You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

FREY FAUST & FRANCESCA PEDULLA & ERIC ACAKPO

© Barbara Cali
© Barbara Cali
© Barbara Cali
© Barbara Cali

Ancient Kinetic Wisdom

Recoil, Resilience, Oscillation
Fractal Repetition
Traditional Beninese Polyrhythms
Introduction to Geomancy – The Fa
Group/Solo Awareness
Performativity

This project will focus on the structure and phasing of ritual as a performative act, where space, objects, repetition, rhythm, gesture, the body and the voice become instruments of evocation, portals for connection and access to collective memory. These processes keep shifting from the individual to the collective and vice versa. Although structured, they serve as guided contexts for spontaneity.
The inquiry revolves around these fundamental questions: How do ancient values and practices adapt to and manifest in contemporary society? Is it possible that ancient and current performative practices could enrich each other? How can we, as artists, look at ritual and re-elaborate the wisdom that passes through the body in such a vivid way?

In this special, three person "Co-Teaching", Francesca, Frey and Eric will share a selection of results of their research through several years of exchange.
We also intend to share embodied examples of some of the underlying fundamental principles in traditional dances, look with attention at the complexity of interrelated and subtle biomechanics and explore a few ways these principles can be translated and applied to more contemporary movement concepts.
In an effort to provide cultural background and insight, Eric Acakpo will share excerpt and mechanics of the Yoruban oracular system, the FA; a rich repository of archetypal symbology and philosophical inquest, as well as a math/memory aide and thought of as the origin of modern binary computer operating systems.
Our common resource; The Axis Syllabus, will provide a framework for organising impulse and insight as well as deep analysis instruments for re-elaboration and biomechanical rendering.

Dance-artist Francesca Pedullà, Musician Eric Acakpo and Axis Syllabus Consolidator Frey Faust
Francesca and Eric have worked together since more than 10 years, teaching, creating contexts for cultural and artistic exchange and performing in Benin and abroad. They founded the Beninese Cultural Association Sonagnon in 2006 with the aim to protect and share the richness of Beninese culture and provide an exchange platform for artists from all over the world. From 2008 to 2012 they co-directed the international project Dialogues Inévitables realised in collaboration with various cultural association and with the support of several international institutions. Since 2012 they co-direct TRACES, an annual professional educational platform for dance and choreographic practice based in Cotonou and Ouidah with the collaboration of the Axis Syllabus International Research Network. Frey Faust has been a collaborating teacher of Traces since 2013. He has contributed to the in-depth biomechanical analysis of Beninese traditional dances.

ARTISTBIO: Frey Faust

Born in 1960, Frey Faust began performing at the age of 8 with his family as a traveling troubadour. He is a second-generation contact improviser and an alumnus of the 80´s New York dance scene. Some of his more important early influences came from: Shekhinah Mountainwater, Nita Little, Pavel Rouba, Rene Bazinet, and Janet Panetta. He has worked with and for a number of artists (order of appearance): Ohad Naharin, Donald Byrd, David Parsons, Gina Buntz, Howard Katz, Merce Cunningham, Meredith Monk, Randy Warshaw, Bob Een, Stephen Petronio, Danny Ezralow... to name a few. He founded or co-founded three dance companies, and has created or co-created over 40 choreographic solo and group works. Following an independent study of anatomy, biomechanics, and physics, he has been able to build a pedagogical approach that has made him a sought after teacher, personal coach and technical counsellor. After fifteen years of research, he consolidated his findings in a book, "The Axis Syllabus – human movement lexicon", which he continues to edit with the help of the Axis Syllabus International Research Network. Founded in 2009, the ASIRN is a rapidly expanding group of experts from many related fields in the human movement and education sciences. Recently, his work on the AS has been focused on the provision of an online university for the study of the human body: The ASIRN Forum, as well as the construction of a symbol set with the potential to streamline movement documentation, creation and analysis, The Human Movement Alphabet. He also makes shoes, speaks four languages, and continues to create and perform dances.

ARTISTBIO: Francesca Pedulla

Francesca Pedullà – dance artist, independent curator and a dance teacher, holds a Masters Degree in History of Theatre and Performing Arts, a diploma as professor of African Dance Expression – FEIDA Bordeaux. She is certified to teach the Axis Syllabus. Since 1998 she spends several months a year living in Benin, who's culture has been a profound influence. Since 2005, she develops artistic works and cultural projects in Europe and Benin. She is the artistic director of Traces, study programme for dancers based in Ouidah – Benin and co-curator of the European Nomadic College and the Sensing In Festival in Berlin. Based in Berlin, she choreographs, performs and teaches throughout Europe, the USA, Canada, Israel, Brazil and Benin.
Her focus looks at how structurally supported action or expressive gesture is the result of continuous adaptation. Her objective as a teacher is to stimulate a critical appraisal of the circumstances in and around us through a gradual building of a common store of technical references (biomechanics, musicality, spatial relationships) and through creative games and discussions for channelling the potential of the individual and collective body.

ARTISTBIO: Eric Acakpo

Eric Acakpo was steeped in the traditional rhythms, songs and dances of Benin since early childhood. Besides membership in several folkloric ensembles, he toured African and European Festivals as a dancer/musician with the Voodoo Brass Band in the early 2000’s.
Important early dance teachers were the Italian choreographer Anouska Brodaks, and the great pedagogue, choreographer, dancer and countryman Koffi Kôkô. He toured Europe, Central and South America as a dancer in Koffi Kôkô’s "Les fueilles qui resiste au vent", a full length dance work. He then worked for Koffi Kôkô as a musician and assistant for several years around Europe.
In 2006 he was the only musician selected to represent Benin in the creation of the show "Africa, mais pas seulement" created and curated by the Association "Melody for Dialogue among Civilizations".
In 2006 he co-founded the cultural Association Sonagnon with the dancer and choreographer Francesca Pedullà. The objective of the Association is to highlight the art and culture of Benin and create opportunities for exchange and research contexts for artists. The Sonagnon Association receives support from the French Institute of Cotonou and from various international organisations, produces training workshops, creative residencies and performance opportunities for local and internationally based artists. The collaboration with Francesca Pedullà also included two co-directed performance projects: "Dialogues Inevitables" and "The Myth of the God Money". This last work toured to Cotonou, Brussels, Genoa, Bielefeld and Berlin.
Since 2012, he and Francesca Pedulla also co-direct the pedagogical initiative Traces, which proposes movement, anatomy, physics and choreographic study for professional dancers. Traces is a collaboration with the Axis Syllabus International Research Network and IRSP of Ouidah. In 2014 and 2015, he taught at the Nomadic College Gamboa, Brazil, at the Rio Centro Centroção, Rio de Janeiro, at the Federal University of Salvador da Bahia, and at the Cultural Center Peterzold of Porto Alegre. Most recently he founded and led the musical project Les Tambours du Benin, with the intention to preserve and transmit traditional Benin rhythms.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolina Miernik

Fashionable goodies of the last festivals are available HERE

Workshop catalogue as download

Workshops for professionals, beginners, come-back dancers, enthusiasts: all workshops included in our new catalogue here as DOWNLOAD

© Karolina Miernik

Workshop Locations

You want to know how to get to our Workshop Locations and Studios? More information here

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 20.05.2019, 10:58 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/research/2019/id4004/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

FREY FAUST & FRANCESCA PEDULLA & ERIC ACAKPO

© Barbara Cali
© Barbara Cali
© Barbara Cali
© Barbara Cali

Ancient Kinetic Wisdom

Recoil, Resilience, Oscillation
Fractal Repetition
Traditional Beninese Polyrhythms
Introduction to Geomancy – The Fa
Group/Solo Awareness
Performativity

In diesem Projekt geht es um die Struktur und die Gliederung von Ritualen als performative Akte, bei denen Raum, Objekte, Wiederholung, Rhythmus, Gesten, Körper und Stimme zu Instrumenten der Beschwörung werden, Pforten der Verbindung und des Zugangs zum kollektiven Gedächtnis. Diese Vorgänge werden abwechselnd vom Individuum und vom Kollektiv ausgeführt. Sie folgen zwar einer Struktur, dienen aber als geführter Rahmen für Spontaneität.
Wir untersuchen folgende grundsätzliche Fragen: Wie passen sich alte, überlieferte Werte und Praktiken an die heutige Gesellschaft an und wie manifestieren sie sich in ihr? Können altertümliche und aktuelle performative Praktiken einander gegenseitig bereichern? Wie können wir als Kunstschaffende das Ritual analysieren und die Weisheit, die den Körper auf so lebendige Weise durchströmt, neu herausarbeiten?

In diesem besonderen „Co-Teaching“ mit drei Künstler_innen werden Francesca, Frey und Eric eine Auswahl an Forschungsergebnissen aus ihrer mehrjährigen, von Austausch geprägten Arbeit teilen.
Wir möchten auch verkörperte Beispiele für einige grundlegende Prinzipien traditioneller Tänze präsentieren, die Komplexität der damit verbundenen subtilen Biomechanik beleuchten und versuchen, diese Grundlagen in zeitgenössische Bewegungskonzepte zu übertragen und entsprechend umzusetzen.
Eric Acakpo wird uns Einblick in den kulturellen Hintergrund geben, indem er uns anhand von Beispielen in die Praktiken des Orakelsystems der Yoruba, des Fa, einführt. Das Fa ist eine umfangreiche Sammlung archetypischer Symbole und philosophischer Betrachtungen ebenso wie eine Rechen- und Gedächtnishilfe, und es gilt als Ausgangspunkt moderner binärer Computer-Betriebssysteme.
Wir arbeiten mit Axis Syllabus als Rahmen, um Impulse und Erkenntnisse einzuordnen, und verwenden Instrumente der Tiefenanalyse für eine neue Form der Auseinandersetzung und biomechanisches Rendering.

Dance-artist Francesca Pedullà, Musician Eric Acakpo and Axis Syllabus Consolidator Frey Faust
Francesca und Eric verbindet die gemeinsame Arbeit seit 10 Jahren: das Unterrichten und das Schaffen von Kontexten für kulturellen und künstlerischen Austausch und Auftritt brachte sie u.a. schon nach Benin und anderswo. 2006 gründeten sie die Beninese Cultural Association Sonagnon, um zum einen die Vielfalt beninischer Kultur zu schützen und weiterzugeben und zum anderen eine Austauschplattform für Künstler_innen aus aller Welt zu bieten. Zwischen 2008 und 2012 leiteten sie zusammen das internationale Projekt Dialogues Inévitables in Kollaboration mit verschiedenen kulturellen Organisationen und mit der Unterstützung mehrerer internationaler Institutionen. Seit 2012 leiten sie TRACES, eine professionelle Ausbildungsplattform für Tanz und choreografische Praxis, die jährlich in Cotonou und Ouidah in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Axis Syllabus International Research Network stattfindet. Frey Faust ist seit 2013 als Lehrer bei Traces dabei. In dieser Tätigkeit trug er auch zur detaillierten biomechanischen Analyse von beninischen traditionellen Tänzen bei. 

ARTISTBIO: Frey Faust

Geboren 1960, begann Frey Faust schon mit 8 Jahren als reisender Troubadour mit seiner Familie aufzutreten. Er gehört der zweiten Generation von Kontaktimprovisationskünstlern an und hat starke Wurzeln in der New Yorker Tanzszene der 80er Jahre. Zu den wichtigsten frühen Inspirationsquellen zählen Shekinah Mountainwater, Nita Little, Pavel Rouba, Rene Baziner und Janet Panetta. Im Laufe der Jahre arbeitete er für und mit einer Vielzahl an Künstlern: Ohad Naharin, Donald Byrd, David Parsons, Gina Buntz, Howard Katz, Merce Cunningham, Meredith Monk, Randy Warshaw, Bob Een, Stephen Petronio, Danny Ezralow... u.v.m. Er gründete und mitbegründete drei verschiedene Compagnien und schaffte allein oder in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen über 40 choreografische Solo und Gruppentänze. Nach unabhängigem Studium der Anatomie, Biomechanik und Physik sammelte er sein Wissen in einem Buch, „The Axis Syllabus – human movement lexicon“, welches er weiterhin mit Hilfe des Axis Syllabus International Research Network weiterentwickelt. 2009 gegründet, ist das ASIRN eine schnell wachsende Gruppe an Experten aus verschiedenen verwandten Bereichen, die sich allesamt mit menschlicher Bewegung und Erziehungswissenschaften beschäftigen. Zuletzt widmete er sich in seiner Arbeit am AS der Erstellung einer Online-Universität, die das Studium des menschlichen Körpers ermöglichen sollte: das ASIRN Forum. Zudem kam auch die Entwicklung eines Symbolsets, unter dem Namen The Human Movement Alphabet, dass das Potential haben sollte, Bewegungsdokumentation, -kreation und -analsye zu vereinigen. Er näht auch Schuhe, spricht vier Sprachen und schafft und führt weiterhin Tänze auf.

ARTISTBIO: Francesca Pedulla

Francesca Pedullà
Tanzkünstlerin, unabhängige Kuratorin und Tanzpädagogin. Besitzt einen Master in Geschichte des Tanzes und der darstellenden Künste, ein Diplom als Professorin der African Dance Expression - FEIDA Bordeaux und ist zertifizierte Pädagogin des Axis Syllabus. Seit 1998 verbringt sie mehrere Monate im Jahr in Benin, dessen Kultur sie bis heute stark beeinflusst. Seit 2005 entwickelt sie künstlerische Werke und Kulturprogramme in Europa und Benin. Sie ist künstlerische Leiterin von TRACES, einem Studienprogramm für Tänzer in Ouidah, Benin, sowie Ko-Kuratorin des European Nomadic College und des Sensing In Festivals in Berlin. Sie lebt in Berlin, choreografiert, unterrichtet und tritt in ganz Europa, den USA, Kanada, Israel, Brasilien und Benin auf.

In ihrer Arbeit geht sie der Idee nach, dass strukturell unterstütztes Handeln oder expressive Gestik das Resultat kontinuierlicher Adaption sind. Ihr Ziel als Unterrichtende ist es, kritische Auseinandersetzung mit unserer Umgebung zu fördern, u.a. durch stetigen Aufbau einer gemeinsamen Sprache von technischen Referenzen (Biomechanik, Musikalität, räumliche Beziehungen) sowie durch kreativer Spiele und Diskussionen, die das Potential des individuellen und kollektiven Körpers lenken sollten.

ARTISTBIO: Eric Acakpo

Eric Acakpo hat schon in seiner Kindheit die traditionellen Rhythmen, Lieder und Tänze Benins kennengelernt. Neben seiner Mitgliedschaft in mehreren folkloristischen Ensembles, ging er bereits in den frühen 2000er als Tänzer und Musiker mit seiner Voodoo Brass Band in Afrika und Europa auf Tour.

Wichtige frühe Tanzpädagog_innen waren u.a. die italienischen Choreografin Anouska Brodaks sowie der bekannte Pädagoge, Choreograf, Tänzer und Landsmann Kofi Kôkô. Er tourte Europa und Zentral- und Südamerika als Tänzer in Koffi Kôkôs Tanzstück „Les feuilles qui resistent au vent“. Danach folgten musikalische Arbeiten sowie die Tätigkeit als Koffi Kôkôs Assistenz über mehrere Jahre lang, hauptsächlich in Europa.

2006 war er der einzige Musiker, der ausgewählt wurde, um Benin in der Entwicklung der Show „Africa, mais pas seulement“ (kreiert und kuratiert von der Assoziation „Melody for Dialogue among Civilizations“) zu repräsentieren.

Im selben Jahr gründete er zusammen mit der Tänzerin-Choreografin Francesca Pedullà die kulturelle Association Sonagnon. Das Ziel dieser Assoziation ist es, der Kunst und Kultur Benins mehr Aufmerksamkeit zu schenken sowie Möglichkeiten für künstlerischen Austausch und Recherche zu schaffen. Die Sonagnon Association wird unterstützt vom Französischen Institut Cotonou und mehreren weiteren Organisationen, produziert Workshops, kreative Residencies und Auftrittsmöglichkeiten für lokale und internationale Künstler. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Francesca Pedullà führte auch zu zwei ko-geleiteten Performance-Projekten: „Dialogues Inévitables“ und „The Myth of the God Money“. Letzteres wurde in Cotonou, Brüssel, Genua, Bielefeld und Berlin aufgeführt.

Seit 2012 leiten er und Francesca Pedullà auch die pädagogische Initiative Traces, welches Studien im Bereich Bewegung, Anatomie, Physik und Choreografie für professionelle Tänzer_innen bietet. Traces ist eine Kollaboration mit dem Axis Syllabus International Research Network und dem IRSP in Ouidah. 2014 und 2015 unterrichtete er am Nomadic College Gamboa, Brasilien, dem Rio Centro Centroção, Rio de Janeiro, an der Staatsuniversität Salvador da Bahia sowie am Cultural Center Peterzold in Porto Alegre. Zuletzt gründete und leitete er das musikalische Projekt Les Tambours de Benin mit der Absicht die traditionellen Rhythmen Benins zu erhalten und zu verbreiten.
 
 

GOOD TO KNOW

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie hier. MORE

© Karolina Miernik

Fesche Goodies der letzten Festival-Ausgaben ab jetzt HIER

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 22.08.2019, 15:40 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/research/2019/id4004/