You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

SIMON MAYER

Franzi Kreis
© Franzi Kreis

FolkTranceParty

FolkTranceParty – some 10 hours of dancing, making music and communicating, and not even noticing how late it gets. A ritual in constant renewal through the input of the involved artists, but also every joining visitor. Simon Mayer / Kopf hoch work for FolkTranceParty with movers, sound producers, light influencers and psychologically gifted human beings, and look forward to all those who want to test their dances and their sounds for sustainability over an intensive weekend. And with luck, start a new artistic and transformative journey, in which we will find folk dance and folk music as well as the ecstatic Body. Let’s celebrate and explore the transformative power of party!

Please note: the workshop takes place on Sat 04 August 13:00–18:00 and on Sun 05 August 12:00–17:00!

Kopf hoch is a company founded by Simon Mayer who, in addition to working on his new productions, attempts to actively support the Viennese and Austrian scene. Simon plays several instruments and developed through collaborations with composers and teachers like Thierry De Mey a passion for noise, experimental sounds and textures. He creates his own music for his stage productions.

ARTISTBIO: Simon Mayer

Simon Mayer is a performer, choreographer and musician, was born in Austria in 1984 and studied at the Vienna State Opera Ballet School, at the Performing Arts - Research Studios in Brussels (P.A.R.T.S.) and was a member of the Vienna State Opera Ballet. 2009 he founded his band "Rising halfmoon" as singer, songwriter and guitarist. Simon worked a.o. for Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker ("The Song"), Wim Vandekeybus ("Frisking") and Zita Swoon. He choreographed several solos, duos and group pieces, which are internationally presented ("o feather of lead”, “dancing with the soundhobbyist/zita swoon", "kopf hoch", "monkeymind", "SunBengSitting" etc.). Simon was artist in residency at Theatre de L’L in Brussels and together with his association m-arts he organises the international art festival SPIEL.

Simon grew up on a farm in Upper Austria. Folk dance and folk music are part of his background, and at the moment also the central theme in his artistic career. Both his last piece "SunBengSitting" and his latest choreography "Sons of Sissy" deal with folk art a.o. As a guest lecturer, he taught contemporary dance and folk dance at the Conservatory Vienna and at various festivals (ImPulsTanz, Nueva Verta Festival Kuopio, Games Festival, etc.).
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

A FUTURE ARCHEAOLOGY 2014 © BETTINA VISMANN

Home wanted!

Are you looking for a cosy place to stay during your ImPulsTanz summer? OR: You don't want your Viennese apartment to grow lonely and rather introduce our workshop participants to the Viennese art of living? Some useful information HERE

danceWEB Brunch 2015 © Karolina Miernik

Skip through our festival impressions as of 2005 HERE

Workshop Daybee Dorzile 2017 © Karolina Miernik

urbanative . Festival of Urban Arts Vienna 2018

Since 2017 ImPulsTanz offers a focus on Urban Arts initiated by Markus Eggensperger and Storm and featuring many events and the urbanative package. Take a look!  MORE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 18.06.2018, 04:16 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/workshops/2018/id3745/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

SIMON MAYER

Franzi Kreis
© Franzi Kreis

FolkTranceParty

FolkTranceParty – das sind im Endeffekt 10 Stunden lang tanzen und musizieren und kommunizieren und es nicht einmal merken, dass es schon so spät ist. Ein Ritual, das sich ständig selbst erneuert, durch Inputs der Künstler_innen, aber auch mit jeder weiteren Besucherin und jedem weiteren Besucher. Simon Mayer/Kopf hoch arbeiten dementsprechend für FolkTranceParty mit Beweger_innen, Klangerzeuger_innen, Lichtbeeinflusser_innen und auch psychologisch begabten Menschenwesen und freut sich auf alle, die ein intensives Wochenende lang ihre Tänze und ihre Klänge auf Nachhaltigkeit austesten wollen. Und damit vielleicht eine neue künstlerische und transformative Reise überhaupt erst beginnen, bei der wir Folkdance und Folkmusic sowie den Ecstatic Body finden werden. Lasst uns die transformative Power der Party zelebrieren und recherchieren.

Achtung! Der Workshop findet am Sa 04. August 13:00–18:00 und am So 05. August 12:00–17:00 statt!

Kopf hoch ist ein von Simon Mayer ins Leben gerufener Verein, der neben der Arbeit an neuen Produktionen versucht, die Szene in Wien und Österreich aktiv mitzugestalten. Simon selbst spielt mehrere Instrumente und entwickelte durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Komponisten_innen und Lehrer_innen wie Thierry De Mey seine Liebe zu Geräuschen, experimentellen Sounds und Strukturen. Simon kreiert selbst die Musik zu seinen Bühnenstücken.

ARTISTBIO: Simon Mayer

Simon Mayer ist Performer, Tänzer, Choreograf und Musiker, wurde 1984 in Österreich geboren und studierte an der Wiener Staatsopernballettschule, den Performing Arts - Research & Training Studios (P.A.R.T.S.) in Brüssel und war Mitglied des Wiener Staatsopernballetts. 2009 gründete Simon als Sänger, Gitarrist und Songwriter seine Band „Rising halfmoon“. Als Tänzer/Choreograf und Musiker war er u.a. in Produktionen von Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker/ROSAS („The Song“), Wim Vandekeybus („Frisking“) und Zita Swoon zu sehen. Sein choreografisches Repertoire beinhaltet Solos, Duos und Gruppenstücke, die international aufgeführt werden („o feather of lead“, „dancing with the soundhobbyist/zita swoon“, „kopf hoch“, „monkeymind“, SunBengSitting“ etc.). Simon war Artist in Residence bei Theatre de L’L in Brüssel und ist künstlerischer Leiter des Festivals SPIEL, welches er zusammen mit seinen Brüdern und dem Verein m-arts ins Leben gerufen hat.

Simon wuchs auf einem Bauernhof in Oberösterreich auf. Volkstanz und Volksmusik sind Teil seines Backgrounds und im Moment auch Mittelpunkt seines künstlerischen Schaffens. Sowohl sein letztes Stück „SunBengSitting“ als auch seine neueste Choreografie „Sons of Sissy" setzen sich mit dem Thema Volkskunst auseinander. Als Gastdozent unterrichtet er zeitgenössischen Tanz und Volktanz am KONS Wien und bei diversen Festivals (ImPulsTanz, Nueva Verta Festival Kuopio, Spielfestival, etc.).
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

danceWEB Brunch 2015 © Karolina Miernik

Festivalimpressionen ab 2005 gibt es HIER

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie hier. MORE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 21.07.2018, 22:44 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/workshops/2018/id3745/