INPEX in 2006.
His experience in teaching both - theory and practice - is thorough. Mårten Spångberg was director of the MA programme in choreography at the University of Dance in Stockholm.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© ImPulsTanz

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched here. MORE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 18.08.2019, 17:26 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2019/id3840/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

MÅRTEN SPÅNGBERG

© Emmilou Rößling
© Emmilou Rößling

The Climate and The Atmosphere, Ecologies In Dance

In den nächsten zwei Jahren, mehr oder weniger, betreibe ich tiefgründige Forschung im Bereich der Ökologie, sowohl die Umwelt, den Planeten und Klimaerwärmung betreffend sowie hinsichtlich Tanz und Choreografie, und vielleicht sogar Kunst im Generellen. Es ist eine weltrettende Ökologie aber auch eine Ökologie, die sich den Bestimmungen des Tanzes anpasst.

Das Tanzen hat viele Ökologien, welche bestimmt werden durch Eigenschaften der Welt, des Körpers, der Kunst, Wissenschaft, Wahrheit, Materialiät usw. Diese überlappen mit den Bestimmungen der Welt, Gesellschaft, Kommunikation, des Rechts usw.

Nun können wir versuchen, die Welt zu retten, indem wir Müll trennen und weniger fliegen aber wir alle wissen, dass es „ja eh nicht die Zukunft der Erde, die wir ja selber bestimmen, verändern wird“ – wir wollen primär uns selbst und unsere Lebensweisen retten. Eine Alternative für die Weltrettung ist, dass wir das, was unsere Beziehung zur Welt, Natur, zu einander, zur Kunst, dem Leiden, der Ausnutzung, zum Leben usw. bestimmt, verändern. Wenn wir die Welt in Hinblick auf Letzteres retten wollen, ist es also nicht wichtig zu versuchen, das, was das Tanzen (und Choreografie) bestimmt, zu verändern? Dieser Workshop ist zugleich der Veränderung der Bestimmungen des Tanzes, um die Bestimmungen des ‘Lebens’ zu verändern, gewidmet, beschäftigt sich aber auch mit dem Auftrag, die Ökologie des Tanzes nicht zu verbessern, sondern zu verändern.

Dies habe ich eigentlich in all meiner Arbeit in den letzten Jahren gemacht, nun ist es aber in ein Workshopformat verpackt. Somit ist es also auch eine Entdeckung der Kreativität Spångbergs. Es ist zudem ein impliziter Versuch, die Ökologie des Workshops zu verändern – Dozent_in/Teilnehmer_in, Sprechen/Zuhören, Kritik/Verwirklichung etc. Anders gesagt ist es eine Erforschung der Art und Weisen, wie wir miteinander lernend Zeit verbringen können.

en Jahren gemacht, nun ist es aber im Workshopformat verpackt. Somit ist es also auch eine Entdeckung der Kreativität Spångbergs. Es ist auch ein implizierter Versuch, die Ökologie des Workshops zu verändern – Dozent_in/Teilnehmer_in, Sprechen/Zuhören, Kritik/Verwirklichung etc. Anders gesagt ist es eine Erforschung der Art und Weisen, wie wir miteinander lernend Zeit verbringen können.

ANDERE WORKSHOPS VON Mårten SPÅNGBERG

Dancing the threshold of humankind

Close your eyes and you can see the dance

Dieser Workshop geht der Frage nach, wie Tanz Raum für alternative Formen von Subjektivität schafft, wo sich Individualität und Identität auflösen zugunsten von Flux, Fluidität, Vieldeutigkeit und Überlagerung. Kann Tanz ein Ort für die Praxis von Arten des Seins sein, die nicht verbunden sind mit Identitätsformen basierend auf Sprache und Repräsentation? Ist Tanz eine Dynamik, wo man leben kann, ohne a priori vermittelt, erfasst und benannt zu werden? Bietet das Tanzen eine Möglichkeit, unsere Gemeinsamkeiten, nicht nur mit anderen Menschen aber auch anderen Lebensformen und Objekten zu entdecken? Ist Tanz selbst eine dieser Lebensformen und wenn ja, was können wir vom Tanzen lernen - nicht über uns selbst (Bewusstsein), nicht über Tanz (Fähigkeit) aber vom Tanzen selbst, da es uns befähigt ohne menschlicher Natur zu sein.

Dieser Workshop erforscht, wie Individuen und Gruppen Energie verkörpern und austauschen. Aufgeschlossen werden wir darüber reflektieren, wie Energie präsent ist, zu spüren ist und eine Quelle in uns ist: Chakra und Atemübungen, neben Körperarbeit und Improvisationsprotokollen, ermöglichen uns, den choreografischen Dynamiken, die Mårten Spångbergs zuletzt geschaffenen Werke prägen, auf die Spur zu gehen und spezifische Formen von Inspiration, Zusammenarbeit, Präsenz, Emotion und Spiritualität anzusprechen.

ARTISTBIO: Mårten SPÅNGBERG

Mårten Spångberg ist ein performancenaher Künstler, der in Stockholm lebt und arbeitet. Sein Interesse gilt der Choreografie im weitesten Sinn, die er durch experimentelle Praxis und kreative Prozesse an einer Vielzahl von Formaten erprobt hat. Er ist seit 1994 als Performer und Performanceschaffender tätig, und schafft seit 1999 Solos bis hin zu Arbeiten im großen Rahmen, die international zu sehen sind. Er arbeitete u.a. mit Xavier Le Roy, Christine De Smedt/Les Ballets C. de la B., Jan Ritsema und Krõõt Juurak.
Mit dem Architekten Tor Lindstrand gründete er das „International Festival“, eine interdisziplinäre Kollaboration, die Architektur und Choreografie/Performance zusammenbringt.
Zwischen 1996 und 2005 organisierte und kuratierte er Festivals in Schweden und international. 2006 gründete er INPEX eine Organisation für die Vernetzung von Künstler_innen. Mårten Spångberg ist ein erfahrener Dozent im Bereich der Praxis wie auch der Theorie. Er leitete den Master-Studiengang für Choreografie an der Universität für Tanz in Stockholm.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie hier. MORE

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 22.08.2019, 15:40 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2019/id3840/