Ulduz Ahmadzadeh
TARAB – the door to enchanted sensuality

© Kaveh Golestan
Field Project
25.7.–29.7.
10:00–16:00
Volksoper Probebühne 2

TARAB the door to enchanted sensuality or How to deal with cultural heritage of other cultures AND with your own?

In Arab and Iranian culture TARAB happens when a body is gripped by the music and physical sensation is enhanced. This heightened moment, when the body and music unite, is the door to ecstasy and enchanted sensuality. To DANCE, to engage in this union, is exactly what is forbidden in some Islamic contexts. The ecstatic experience, when music turns to TARAB, is prohibited. Since the 6th millennium BC, people in the Iranian plateau have known healing rituals. They served to connect with cosmic forces, but also social matters such as celebrations, mourning and worship.

The religious ban on dancing grew and waned again over the years; after the Iranian Revolution of 1979, dancing was finally banned under penalty of law. The dance heritage of the Iranian plateau has therefore remained largely unexplored to this day. The cultural minorities were also colonised, and their subsequent orientalisation by the new conquerors led to another form of prohibition of existence.

Artistic research for this field will focus largely on unexplored and under-represented movement materials of Pre-Islamic, Middle Eastern cultural heritage following the process of alienation up to the present time and their dialogues with contemporary dance language asking how was TARAB embodied before prohibition?

In this week you will learn phrases of original movement materials from the Persian plateau. Then we will explore different possibilities of dealing with the original materials asking the following questions:

  • How are the original materials received and interpreted by bodies outside of original context?
  • How could original materials in a dialogue with contemporary dance language be interpreted and expanded?
  • What possibilities does the application of the dance material you have learned offer to the development of contemporary dance?
  • To what extent do certain repetitions of movement sequences and breathing techniques support the achievement of expanded states of consciousness, and what further effects do they have on the body and the choreography?

Another aspect of our research relates to music. Typical for the Middle east are Odd rhythmic patterns. We will be accompanied by an original musical score performed live, featuring the Tombak and Daf, as well as other percussion instruments indigenous to the region of the Iranian plateau.

The most common rhythms associated with percussion instruments and their numbers are 3, 5 (2+3), 7 (2+2+3), 9 (2+2+2+3), 11(2+3+2+2), 12 (3+3+2+2), 13 (2+2+3+2+2), 16 (3+3+3+2+2) or more (basic) pulses - that is, non-multiples of 2, as a priority in Western music.

In order of the music we will examine:

  • How do odd rhythmical patterns affect the (dancing) body, how can they influence contemporary movement language?
  • What possibilities do odd rhythms offer compositionally and choreographically?

Choreographic material will use a post-colonial lens to serve as a counterpoint to the widespread images of commercialised, sexualised and westernised versions of “Middle Eastern” dances.

On a theoretical level we will discuss about:

  • How are the artistic value and quality of these dances evaluated in contemporary art discourse?
  • How have colonialism and annexations influenced the dances?
  • How are the dances commercialised today and where did the tightrope walk start? To the benefit of whom?
  • How do the respective rulers in the countries of origin deal with the cultural heritage?
  • How far are the respective dances researched, how much material and in which form are they available?
Ulduz Ahmadzadeh
© Kaveh Golestan
© Kaveh Golestan
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Sasha Osaka
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 02.07.2022, 10:08 | Link: https://impulstanz.com/en/research/id4696/

Ulduz Ahmadzadeh
TARAB – the door to enchanted sensuality

© Kaveh Golestan
Field Project
25.7.–29.7.
10:00–16:00
Volksoper Probebühne 2

TARAB – die Tür zur verzauberten Sinnlichkeit oder Wie geht man mit dem kulturellen Erbe anderer Kulturen UND mit der eigenen um?

In der arabischen und iranischen Kultur geschieht TARAB, wenn der Körper von der Musik ergriffen und körperliche Wahrnehmung verstärkt wird. Dieser verstärkte Moment, in dem sich Körper und Musik vereinen, ist das Tor zu Ekstase und verzauberter Sinnlichkeit. Zu TANZEN, sich auf diese Vereinigung einzulassen, ist genau das, was in einigen islamischen Kontexten verboten ist. Die ekstatische Erfahrung, wenn Musik zu TARAB wird, ist verboten. Seit dem 6. Jahrtausend v. Chr. kennen die Menschen in der iranischen Hochebene Heilungsrituale. Sie dienten der Verbindung mit kosmischen Kräften, aber auch sozialen Belangen wie Feiern, Trauer und Anbetung.

Das religiöse Tanzverbot wurde im Laufe der Jahre immer wieder aufgehoben; nach der iranischen Revolution von 1979 wurde das Tanzen schließlich unter Strafandrohung verboten. Das tänzerische Erbe der iranischen Hochebene ist daher bis heute weitgehend unerforscht geblieben. Auch die kulturellen Minderheiten wurden kolonisiert, und ihre anschließende Orientalisierung durch die neuen Eroberer führte zu einer anderen Form des Existenzverbots.

Die künstlerische Auseinandersetzung in diesem Field Project wird sich weitgehend auf unerforschte und unterrepräsentierte Bewegungsmaterialien des vorislamischen, nahöstlichen Kulturerbes konzentrieren, die den Prozess der Entfremdung bis in die Gegenwart verfolgen und mit der zeitgenössischen Tanzsprache in Dialog treten: Wie wurde TARAB vor dem Verbot verkörpert?

In dieser Woche lernen die Teilnehmer*innen Phrasen aus originalem Bewegungsmaterial aus der persischen Hochebene kennen. Dann werden verschiedene Möglichkeiten des Umgangs mit den Originalmaterialien erkundet und folgende Fragen gestellt:

  • Wie werden die Originalmaterialien von Körpern außerhalb des ursprünglichen Kontextes rezipiert und interpretiert?
  • Wie könnten Originalmaterialien im Dialog mit der zeitgenössischen Tanzsprache interpretiert und erweitert werden?
  • Welche Möglichkeiten bietet die Anwendung des erlernten Tanzmaterials für die Entwicklung des zeitgenössischen Tanzes?
  • Inwieweit unterstützen bestimmte Wiederholungen von Bewegungsabläufen und Atemtechniken das Erreichen von erweiterten Bewusstseinszuständen und welche weiteren Auswirkungen haben sie auf den Körper und die Choreografie?

Ein weiterer Aspekt der Recherche bezieht sich auf die Musik. Typisch für den Nahen Osten sind ungerade rhythmische Muster. Wir werden von einer live gespielten Originalmusik begleitet, bei der Tombak und Daf sowie andere in der iranischen Hochebene beheimatete Perkussionsinstrumente zum Einsatz kommen.

Die häufigsten Rhythmen in Verbindung mit Schlaginstrumenten und ihren Zahlen sind 3, 5 (2+3), 7 (2+2+3), 9 (2+2+2+3), 11(2+3+2+2), 12 (3+3+2+2), 13 (2+2+3+2+2), 16 (3+3+3+2+2) oder mehr (Grund-)Impulse – also nicht Vielfache von 2, wie es in der westlichen Musik Priorität hat.

In der Abfolge der Musik wird untersucht:

  • Wie wirken ungerade rhythmische Muster auf den (tanzenden) Körper aus, wie können sie die zeitgenössische Bewegungssprache beeinflussen?
  • Welche Möglichkeiten bieten ungerade Rhythmen kompositorisch und choreografisch?

Das choreografische Material wird einen postkolonialen Blickwinkel einnehmen, um einen Kontrapunkt zu den weit verbreiteten Bildern von kommerzialisierten, sexualisierten und verwestlichten Versionen „nahöstlicher“ Tänze zu setzen.

Auf einer theoretischen Ebene wird folgendes diskutiert:

  • Wie werden der künstlerische Wert und die Qualität dieser Tänze im zeitgenössischen Kunstdiskurs bewertet?
  • Wie haben Kolonialismus und Annexionen die Tänze beeinflusst?
  • Wie werden die Tänze heute kommerzialisiert und wo hat die Gratwanderung begonnen? Und zu wessen Gunsten?
  • Wie gehen die jeweiligen Machthaber*innen in den Herkunftsländern mit dem kulturellen Erbe um?
  • Wie weit sind die jeweiligen Tänze erforscht, wie viel Material und in welcher Form liegt es vor?
Ulduz Ahmadzadeh
© Kaveh Golestan
© Kaveh Golestan
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Maximilian Pramatarov
© Sasha Osaka
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 26.05.2022, 14:08 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/research/id4696/