Sri Louise (US)
After the Gold Rush – Yoga, Country Line Dancing, and the Chorus Line reinterpret Spaghetti Western

© Maximilian Pramatraov

Open Level
16–23 August 2024
Artis Umbria, Italy

Pack your cowboy hat, cowboy boots, western belt, leotard and tights in your favourite colour and get ready to dive into the spaghetti western film genre. After the Gold Rush is a post-apocalyptic spaghetti western with country line dancing. That’s right, a film is being made here!

This retreat is dedicated to the collective alchemy of transforming everyday life into art and emphasises the diverse sources of inspiration of the spaghetti western genre. The day begins with a daily yoga session and country line dancing to anchor participants in their bodies and ground them in this experimental process. After that, it’s all about allowing spontaneity and utilising the opportunities that arise: organising a night shoot at the local train station, singing with piano, ukulele or a cappella, visiting a summer village fest to line dance together, making a spaghetti western movie night and discussing the queer-feminist possibilities of the genre – this and more could become part of our artistic Do-It-Yourself collaboration.

It’s about the possibility of creating a multi-layered experience based on the individual desires and passions of the participants. No previous experience in film, performance or movement is required.

Cowboy hat and boots advised. Always bring comfortable sneakers!

Sri Louise

© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 24.04.2024, 12:09 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/retreats/aid1791/

Sri Louise (US)
After the Gold Rush – Yoga, Country Line Dancing, and the Chorus Line reinterpret Spaghetti Western

© Maximilian Pramatraov

Open Level
16.–23. August 2024
Artis Umbria, Italy

Cowboyhut, Cowboystiefel, Westerngürtel, Leotard und Strumpfhose in der Lieblingsfarbe eingepackt und bereit zum Abzutauchen in das Filmgenre des Spaghetti-Western. After the Gold Rush ist ein post-apokalyptischer Spaghetti-Western mit Country Line Dancing. Richtig gelesen, hier wird ein Film gedreht!

Dieses Retreat widmet sich der kollektiven Alchemie, bei der der Alltag in Kunst transformiert wird, und betont die vielfältigen Inspirationsquellen des Spaghetti-Western-Genres. Der Tag beginnt mit einer Yoga-Einheit und Country Line Dancing, um die Teilnehmer*innen in ihrem Körper zu verankern und in diesem experimentellen Prozess zu erden. Danach gilt es vor allem auch Spontaneität zuzulassen und sich auftuende Möglichkeiten zu nutzen: am örtlichen Bahnhof zu drehen, von einer Ukulele begleitet oder A cappella zu singen, ein sommerliches Dorffest zu besuchen, um gemeinsam Line Dance zu tanzen, einen Spaghetti-Western-Filmabend zu veranstalten und die queer-feministischen Möglichkeiten des Genres zu diskutieren – das und mehr könnte Teil unserer künstlerischen Do-It-Yourself-Kollaboration werden.

Es geht um die Möglichkeit zur Schaffung einer vielschichtigen Erfahrung, die auf den individuellen Wünschen und Leidenschaften der Teilnehmer*innen basiert. Es sind keine Vorkenntnisse im Bereich Film, Performance oder Bewegung erforderlich.

Cowboyhut und Stiefel sind empfohlen. Bringt immer bequeme Sneakers mit!

Sri Louise

© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 03.03.2024, 11:16 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/retreats/aid1791/