JÉRÔME BEL

Jasper Kettner
© Jasper Kettner

New practices in choreography

This field project is intended for professional dancers residing in Vienna and surroundings. The participants will receive scores a few weeks before the project. They will have to work alone on the interpretation of these scores. During the week spent together, each interpretation will be analysed and discussed with the others. This new way of working involves questions about interpretation, transmission and sustainability.

ARTISTBIO: Jérôme Bel

In his early pieces (name given by the author, Jérôme Bel, Shirtology…), Jérôme Bel applied structuralist operations to dance in order to single out the primary elements from  theatrical spectacle. The neutralisation of  formal criteria and the distance he took from choreographic language led him to reduce his pieces to their operative minimum, the better to bring out a critical reading of the economy of the stage, and of the body on it.
His interest subsequently shifted from dance as a stage practice to the issue of the performer as a particular individual. The series of portraits of dancers (Véronique Doisneau, Cédric Andrieux, Isadora Duncan…) broaches dance through the narrative of those who practice it, emphasises words in a dance spectacle, and stresses the issue of the singularity of the stage. Here, formal and institutional criticism takes the form of a deconstruction through discourse, in a subversive gesture which radicalises its relation to choreography.
Through his use of biography, Jérôme  Bel politicises his questions, aware as he is of the crisis involving the subject in contemporary society and the forms its representation takes on stage. In embryonic form in The show must go on, he deals with questions about what the theatre can be in a political sense—questions which come to the fore from Disabled Theater and Gala on. In offering the stage to non-traditional performers (amateurs, people with physical and mental handicaps, children…), he shows a preference for the community of differences over the formatted group, and a desire to dance over choreography, and duly applies the methods of a process of emancipation through art.

He has been invited to contemporary art biennials and museums (Tate Modern, MoMA, Documenta 13, the Louvre…), where he has put on performances and shown films. Two of them, Véronique Doisneau and Shirtology, are in the collections of the Musée National d’Art Moderne-Centre Pompidou. Jérôme Bel  is regularly invited to give lectures at universities (Waseda, UCLA, Stanford…). In 2013, together with the choreographer Boris Charmatz, he co-authored Emails 2009-2010, which was published by Les Presses du Réel.
In 2005, Jérôme Bel received a Bessie Award for the performances of The show must go on given in New York. Three years later, with Pichet Klunchun, he won the Routes Princesse Margriet Award for Cultural Diversity (European Cultural Foundation) for the  performance  Pichet Klunchun and myself. Disabled Theater was chosen in 2013 for the Theatertreffen in Berlin and won the Swiss “present-day dance creation” prize.

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© Maja Preckel

Shop

Fashionable goodies of the last festivals are available HERE

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 05.07.2020, 09:52 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/research/2020/id4266/
NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTIONORDER PROGRAMME
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival

JÉRÔME BEL

Jasper Kettner
© Jasper Kettner

New practices in choreography

Dieses Field Project richtet sich an professionelle Tänzer*innen, die in Wien und Umgebung wohnen. Die Teilnehmer*innen erhalten einige Wochen vor dem Field Project Scores. Anschließend werden sie alleine an eigenen Interpretationen der Partitur arbeiten. Während der gemeinsamen Woche wird jede Interpretation mit den anderen Teilnehmer*innen analysiert und diskutiert. Diese neue Arbeitsweise beinhaltet Fragen über Interpretation, Übertragung und Nachhaltigkeit.

ARTISTBIO: Jérôme Bel

In seinen frühen Stücken (name given by the author, Jérôme Bel, Shirtology, etc.) wandte Jérôme Bel strukturalistische Vorgänge im Tanz an, um die primären Elemente des theatralen Spektakels herauszuarbeiten. Die Neutralisierung der formalen Kriterien und die Distanz zur choreografischen Sprache führten ihn dazu, seine Stücke auf das operative Minimum zu reduzieren, um so besser eine kritische Lesart der Ökonomie der Bühne und des Körpers auf der Bühne hervorzubringen.
Sein Interesse verlagerte sich in der Folge von der Tanzpraxis auf die Frage nach dem*r Performer*in als Individuum. Die Serie von Porträts von Tänzer*innen (Véronique Doisneau, Cédric Andrieux, Isadora Duncan, etc.) thematisiert den Tanz durch die Erzählung derer, die ihn praktizieren, betont Worte in einem Tanzspektakel und betont die Frage der Einzigartigkeit von Bühne. Die formale und institutionelle Kritik nimmt hier die Form einer Dekonstruktion durch den Diskurs an, in einer subversiven Geste, die ihr Verhältnis zur Choreografie radikalisiert.

Jérôme Bel politisiert seine Fragen mithilfe von Biografie, da er sich der Krise des Subjekts in der heutigen Gesellschaft und seiner Darstellungsformen auf der Bühne bewusst ist. In The show must go on beschäftigt er sich in embryonaler Form mit der Frage, was Theater im politischen Sinne sein kann – Fragen, die bei Disabled Theater und bei Gala in den Vordergrund rücken. Indem er die Bühne für nicht-traditionelle Darsteller*innen (Amateur*innen, Menschen mit körperlichen und geistigen Behinderungen, Kinder, etc.) öffnet, zeigt er eine Vorliebe für die Gemeinschaft der Unterschiede gegenüber der formatierten Gruppe sowie den Wunsch zu tanzen statt zu choreografieren und wendet die Methoden eines Emanzipationsprozesses durch die Kunst gebührend an.

Er wurde zu Biennalen und Museen für zeitgenössische Kunst eingeladen (Tate Modern, MoMA, Documenta 13, Louvre, etc.), wo er Performances und Filme zeigte. Zwei von ihnen, Véronique Doisneau und Shirtology, befinden sich in den Sammlungen des Musée National d'Art Moderne-Centre Pompidou. Jérôme Bel wird regelmäßig zu Vorträgen an Universitäten (Waseda, UCLA, Stanford, etc.) eingeladen. Im Jahr 2013 verfasste er gemeinsam mit dem Choreografen Boris Charmatz die Emails 2009-2010, die bei Les Presses du Réel erschienen sind.
Im Jahr 2005 erhielt Jérôme Bel einen Bessie-Preis für die Performances von The show must go on in New York. Drei Jahre später gewann er zusammen mit Pichet Klunchun den Routes Princesse Margriet Award for Cultural Diversity (Europäische Kulturstiftung) für die Performance Pichet Klunchun and myself. Disabled Theater wurde 2013 für das Theatertreffen in Berlin ausgewählt und gewann den Schweizer Preis für "zeitgenössisches Tanzschaffen".

 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak Previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events findest du HIER.

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals findest du HIER

© Maja Preckel

Shop

Fesche Goodies der letzten Festival-Ausgaben ab jetzt HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 01.06.2020, 17:49 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/research/2020/id4266/
NEWSLETTER ABONNIERENPROGRAMM BESTELLEN
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival