You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ELIO GERVASI

© Christian Lapp
© Christian Lapp
© Christian Lapp
© Christian Lapp
© Tanz Company Gervasi

The Choreographic Engine

The Field Project proposes different forms of research based on various dance vocabularies und improvisation methods. Above all, dancers will learn how to bring in and develop their own vocabulary and individual style. During the warm-up, we will use basic techniques of modern and contemporary dance, specific exercises for a strong core and floor work to develop our flexibility. These movements are designed to heighten our perception of the natural rhythm of our breath, which flows into the executed movements in space. After the warm-up, we will set off towards a path where we reduce patterns and conservative forms of technique and styles. A travelling sequence will emphasise precise alignment und fluidity in the movement as well as further enhancing our awareness of balance. We will continue the movement research by focusing on specific themes such as space, gravity, collision, and other topics that will be proposed during the class. We will apply these ideas firstly to solo dance material and follow this with group work, which will focus on different formations (duo, trio and larger groups). Here we will also work with Contact Improvisation and partnering.

Creativity, flexibility and dynamic body language shape the first choreographic sequences. They are the impulse for individual expression and the extension of one’s own vocabulary. Combining the previously created material and feeding it with new energy, we will add on material in the so-called "choreographic engine". Through this application and the distribution of a number of fixed set movements, we will compose and generate new choreographic aspects and images.

The choreographic engine
We will dive into the body as we move and discover how to enter and exit the deeply rooted patterns of our engine systems. Each body reports what and how it wants to present itself. Contemporary dancers who work with improvisation have to engage in the phenomenon that no moment repeats itself – but we can learn to react, adapt and change. If we constantly repeat ourselves, we will only narrow our possibilities and become stagnated. With our safety modes switched on, we revert back to old movement habits. Without properly considering what is better or more meaningful our creativity is hidden from ourselves. The body becomes a creative machine when we let go. We can let something unimaginable happen! The Field Project focuses on the question: What should we choose in order to discover and expand our approach to create a choreographic structure based on dynamics, contact, perception and above all, individuality? In this choreographic process forms can appear that seem illogical to the dancer and logical to the choreographer (or vice versa) at first. These forms can be of potential value to the development of a piece. Individuality is a tremendously important source of energy and creativity that adds new topics and themes to the choreographic engine.

The Research Project ends with a public showing on the 19th of July at 17:00!

Please send a link to a 1-minute video of a solo dance work or dance improvisation (a simple self-made smartphone video is enough) with your application!!

ARTISTBIO: Elio Gervasi

Elio Gervasi studied Classical Dance in Rome, Modern Dance with Peter Goss, Merce Cunningham, José Limon, Louis Falco and Susanne Linke as well as Contemporary Dance, Contact Improvisation and Release Technique. For many years (1979-1986) he closely collaborated with Bob Curtis, also participating in his company as a soloist and choreographic assistant. He worked with director Federico Fellini in the movies "Ginger and Fred" and "La nave va". In 1987 he founded his own dance company in Vienna – Tanz Company Gervasi – and collaborated with over 300 international performers, producing more than 50 productions in Austria and abroad (incl. Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Greece, and Mexico). He was a guest choreographer for different companies and theatres: P.L.Dance Company, Bühnenwerkstatt-Company Graz, Ballet of National Theatre of Saarland (DE), for the Vienna State Opera Ballet and for the Ballet-School of the Vienna State Opera. He received several awards for his choreographies from the Austrian Ministry of Culture. In 2003 he received the award for best production. From 2011-2016 his productions were presented in the frame of ImPulsTanz Special and ImPulsTanz Festival, Vienna. In the last years he engaged in co-productions with the Academy of Fine Arts and Tanzquartier, Vienna. Elio Gervasi is a member of the Performing Arts Council at the Federal Chancellery of Austria – Arts and Culture.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched here. MORE

Workshop catalogue as download

Workshops for professionals, beginners, come-back dancers, enthusiasts: all workshops included in our new catalogue here as DOWNLOAD

© ImPulsTanz

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 24.05.2019, 07:30 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/research/2019/id4043/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ELIO GERVASI

© Christian Lapp
© Christian Lapp
© Christian Lapp
© Christian Lapp
© Tanz Company Gervasi

The Choreographic Engine

Das Field Project bietet verschiedene Rechercheformen an, die auf breitgefächertem Tanzvokabular und Improvisationsmethoden basieren. Es wird besonderer Wert darauf gelegt, dass die teilnehmenden Tänzer_innen lernen ihr eigenes Vokabular und ihren individuellen Stil einzubringen und weiterzuentwickeln. Das Warm-up basiert auf grundlegenden technischen Elementen des Modernen und Zeitgenössischen Tanzes und bietet gezielte Übungen für eine starke Körpermitte und Floor Work zur Erhöhung der Flexibilität. Diese erhöhen die Wahrnehmung des natürlichen Atemrhythmus und verbinden ihn mit der auszuführenden Bewegung im Raum. Auf dieses spezifische Warm-Up folgt eine raumgreifende Sequenz, welche eine klare Linienführung und Fluidität der Bewegung betont. Zugleich wird ein erhöhtes Bewusstsein für das Gleichgewichtszentrum (Balance) entwickelt. Wir beginnen dann den gemeinsamen Arbeitsprozess, in dem wir Muster, konservative Techniken und Stile reduzieren und eigenes Material aufbauen. In der Bewegungsrecherche konzentrieren wir uns zuerst auf spezifische Motive (Raum, Schwerkraft, Kollision, und andere Sujets, die während des Kurses in den Fokus rücken). Diese Ideen lassen wir in Solo-Improvisationen und im weiteren Verlauf in unterschiedliche Gruppenformationen (Duo, Trio und größere Gruppen) einfließen. Dabei kommen unter anderem Contact Improvisation und Partnering zum Einsatz.

Kreativität, Flexibilität und eine dynamische Körpersprache bilden den Ausgangspunkt für choreografische Sequenzen. Diese sollen impulsgebend für einen individuellen Ausdruck und die Erweiterung des persönlichen Tanzvokabulars sein. Ziel ist es, dieses zuvor gesammelte Material am Ende zu verbinden, zu erweitern und zu beleben, und damit mehr und mehr in den sogenannten „choreografischen Motor“ zu speisen. Mit einem Minimum an fixierten Bewegungen, kreieren und generieren wir immer neue choreografische Bilder und Perspektiven.

The choreographic engine
Wir tauchen mit der Bewegung in den Körper ein, entdecken, wie wir die tief verwurzelten Muster dieses „Motorsystems“ betreten und verlassen können. Jeder Körper drückt aus, was und wie er sich präsentieren will. Zeitgenössische Tänzer_innen, die mit Improvisation arbeiten, müssen sich darauf einlassen, dass sich kein Moment eins zu eins wiederholen lässt, daher lernen wir zu reagieren, adaptieren und variieren. Wenn wir ständig versuchen uns zu wiederholen, beengen wir uns in unseren Möglichkeiten, bis wir stagnieren. In diesem Modus tendieren wir nur in gewohnte Bewegungsmuster zurückzufallen. Der Sicherheitsmodus verbirgt jedoch die Kreativität und den Instinkt weiterzumachen, ohne darüber nachzudenken, was besser oder bedeutungsvoller ist. Der Körper wird zu einer kreativen Maschine, wenn wir loslassen. Nur so können wir etwas Unvorstellbares passieren lassen! Das Field Project dreht sich um die Frage: Wie können wir uns diesem Weg annähern und ihn fortschreiben, um eine choreografische Struktur zu schaffen, die auf Dynamik, Kontakt, Wahrnehmung und vor allem auf Individualität basiert? In diesem choreografischen Prozess können Formen auftauchen, die für den einen logisch und für den anderen unlogisch erscheinen. Auch diese unlogischen Elemente können für die Entwicklung der Arbeit interessant sein. Individualität ist eine ungemein wichtige Quelle für Energie und Kreativität, die immer neue Themen und Materialien zum „choreografischen Motor“ hinzufügt und so die Weiterentwicklung und Selbstverwirklichung fördern.

Das Research Project endet mit einem öffentlichen Showing am 19. Juli um 17:00!

ARTISTBIO: Elio Gervasi

Elio Gervasi absolvierte klassische Tanzstudien in Rom, Modern Dance mit Peter Goss, Merce Cunningham, José Limon, Louis Falco und Susanne Linke, sowie Contemporary Dance, Contact Improvisation und Release Technique. Er arbeitete lange Zeit (1979-1986) mit Bob Curtis als Mitglied seiner Compagnie, als Solotänzer und choreografischer Assistent. Mit Federico Fellini arbeitete Elio Gervasi in den Filmen „Ginger and Fred“ und in „La nave va“. 1987 gründete er die Tanz Company Gervasi in Wien, die seither mehr als 50 Produktionen im In- und Ausland gezeigt hat. Gervasi erhielt in den vergangenen mehr als 30 Jahren zahlreiche choreografische Auszeichnungen der Kunstsektion des Bundeskanzleramtes, u. a. den Österreichischen Tanzproduktionspreis. Gervasi war als Gastchoreograf u. a. für die P.L.Dance Company, die Bühnenwerkstatt-Company Graz, das Saarländische Staatstheater, das Grazer Opernballett, das Staatsopernballett im Rahmen der Serie „Off-Ballet“ und für die Ballettschule der Wiener Staatsoper tätig. Er choreografierte zweimal die Tanzproduktion für die Sommereröffnung des MuseumsQuartiers Wien. Darüber hinaus nahm er an zahlreichen internationalen Tanzfestivals teil. 2011-2016 präsentierte er seine Produktionen im Rahmen des ImPulsTanz Special und ImPulsTanz Festival, Wien. In den letzten Jahren entstanden außerdem Koproduktionen mit u.a. der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien und Tanzquartier Wien. Tanz Company Gervasi bereist mit seinen Produktionen regelmäßig Österreich, Europa und Südamerika. Er ist Mitglied im Beirat für Darstellende Kunst im Bundeskanzleramt Österreich – Kunst und Kultur.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolina Miernik

Fesche Goodies der letzten Festival-Ausgaben ab jetzt HIER

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie hier. MORE

Workshop Katalog zum Download

Workshops für Profis, Neutänzer_innen, dauerhaft Begeisterte und Wiederauffrischer_innen: alle Workshops findest du in unserem Katalog, hier zum DOWNLOAD

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 24.04.2019, 16:22 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/research/2019/id4043/