Research 2023

Research 2023

© Françoise Robert

Michael Helland & Daniel Linehan
Tending and Tuning

© Françoise Robert
Field Project
Week 2, 17.7.–21.7.2023
10:00–16:00 / +Doz
VOP 2

Tending: taking care of our own bodies and others. Tuning: finding diverse kinds of commonness with others and noticing the vibrancy of the places we inhabit. Can we reach a state in which “dancing” and “giving attention” mean the same thing?

For Tending and Tuning, Linehan and Helland draw upon more than 15 years of shared performance experience, reflecting and elaborating upon diverse dance scores and physical practices. Favourite pre-performance rituals become a playground for cultivating both subtle and robust forms of attention and engagement with ourselves and our surroundings, as we connect with our immediate environment to inspire new ways of moving and being. From theatre to gallery and beyond, we explore performance as a hybrid medium to discover the edges of bodily consciousness, shared physical presence, and sense of place – this place where we are right here and right now. We return to the fundamentals of the body in motion: breath, circularity, vibration, and touch.  With an eye on longevity and vitality, we work to embody radical resiliency through creative caretaking and otherworldly movement-based adventures.

In this field project we work together to form an ecology of co-created rituals, performing site-sensitive interventions as offerings for the surrounding urban and natural landscapes.  Inspired by aspects of vital materialism and guided by principles of active listening, we hold space for collective enchantment and conscious living.  Suitable for established and aspiring dance professionals and amateurs alike, let’s tune in and turn up!

Research Projects require an application.
APPLY NOW via email

Michael HellandDaniel Linehan
© Françoise Robert
© Hans Ruebns
© Hans
© Hans Ruebns
© Hans Ruebns
© Françoise Robert
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 03.03.2024, 11:23 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/research/pid4851/

Research 2023

Research 2023

© Françoise Robert

Michael Helland & Daniel Linehan
Tending and Tuning

© Françoise Robert
Field Project
Week 2, 17.7.–21.7.2023
10:00–16:00 / +Doz
VOP 2

Tending: Achtsamer Umgang mit dem eigenen Körper und dem Körper anderer. Tuning: Verschiedene Gemeinsamkeiten mit anderen erkennen und die Lebendigkeit der Orte, an denen wir leben, entdecken. Können wir einen Zustand erreichen, in dem „Tanzen“ mit „Aufmerksamkeit schenken“ gleichzusetzen ist?

Für Tending and Tuning greifen Linehan und Helland auf über 15 Jahre gemeinsamer Performance-Erfahrung zurück. Dabei werden verschiedene Tanzpartituren und Körperpraktiken reflektiert und weiterentwickelt. Lieblingsrituale vor der Aufführung werden zu einem Spielplatz für das Pflegen von subtilen, aber auch nachdrücklichen Formen der Aufmerksamkeit und Beschäftigung mit uns selbst und unserem Umfeld, indem wir mit unserer unmittelbaren Umgebung in Verbindung treten, um neue Arten des Bewegens und Seins zu anzuregen. Vom Theater bis zur Galerie und darüber hinaus erforschen wir die Performance als hybrides Medium, mit dem wir die Grenzen des Körperbewusstseins, der gemeinsamen physischen Präsenz und einem Gefühl für den Ort, an dem wir genau hier und genau jetzt sind, entdecken können. Wir kehren zu den Grundlagen des Körpers in Bewegung zurück: Atem, Kreislauf, Schwingung und Berührung. Mit Blick auf ein langes und vitales Leben arbeiten wir daran, radikale Widerstandsfähigkeit durch kreative Achtsamkeit und bewegungsbasierte Abenteuer aus einer anderen Welt zu verkörpern.

In diesem Field Project arbeiten wir zusammen daran, eine Ökologie von gemeinsam konzipierten Ritualen zu entwickeln, indem wir ortsbezogene Interventionen als Darbietungen für die umliegenden Stadt- und Naturlandschaften realisieren. Wir lassen uns von Aspekten des vitalen Materialismus inspirieren und von Prinzipien des aktiven Zuhörens leiten, um Raum für kollektive Verzauberung und ein bewusstes Leben zu bieten. Sowohl für etablierte als auch für aufstrebende Tanzschaffende und Amateur*innen geeignet – let’s tune in and turn up!

Für Research Projects ist eine Bewerbung erforderlich.
BEWERBUNG per Email

Michael HellandDaniel Linehan
© Françoise Robert
© Hans Ruebns
© Hans
© Hans Ruebns
© Hans Ruebns
© Françoise Robert
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 14.04.2024, 03:04 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/research/pid4851/