You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

JEAN ABREU & GUY COOLS

Solo For Two © Ambra Vernuccio
© Julian Cole
© Koen Broos Eastman
© Michael Reinhart
© Michael Reinhart

LAMENTS

Researching the physical language of laments

featuring Irene Coticchio from the Cowbirds

In this field project Brazilian-British choreographer Jean Abreu and the Viennese based, Belgian dance dramaturg Guy Cools want to deepen their shared research in the physical language of mourning in function of a new creation they are preparing for 2020.
How do we deal with experiences of loss? In most cultures, rituals of mourning were practiced as a way to express grief and its emotions, such as sadness, but also anger. We have to perform our mourning in order for these emotions to liquefy and to restore the energy flow in the body. One of the most powerful ways to do this, are forms of lamenting, that existed in most cultures, but were threatened with disappearance in the 20th century. The last decades both scholars and artists have been reinvesting in these traditional forms, such as the Greek moiroloi or the Irish keening, in order to revive them and articulate them within a contemporary practice.

The traditional laments dialogue with those who are absent (not only through death, but also for instance because they emigrated). They use a polyphonic structure, alternating between language and non-language (stylized forms of crying and sobbing). And they were often accompanied with ritualized movements.
Already in their previous collaboration, Solo for Two, Jean Abreu and Guy Cools researched part of these traditions. They will now expand their research in function of a new trio. They will research how:
• To use polyphony and polyphonic music as a structural element for a choreographic exploration. This aspect will also involve voice work, possibly learning some of the songs.
• To look at the repetitive and cyclical aspect of the lamentations songs as an embodiment of loss, exploring the relentless wave-like sensations.
• To develop a physical language that expresses this relentlessness of grief, in order to find ways of letting go: researching not only the ‘fall’, but also the ‘re-bounce’.
• To explore the power of being vulnerable and embodying one’s emotions, which is mainly a female power.
• The latter has also a political dimension, since the traditional laments were often not only a way to express and eventually let go of pain, but often also became a protest against patriarchy.

For the field project, we invite professional dancers and singers who would like to research with us how to voice and physicalize the language of laments in a present-day context.

Jean and Guy will be joined by Irene Coticchio from the Cowbirds who will teach every day a class in a polyphonic singing.

Irene Coticchio
Sicily born Irene Coticchio is performer, actress, singer and linguist. She’s been working in several productions, cooperating with internationally renowned artists (i.e. Robert Wilson, Andrew De. L Harwood, Daria De Florian, Walter Manfrè) and creating her own pieces. She’s got an eclectic education and interests and she’s interested in formats with cross over of disciplines, genres and styles. Since 1996 she’s been leaving and working in Vienna. 2001-2017 she’s been part of the performance group Toxic Dreams. Since 2006 she’s been dedicating herself to researching Sicilian and South Italian traditional music and in 2008 created her own music ensemble Irene Coticchio Trio/Continente Liquido with which she’s performing regularly. She is member of Cowbirds, a collective researching and performing monodic and polyphonic songs from Corsica and Sicily.
Lately she’s been collaborating with the musician Dimitris Kontouras (GR) and the composer Periklis Liakakis (GR/A). Irene is teaching extensively voice practice for singers, actors and dancers in several institutions. Recently she’s been lecturing on South Italian traditional music i.e. at the Institute for Romance Studies at the University of Vienna. 

ARTISTBIO: Jean Abreu

Born in Brazil, Jean Abreu (choreographer/dancer) moved to London in 1996 after receiving a scholarship to study at Trinity Laban Conservatoire for music and dance, he choreographed his first work in 2003, "Hibrido" and was honoured with the Jerwood Choreography Award the same year as well as becoming an Associate artist at The Place Theatre in London. Since then, his work has toured throughout the UK, Europe and Brazil including performances for Julidans festival, Dance Umbrella, Southbank Centre & the Auditorio Ibirapuera São Paulo. He founded Jean Abreu Dance in 2009 and his first work for the company, "INSIDE" with music played live by glitch rock band 65daysofstatic premiered at Edinburgh festival in 2010 to rave reviews. He created the first of a trilogy of solo project "BLOOD" (2013), in collaboration with British visual artists Gilbert and George and co-commissioned by the Royal Opera House London. In 2015 he created "A Thread", an international collaboration with renowned Brazilian visual artist and sculptor Elisa Bracher bringing together dance artists from China, UK and Brazil partly supported by Itau Cultural Foundation (BR), South Bank Centre and Arts Council of England. His most recent creation "Solo for Two" (2018), the second of the trilogy of solos exploring his in between cultural identity, is a collaboration with Belgium dance dramaturg Guy Cools supported by Arts Council England, co-commissioned by Southbank Centre and the Horniman Museum. "Solo for Two" is currently on tour in the UK and will be performed in Brazil, China and Portugal in 2019.

Jean has taught extensively his movement practice in the UK and abroad in renowned dance organisations and universities including London Contemporary Dance School, London Studio Centre, Dance Base (Scotland), International Festival of Morelos (Mexico) Roger Williams University (USA) New York University (USA), Balance Arts Centre (China). He is currently a regular guest artist at Bath Spa University, Portsmouth University, University of Bath, Greenwich Dance and Beijing Dance Academy.

ARTISTBIO: Guy Cools

Guy Cools is a dance dramaturg. Recent positions include Associate Research Professor at the research institute Arts in Society of the Fontys School of Fine and Performing Arts in Tilburg, and Postdoctoral Researcher at Ghent University, where he finished a practice-based PhD on the relationship between dance and writing. He has worked as a dance critic, artistic programmer, and policymaker for dance in Flanders. He now dedicates himself to production dramaturgy, contributing to work by choreographers all over Europe and Canada such as: Koen Augustijnen (BE), Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui (BE), Danièle Desnoyers (CA), Lia Haraki (CY), Christopher House (CA), Akram Khan (UK), Arno Schuitemaker (NL), and Stephanie Thiersch (DE). He regularly lectures and publishes, and has developed a series of workshops that aim to support artists and choreographers in their creative process. His most recent publications include The Ethics of Art: ecological turns in the performing arts, co-edited with Pascal Gielen (Valiz, 2014); In-between Dance Cultures: on the migratory artistic identity of Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and Akram Khan (Valiz, 2015) and Imaginative Bodies, dialogues in performance practices (Valiz, 2016), a series of published, live interviews with major contemporary artists which Cools curated from 2008 till 2013 for Sadler’s Wells, London. With the Canadian choreographer, Lin Snelling, he developed an improvised performance practice ‘Rewriting Distance’ that focuses on the integration of movement, voice, and writing. Cools lives in Vienna.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolina Miernik

Workshop Locations

You want to know how to get to our Workshop Locations and Studios? More information here

A FUTURE ARCHEAOLOGY 2014 © BETTINA VISMANN

Home wanted!

Are you looking for a cosy place to stay during your ImPulsTanz summer? OR: You don't want your Viennese apartment to grow lonely and rather introduce our workshop participants to the Viennese art of living? Some useful information HERE

© Karolina Miernik

Fashionable goodies of the last festivals are available HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 15.07.2019, 22:41 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/research/2019/id4020/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

JEAN ABREU & GUY COOLS

Solo For Two © Ambra Vernuccio
© Julian Cole
© Koen Broos Eastman
© Michael Reinhart
© Michael Reinhart

LAMENTS

Eine Recherche zur Körpersprache von Wehklagen

featuring Irene Coticchio von den Cowbirds

Der brasilianisch-britische Choreograf Jean Abreu und der in Wien lebende belgische Tanzdramaturg Guy Cools möchten im Zusammenhang mit einem neuen Stück, das sie für 2020 vorbereiten, ihre gemeinsamen Recherchen auf dem Gebiet der körperlichen Sprache von Trauer in diesem Field Project vertiefen.

Wie gehen wir mit Verlusterfahrungen um? In den meisten Kulturen wurden Trauerrituale vollzogen, um Trauer und damit einhergehende Gefühle wie Schwermut, aber auch Wut auszudrücken. Wir müssen unserer Trauer Ausdruck verleihen, damit diese Gefühle sich auflösen und der Energiefluss im Körper wiederhergestellt werden kann. Eine der wirksamsten Methoden dazu sind verschiedene Arten des Wehklagens, die in den meisten Kulturen vorhanden waren, im 20. Jahrhundert allerdings in Vergessenheit zu geraten drohten. In den vergangenen Jahrzehnten haben sich sowohl Wissenschaftler_innen als auch Künstler_innen mit traditionellen Formen wie der griechischen Miroloi oder dem irischen Keening beschäftigt, um sie wieder aufleben zu lassen und in zeitgenössischer Praxis auszudrücken.

Traditionelle Klagelieder treten in einen Dialog mit den Abwesenden (nicht nur durch den Tod, sondern z. B. auch, weil sie ausgewandert sind). Sie sind vom Aufbau her polyphon, wobei sich Passagen mit und ohne Sprache (stilisiertes Schreien und Schluchzen) abwechseln. Und sie wurden oft von ritualisierten Bewegungen begleitet.
Jean Abreu und Guy Cools haben einen Teil dieser Traditionen bereits bei ihrer Zusammenarbeit für Solo for Two untersucht. Nun weiten sie ihre Recherchen für die Erarbeitung eines neuen Trios aus. Sie möchten herausfinden:
• wie Polyphonie und polyphone Musik als strukturelle Elemente für ein choreografisches Experiment eingesetzt werden können. Dieser Aspekt wird auch Stimmarbeit beinhalten, möglicherweise werden einige Lieder erlernt.
• wie der repetitive und zyklische Aspekt von Klageliedern als Verkörperung von Verlust und das unerbittliche Auf und Ab an Empfindungen untersucht werden können.
• wie eine körperliche Sprache entwickelt werden kann, die diese Unerbittlichkeit der Trauer ausdrückt, um Wege des Loslassens zu finden: Es soll nicht nur das „Fallen“ erforscht werden, sondern auch das „Wiederaufstehen“.
• wie die in der Verletzlichkeit und in der körperlichen Darstellung der eigenen Gefühle steckende Kraft, meist eine weibliche Kraft, untersucht werden kann.
• Letzteres hat auch eine politische Dimension, da die traditionellen Klagelieder nicht nur eine Möglichkeit darstellten, Schmerz auszudrücken und letztendlich loszulassen, sondern oft auch zum Protest gegen das Patriarchat wurden.

Zum Field Project laden wir professionelle Tänzer_innen und Sänger_innen ein, die mit uns gemeinsam herausfinden möchten, wie die Sprache der Wehklage im heutigen Kontext stimmlich und körperlich ausgedrückt werden kann.

Irene Coticcho von den Cowbirds wird dieses Field Project täglich mit einer Einheit für polyphonen Gesang beginnen.

Irene Coticchio
Irene Coticchio (geboren in Sizilien) ist Schauspielerin, Performerin, Sängerin und Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaftlerin. Als Performerin ist sie international tätig, mit zahlreichen Projektbeteiligungen (u.a. bei Robert Wilson, Andrew De. L Harwood, Daria De Florian, Walter Manfrè) und eigenen Produktionen. Sie forscht in verschiedenen künstlerischen Bereichen, ihr Interesse gilt insbesondere grenzüberschreitenden Formaten.
Seit 1996 lebt und arbeitet sie in Wien. Von 2001-2018 war sie Ensemblemitglied der Performance-Gruppe Toxic Dreams. Seit 2006 widmet sie sich der Recherchearbeit über sizilianische und süditalienische Volksmusik. 2008 hat sie das Irene Coticchio Trio/Continente Liquido gegründet, mit dem sie regelmäßig auftritt. Außerdem ist sie Gründungsmitglied des Kollektivs cowbirds, das sich traditionellen polyphonischen Liedern aus Korsika und Sizilien widmet.
Daneben arbeitet sie mit dem Musiker Dimitris Kontouras (GR) und dem Komponist Periklis Liakakis (GR/A) zusammen, ist Stimmcoach für Sänger, Schauspieler und Tänzer, und hält Vorträge über süditalienische Volksmusik (u.a. am Institut für Romanistik der Universität Wien).

ARTISTBIO: Jean Abreu

Der Choreograf und Tänzer, Jean Abreu (geboren in Brasilien) zog 1996 nach London, um im Rahmen eines Stipendiums am Trinity Laban Conservatory Musik und Tanz zu studieren. 2003 choreografierte er sein erstes Stück „Hibrido“,wurde Associate Artist bei The Place Theatre in London und erhielt den Jerwood Choreograph Award. Seitdem wurden seine Werke in Großbritannien, Europa und Brasilien aufgeführt, u.a. beim Julidans Festival, Dance Umbrella, Southbank Centre und dem Auditorio Ibirapuera São Paolo. 2009 gründete er Jean Abreu Dance und im Jahr darauf brachte er das erste Compagnie-Stück „INSIDE“ beim Edinburgh Festival zur Premiere, mit live Musik von der glitch Rockband 65daysofstatic, was von Kritikern hochgelobt wurde. Den ersten Teil einer Trilogie an Soli, „BLOOD“, welches u.a. vom Royal Opera House London beauftragt wurde, kreierte er 2013 in Zusammenarbeit mit den britischen bildenden Künstlern Gilbert and George. 2015 entwickelte er „A Thread“, eine internationale Zusammenarbeit mit der renommierten brasilianischen bildenden Künstlerin und Bildhauerin Elisa Bracher, die Tanzkünstler_innen aus China, Großbritannien und Brasilien zusammenbrachte. Unterstützt wurden sie von der Itau Cultural Foundation (IT), dem Southbank Centre und der Arts Council of England. Sein jüngstes Werk „Solo for Two“ (2018) ist das zweite von drei Soli, in welchen er seiner zwischenkulturellen Identität nachgeht, diesmal in Zusammenarbeit mit dem belgischen Tanzdramaturgen Guy Cools, unterstützt vom Arts Council of England und beauftragt von Southbank Centre und dem Horniman Museum. „Solo für Two“ tourt momentan in Großbritannien und wird 2019 in Brasilien, China und Portugal aufgeführt.

Jean sammelte bereits viel Unterrichtserfahrung in seiner Bewegungspraxis, in renommierten Tanzorganisationen sowie Universitäten in Großbritannien und international, wie z.B. dem London Contemporary Dance School, London Studio Centre, Dance Base (Schottland), Internationales Festival Morelos (Mexiko), Roger Williams University (USA), New York University (USA) und dem Balance Arts Centre (China). Zurzeit ist er regelmäßig Gastkünstler an der Bath Spa University, Portsmouth University, University of Bath, Greenwich Dance und der Beijing Dance Academy.

ARTISTBIO: Guy Cools

Dr. Guy Cools ist Tanz-Dramaturg und lebt in Wien. Er arbeitete unter anderem als außerordentlicher Professor am Forschungsinstitut Arts in Society an der Fontys Schule für Bildende und Darstellende Kunst in Tilburg und als promovierter Forscher an der Universität in Gent, wo er seinen Doktoratsabschluss über die Beziehung zwischen Tanz und dem Schreiben erhielt. Er arbeitete als Tanzkritiker, Kurator und Entscheidungsträger im Bereich Tanz in Flandern. Derzeit widmet er sich der Produktionsdramaturgie und trägt zu Arbeiten von Choreograf_innen in Europa und Kanada bei, wie unter anderem: Koen Augustijnen (BE), Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui (BE), Danièle Desnoyers (CA), Lia Haraki (CY), Christopher House (CA), Akram Khan (UK), Arno Schuitemaker (NL) und Stephanie Thiersch (DE). Er doziert und publiziert regelmäßig und entwickelte eine Serie von Workshops, um Künstler_innen und Choreograf_innen in ihren kreativen Prozessen zu unterstützen. Seine neuesten Publikationen sind u.a.: The Ethics of Art: ecological turns in the performing arts, herausgegeben mit Pascal Gielen (Valiz, 2014); In-between Dance Cultures: on the migratory artistic identity of Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and Akram Khan (Valiz, 2015) und Imaginative Bodies, dialogues in performance practices (Valiz, 2016), eine Serie von publizierten Live-Interviews mit Größen des zeitgenössischen Tanzes, die Cools zwischen 2008 und 2013 am Sadler's Wells in London kuratierte. Mit der kanadischen Choreografin entwickelte er die Performance-Praxis „Rewriting Distance“, die sich auf die Integration von Bewegung, Stimme und Schreiben konzentriert.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

A FUTURE ARCHEAOLOGY 2014 © BETTINA VISMANN

Zuhause gesucht!

Auf der Suche nach einer gemütlichen Unterkunft während des ImPulsTanz Sommers? Oder aber möchtest du deine Wohnung in der Urlaubszeit nicht vereinsamen lassen und statt dessen unseren Workshop Teilnehmer_innen die Viennese Art of Living näher bringen? Nähere Infos HIER

Workshop-Katalog zum Download

Workshops für Profis, Neutänzer_innen, dauerhaft Begeisterte und Wiederauffrischer_innen: Alle Workshops finden Sie in unserem neuen Katalog hier als DOWNLOAD

© cin cin

Performance-Katalog zum Download

65 Produktionen in nur einem Büchlein: Alle Stücke und Extras finden Sie zum Stöbern in unserem neuen Katalog hier als
DOWNLOAD

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 17.06.2019, 09:19 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/research/2019/id4020/