JUSTIN F. KENNEDY & EMMA W. HOWES

© Jeremy Shaw
© Jeremy Shaw
Scores For Daily Living © Valeriya Titova

CAMming: Collective Auto-Mythologising for the Camera

A Field Project for movers and filmmakers alike

The focus of this research project will be durational dance on film.

CAMming, or Collective Auto-Mythologising for the Camera, continues our line of research (see Wormhole through Your Brain + Alive… & then Some) about the experience and analysis of trance dance and its further translatability into live performance, or in this case into film. CAMming is a method of co-creation where the directorship is shared collectively, shifting continuously amidst its co-conspirators. Participants take turns witnessing and improvising in various altered states framed by movement, vocal- and/or imagination-based tasks, for sessions of up to 45min±1 hour at a time. Inspired by a process we have been developing over the years, called “deep observation of trance”, “myth-making” emerges after the physical exercises, when the participants exchange what they have experienced and observed without judgment or hierarchy. These findings lay the foundation for a communal dreaming, where characters, dance moves, gestures and other performative materials emerge. These materials are then synthesised into a score to be filmed and edited during the weekend intensive. It is an important intention in the practice to integrate these principles into the consciousness of the body — the auto comes when the practice is so deeply embodied that it becomes second nature or automatic. Principally, the CAM sessions encourage participants to dance into a state of metaphorical and egoic death, in order to shatter self-limiting beliefs. We get out of our own way to ready ourselves to channel this newly uncovered knowledge through the forms of music, dance, sound, and ultimately the eye of the camera. 

During the week, we will introduce and guide the participants in our working methodology, which is bookended by guided meditations and includes a rigorous physical and vocal warm-up in the morning and scoring and several CAMming sessions in the afternoon. Over the course of the week, we will assemble a tool-kit which will include but is not limited to: gimbal dancing/solar plex training, the gaze vs. the lense, cam-personing, chorus corralling, vernacular dancing, speaking in angel tongues, pissable sculptures, etc. During the intensive weekend, a filmmaker will join us to shoot a durational dance film loosely based on the themes: Anthropophagy, audacity, authority and conducting a flustered symphony. On the second day of the intensive, we will LIVE score the film together. Co-mythologising builds a future world of trust and reciprocity, which celebrates space for chasms, dissension, and disruptions to the status quo. The process is intended to surprise us with new frequencies and modalities that can only emerge from the instability of working in real-time and improvising together. 

ARTISTBIO: Justin F. Kennedy

Justin F. Kennedy aka JK (1983) is a Berlin-based dance/vocal artist, teacher and DJ originally from St. Croix, US Virgin Islands. With a playful and collaborative approach, their research evolves from experiences and analysis of trance dance and its further translatability into workshops, science fiction operas, durational dance installations and film. In 2006, they earned a BA in Dance and Ethnic Studies from Wesleyan University and in 2013, an MA in Choreography from HZT Berlin. Justin's notable projects of late include Some Murder Theatre in Here, Volksbühne Grüner Salon, Berlin (2020), UNFURL: a lucid sci-fi opera, BB11 (2020) and SPUR: a fashion western (Winter 2021). They have performed intimately with and for Emma Howes, Ligia Lewis, Louis Vuitton, Tino Sehgal, Adam Linder, Liz Kinoshita, Jeremy Shaw, Josh Johnson, BODYSNATCH, Faustin Linyekula, Jeremy Wade, Peaches, Wu Tsang amongst others.

ARTISTBIO: Emma W. Howes

Emma Waltraud Howes (1976) is a Berlin-based visual artist/dancer and choreographer originally from Toronto, ON, Canada. Through graphic scores for performance-installations, and sculptures as translations between movement and form, she oscillates between ‘soft head-banging’ and classical gestures of rhetoric to engage peripheral vision and embrace paradox. She holds a certificate in professional dance from Toronto Dance Theatre (1997); a BFA from Emily Carr Institute of Art and Design, Vancouver (2002); a joint MFA in Open Media from Concordia University, Montreal (2008) and The Bauhaus-Universität, Weimar (2009); and ran a martial arts school for ten years. Her most recent solo and collaborative productions include: UNFURL: a lucid science fiction, 11th Berlin Biennale, Martin Gropius Bau, Berlin (2020); Some Murder Theatre in Here, Volksbühne Grüner Salon, Berlin (2020); Scores for Daily Living, ZIL Cultural Centre, Moscow (2019). She has performed with and for: Joan Jonas, Georgia Sagri, Lundohl & Seitl, Jeremy Shaw, BODYSNATCH, kondition pluriel, amongst others; and facilitates lucid sci-fi labs in all things exubeRANT with her long-term co-conspirator Justin F. Kennedy.  

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Public Moves 2020 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

© Karolina Miernik

Workshop Locations

You want to know how to get to our Workshop Locations and Studios? More information here

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 12.05.2021, 06:53 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/research/2021/id4370/
NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTIONORDER PROGRAMME
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival

JUSTIN F. KENNEDY & EMMA W. HOWES

© Jeremy Shaw
© Jeremy Shaw
Scores For Daily Living © Valeriya Titova

CAMming: Collective Auto-Mythologising for the Camera

Ein Field Project für Bewegungskünstler*innen und Filmemacher*innen

Der Fokus dieses Field Projects liegt auf lang andauerndem Tanz auf Film.

CAMming, oder Collective Auto-Mythologising for the Camera, setzt unsere Forschungslinie (siehe Wormhole through Your Brain + Alive... & then Some) über die Erfahrung und Analyse von Trancetanz und dessen weitere Übersetzbarkeit in Live-Performance, oder in diesem Fall für Film, fort. CAMming ist eine Methode der Co­Kreation, bei der die Regie kollektiv aufgeteilt wird und ständig zwischen den Kompliz*innen wechselt.  Die Teilnehmer*innen erleben und improvisieren abwechselnd in verschiedenen veränderten Zuständen, begleitet von bewegungs-, stimm- und/oder imaginationsbasierten Aufgaben, für Sessions von jeweils bis zu 45min±1 Stunde. Inspiriert von einem Prozess, den wir im Laufe der Jahre entwickelt haben, genannt „deep observation of trance“, entsteht nach den Bewegungsübungen „Mythenbildung“, wenn die Teilnehmer*innen das Erlebte und Beobachtete ohne Wertung oder Hierarchie untereinander austauschen. Diese Erkenntnisse bilden die Grundlage für ein gemeinsames Träumen, bei dem Figuren, Tanzbewegungen, Gesten und andere performative Materialien entstehen. Das entstandene Material wird in einen Score gegossen, der während des Wochenendes gefilmt und geschnitten wird. Es ist eine wichtige Intention der Praxis, diese Prinzipien in das Bewusstsein des Körpers zu integrieren – das Automatische kommt, sobald die Praxis so tief verkörpert ist, dass sie zur Eigenschaft oder automatisiert wird. Grundsätzlich ermutigen die CAM-Sessions die Teilnehmer*innen, in einen Zustand des metaphorischen und egoischen Todes zu tanzen, um selbstbegrenzende Glaubenssätze zu zerschlagen. Wir gehen uns selbst aus dem Weg und bereiten uns darauf vor, dieses neu entdeckte Wissen durch Musik, Tanz, Klang und letztendlich durch das Auge der Kamera zu kanalisieren. 

Während der Woche werden wir die Teilnehmer*innen in unsere Arbeitsmethodik, die von Meditationen begleitet wird und ein rigoroses körperliches und stimmliches Aufwärmen am Morgen sowie Scoring und mehrere CAMming-Sessions am Nachmittag beinhaltet, einführen und anleiten. Im Laufe der Woche werden wir ein Tool-Kit zusammenstellen, das u.a. folgende Themen beinhaltet: Gimbal-Dancing/Solar-Plex-Training, der Blick vs. die Linse, Cam-Personing, Chorus Corralling, vernacular dancing, Sprechen in Engelszungen, pissable sculptures, etc. Während des Intensiv-Wochenendes wird ein Filmemacher zu uns stoßen, um einen Langzeit-Tanzfilm zu drehen, der lose auf den Themen Anthropophagie, Kühnheit, Autorität und das Dirigieren einer aufgeregten Sinfonie basiert. Am zweiten Tag des Wochenendes werden wir den Film gemeinsam LIVE vertonen. Das Co-Mythologisieren baut eine zukünftige Welt des Vertrauens und der Gegenseitigkeit auf, die Raum für Abgründe, Dissens und Störungen des Status Quo zelebriert. Der Prozess soll uns mit neuen Frequenzen und Modalitäten überraschen, die nur aus der Instabilität der Arbeit in Echtzeit und der gemeinsamen Improvisation entstehen können. 

ARTISTBIO: Justin F. Kennedy

Justin F. Kennedy aka JK (1983) lebt in Berlin und ist Tanz-/Gesangskünstler*in, unterrichtet und ist DJ, und stammt ursprünglich aus St. Croix, US Virgin Islands. Mit einem spielerischen und kollaborativen Ansatz entwickelt sich Justins Forschung aus Erfahrungen und Analysen des Trancetanzes und seiner weiteren Übersetzbarkeit zu Workshops, Science-Fiction-Opern, Dauertanzinstallationen und Film. 2006 erwarb Justin einen BA in Tanz und Ethnic Studies an der Wesleyan University und 2013 einen MA in Choreografie am HZT Berlin. Zu Justins bemerkenswerten Projekten der letzten Zeit gehören Some Murder Theatre in Here, Volksbühne Grüner Salon, Berlin (2020), UNFURL: a lucid sci-fi opera, BB11 (2020) und SPUR: a fashion western (Winter 2021). Justin arbeitete unter anderem mit und für Emma Howes, Ligia Lewis, Louis Vuitton, Tino Sehgal, Adam Linder, Liz Kinoshita, Jeremy Shaw, Josh Johnson, BODYSNATCH, Faustin Linyekula, Jeremy Wade, Peaches und Wu Tsang.

ARTISTBIO: Emma W. Howes

Emma Waltraud Howes (1976) ist eine Künstlerin/Choreografin und Performerin ursprünglich aus Toronto, Kanada. In ihrer Arbeit nützt sie grafische Scores für Performance-Installationen und Skulpturen als Übersetzungen von Bewegung und Form, oszilliert zwischen „sanftem Headbanging“ und klassischen rhetorischen Gesten und bezieht peripheres Sehen und das Paradoxe ein. Sie hat einen Abschluss in professionellem Tanz vom Toronto Dance Theatre (1997); einen BFA vom Emily Carr Institute of Art and Design, Vancouver (2002); und einen MFA in Open Media von der Concordia University, Montreal (2008) und der Bauhaus-Universität, Weimar (2009). Außerdem leitete sie zehn Jahre lang eine Martial Arts Schule. Zu ihren jüngsten Einzel- und Gemeinschaftsarbeiten gehören: UNFURL: a lucid science fiction, 11. Berlin Biennale, Martin Gropius Bau, Berlin (2020); Some Murder Theatre in Here, Volksbühne Grüner Salon, Berlin (2020); Scores for Daily Living, ZIL Cultural Centre, Moskau (2019). Sie performte mit und für: Joan Jonas, Georgia Sagri, Lundohl & Seitl, Jeremy Shaw, BODYSNATCH, u.a. Sie realisiert seit vielen Jahren gemeinsam mit Justin F. Kennedy luzide Sci-Fi-Labore in Sachen exubeRANT.

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Public Moves 2020 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak Previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events findest du HIER.

© Karolina Miernik

Workshop Locations

Du möchtest wissen, wie du zu unseren Workshop Locations und Studios kommst? Details dazu findest du hier

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals findest du HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 12.05.2021, 06:36 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/research/2021/id4370/
NEWSLETTER ABONNIERENPROGRAMM BESTELLEN
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival