You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

GUILLERMO GÓMEZ-PEÑA & BALITRONICA GÓMEZ (LA POCHA NOSTRA)

© Zen Cohen 2014
© Zen Cohen 2014

Exercises for Rebel Artists

This Field Project is booked! we are sorry, that we can not accept any more applications!

Guillermo Gómez-Peña will perform on 11July at 21:00 at the Atelierhaus of the Academy of Fine Arts in the frame of the exhibition Field Within.

Since 1993, Gómez-Peña and members of the Pocha Nostra performance troupe have conducted cross-cultural/cross-disciplinary/cross-generational workshops involving performance artists, actors, dancers and students from diverse ethnic communities, generations and artistic backgrounds.

The objectives of this educational project are:

● To feed / stretch emerging artists and inquisitive students, helping them to sharpen and develop their performance and analytical skills in dialogue with like-minded cultural radicals.

● To create temporary communities of rebel artists from different disciplines, ages, ethnic backgrounds, gender persuasions, and nationalities, in which difference and experimentation are not only accepted but encouraged

● To develop new models for relationships between artists and communities, mentor and apprentice, which are neither colonial nor condescending.

● To find new modes of relating laterally to the ‘other' in a less-mediated way, bypassing the myriad borders imposed by our professional institutions, our religious and political beliefs, and pop-cultural affiliations. To experience this, even if only for the duration of the workshop, can have a profound impact in the participant’s future practice.

● To discover new ways of relating to our own bodies.  By decolonizing and then re-politicizing our bodies, they can become sites for activism and embodied theory; for memory and reinvention; for pleasure and penance.

● To raise crucial questions: Why do we do what we do? Which borders do we wish to cross and why? Which are the hardest borders to cross both in the workshop and in our personal lives? How do we define our multiple communities, and why do we belong to them? What is the relationship between performance, activism, pedagogy and our everyday lives? What about the relationship between the physical body and the social body?

● To seek a new hybrid and interdisciplinary aesthetic, reflective of the spirit and tribulations of our times, and of the concerns of each participant.

● To empower participants as individuals to become civic-minded artists.

● To make performance art pertinent to a new generation of potential activist-artists. They may eventually have to save us from the very monsters and pitfalls that we, their arrogant forefathers, have either created or allowed to happen.

A project in cooperation with the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna.

ARTISTBIO: Guilllermo Gómez-Peña

Guillermo Gómez-Peña (US/Mexico) is a performance artist, writer, activist, radical pedagogue and director of the legendary performance troupe La Pocha Nostra. Born in Mexico City, he moved to the US in 1978. His performance work and 12 books have contributed to the debates on cultural and gender diversity, border culture and US/Mexico relations. His artwork has been presented at over a thousand venues across the US, Canada, Latin America, Europe, Russia, South Africa and Australia. A MacArthur Fellow, Bessie and American Book Award winner, he is a regular contributor for newspapers and magazines in the US, Mexico, and Europe, a contributing editor to The Drama Review (NYU/MIT) and the Live Art Almanac (Live Art Development Agency-UK). Gómez-Peña is also a Senior Fellow in the Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics and a Patron for the London-based Live Art Development Agency. He was named Samuel Hoi Fellow by USA Artists in 2012 and received a Eureka Fellowship from the Fleishhacker Foundation in 2013. He is currently preparing two new books for Routledge (2019) and a documentary portrait of his beloved troupe, La Pocha Nostra.

ARTISTBIO: Balitronica Gómez

Balitronica Gomez (USA/Mexico) is a poet, performance artist, and radical pedagogue currently living between San Francisco, Mexico City, and The Road. Born on the US/Mexico border of San Diego/Tijuana in the 1980s, she holds a BA in Literature from San Diego State University and an MFA in Performance Poetry from Mills College. Her performance work has been largely influenced by her time spent living in a 17th Century Catholic Convent in Paris where she lived with a Dominican Order of Nuns. She has been touring internationally with Guillermo Gómez-Peña since 2013 and is a Core Member of his legendary performance troupe La Pocha Nostra.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched here. MORE

impressions'15 © Karolina Miernik

FAQ

Do you have any questions? How to book a workshop? How can I buy tickets for the performances? Where can I get more information about the soçial programme?Where and when to find details on our website? Find answers to your questions on our FAQ page!

Workshop catalogue available for download

Workshops for professionals, beginners, come-back dancers, enthusiasts: all workshops included in our new catalogue here as DOWNLOAD

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 18.07.2019, 13:28 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/research/2019/id4047/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

GUILLERMO GÓMEZ-PEÑA & BALITRONICA GÓMEZ (LA POCHA NOSTRA)

© Zen Cohen 2014
© Zen Cohen 2014

Exercises for Rebel Artists

Dieses Field Project ist bereits ausgebucht! Leider können wir daher keine Bewerbungen mehr entgegennehmen!

Am 11. Juli um 21:00 findet im Atelierhaus der Akademie der bildenden Künste eine Performance von Guillermo Gómez-Peña im Rahmen der Austellung Field Within statt.

Seit 1993 halten Gómez-Peña und Mitglieder der Performancegruppe Pocha Nostra interkulturelle/interdisziplinäre/generationenübergreifende Workshops mit Performancekünstler_innen, Schauspieler_innen, Tänzer_innen und Schüler_innen unterschiedlicher Altersgruppen mit verschiedenen ethnischen und künstlerischen Hintergründen.

Ziele dieses Lernprojekts sind:

● Aufstrebende Künstler_innen und neugierige Student_innen zu fördern und ihren Horizont zu erweitern, ihnen dabei zu helfen, ihre Performance-Skills und analytischen Fähigkeiten im Dialog mit gleichgesinnten kulturellen Radikalen auszubauen und weiterzuentwickeln.

● Vorübergehende Gemeinschaften rebellischer Künstler_innen unterschiedlicher Altersgruppen, ethnischer Herkünfte, Genderidentitäten und Nationalitäten aus diversen Disziplinen zu bilden, in denen Verschiedenartigkeiten und Experimente nicht nur akzeptiert, sondern gefördert werden.

● Neue Modelle für Beziehungen zwischen Künstler_innen und Gemeinschaften, Mentor_innen und Lernenden auszuarbeiten, die weder kolonial noch herablassend sind.

● Neue Wege zu finden, um unmittelbarer und auf Augenhöhe mit dem „Anderen“ in Beziehung zu treten, und dabei die unzähligen Beschränkungen zu umgehen, die unsere professionellen Institutionen, unsere religiösen wie politischen Überzeugungen und popkulturellen Zugehörigkeiten uns auferlegen. Diese Erfahrung, wenn auch nur für die Dauer des Workshops, kann eine nachhaltige Wirkung auf die zukünftige Praxis der Teilnehmenden haben.

● Neue Formen der Beziehung zu unserem eigenen Körper zu finden. Indem wir unsere Körper dekolonisieren und dann neu politisieren, können sie zu Schauplätzen für Aktivismus und verkörperte Theorie werden; für Erinnerung und Neuerfindung; für Vergnügen und Schuldbewusstsein.

● Wichtige Fragen zu stellen: Warum tun wir, was wir tun? Welche Grenzen wollen wir überschreiten und warum? Welche Grenzen sind am schwierigsten zu überschreiten, sowohl im Workshop als auch im eigenen Leben? Wie definieren wir unsere vielfachen Gemeinschaften und warum gehören wir ihnen an? In welcher Beziehung stehen Performance, Aktivismus, Pädagogik und unser Leben im Alltag? Welche Beziehung besteht zwischen dem physischen Körper und dem sozialen Körper?

● Nach einer neuen hybriden und interdisziplinären Ästhetik zu suchen, die den Geist und das Leiden unserer Zeit und die Anliegen aller Teilnehmenden widerspiegelt.

● Die Teilnehmer_innen als Individuen dabei zu unterstützen, sozial engagierte Künstler_innen zu werden.

● Performancekunst für eine neue Generation potenziell aktivistischer Künstler_innen relevant zu machen. Wahrscheinlich werden sie uns irgendwann vor den Monstern und Gefahren retten müssen, die wir, ihre arroganten Vorfahren, geschaffen bzw. zugelassen haben.

Ein Projekt in Kooperation mit der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien.

ARTISTBIO: Guilllermo Gómez-Peña

Guillermo Gómez-Peña (US/MX) ist ein Performance-Künstler, Autor, Aktivist, radikaler Pädagoge und Regisseur der legendären Performance-Truppe La Pocha Nostra. Der in Mexiko-Stadt geborene Künstler zog 1978 in die USA. Seine Performance-Arbeiten und 12 Bücher trugen zu den Debatten über kulturelle und geschlechtsspezifische Vielfalt, Grenzkultur und Beziehungen zwischen den USA und Mexiko bei. Seine Kunstwerke wurden an über tausend Orten in den USA, Kanada, Lateinamerika, Europa, Russland, Südafrika und Australien präsentiert. Er ist ein MacArthur Fellow, Bessie und American Book Award-Gewinner und schreibt regelmäßig Beiträge für Zeitungen und Zeitschriften in den USA, Mexiko und Europa. Außerdem schreibt er Beiträge für The Drama Review (NYU/MIT) und Live Art Almanac (Live Art Development Agentur, UK). Gómez-Peña ist außerdem Senior Fellow am Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics und Schirmherr der in London ansässigen Live Art Development Agency. 2012 wurde er von den USA Artists als Samuel Hoi Fellow ausgezeichnet und erhielt ein Eureka-Stipendium der Fleishhacker Foundation in 2013. Derzeit bereitet er zwei neue Bücher für Routledge (2019) und ein dokumentarisches Portrait seiner geliebten Truppe, La Pocha Nostra, vor.

ARTISTBIO: Balitronica Gómez

Balitronica Gómez (US/MX) ist Dichterin, Performance-Künstlerin und radikale Pädagogin, die derzeit zwischen San Francisco, Mexico City und unterwegs lebt. In den 1980er Jahren zwischen San Diego und Tijuana an der Grenze zwischen den USA und Mexiko geboren, studierte sie an der San Diego State University Literatur und absolvierte das Mills College mit einem MFA Performance Poetry. Ihre Performance wurde maßgeblich von ihrer Zeit beeinflusst, die sie in einem katholischen Kloster aus dem 17. Jahrhundert in Paris verbrachte, wo sie bei einem Dominikanerorden lebte. Sie ist seit 2013 mit Guillermo Gómez-Peña international auf Tournee und ist Kernmitglied seiner legendären Performance-Gruppe La Pocha Nostra.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

© Karolina Miernik

Workshop Locations

Du möchtest wissen, wie du zu unseren Workshop Locations und Studios kommst? Details dazu findest du hier

© Karolina Miernik

Fesche Goodies der letzten Festival-Ausgaben ab jetzt HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 22.08.2019, 15:44 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/research/2019/id4047/