ZIYA AZAZI

© Koray Akten
© Koray Akten
© Stefan N. Shterev / 3inSpirit
© Luna La Chimia
© Buzludza BG
© D Akgündüz

Dervish in Progress

The dancer and choreographer, who is acquainted with the world’s big and small stages – like the opening ceremony of the Olympics in London all the way to street protests in Istanbul – will introduce the joy in spinning and turning of Dervish in Progress.

ARTISTBIO: Ziya Azazi

Ziya Azazi was born in 1969 in Antakya (TR) and is based in Vienna since 1994.
From the late nineties up to the present, Ziya Azazi’s dance practices have been primarily based on experimental whirling and repetition, which reflect his personal, artistic, conceptual and motional analysis of traditional Sufi dance. He searches for the simultaneous representation of contradictory perceptions of physical awareness and a high state of ecstasy, experimenting the intensities of speed and tension made possible through whirling. He aims at transforming the usual whirling dervish image and the classical Sufi dance into a spectacular form, thus proposing possibilities for personal ritual, that do not rely on the boundaries of existing belief systems. His work searches for the Dervish at a high level of speed, tension and emotion, and creates a space for the viewer to encounter and experience these moods. Through his performances, Ziya Azazi seeks to represent the moment of realisation when the Dervish begins to enjoy his/her achievement through the joyful and ecstatic repetition of whirling: the looping and spinning which leads to trance.

Ziya originally studied mining engineering at Istanbul Technical University and practiced gymnastics. Between 1990 and 1994 he worked with the State Theatre of Istanbul where he created his first choreographic works. Between 1994 and 1998 he worked at Tanz Atelier Sebastian Prantl (TAW), Tanz*Hotel, and Willi Dorner besides few other companies. In 1999 he was awarded the danceWEB scholarship and received the honourable mention in the Ballett magazine as "The Most Outstanding Dancer of the Year in Austria".

Since 1999 he creates his own choreographical work, which tours worldwide, a.o.: "Dervish in Progress" (2004 / Barcelona), "’Azab" (2005 / São Paulo), "Dervish" (2006), "Icons" (2007 / Grenoble) in collaboration with Serge Adam (FR), the solo "Ember" (2010 / Valladolid). His latest work "Energy" has been premiered in 2012 at Théater Liberte in Toulon (FR).
Since 2004 he worked with a.o. Jan Fabre/Troubleyn, Compagnie Thor, and collaborated with Cem Ertekin, Aydin Teker, Sebastian Prantl, Philippe Arlaud, Anne-Marie Gros, Ismael Ivo, Marcia Haydee, Yoshi Oida, Thierry Smits, Nona Ciobanu and Mehmet Balkan.
Beside the performances Ziya Azazi shared his experiences and knowledge with public in academic and non- academic settings, a.o. at the International Choreographic Training Programme titled Choreographic Collision (organised by Ismael Ivo, within the framework of Venice Dance Biennale, IT), at the Modern Dance Department of Istanbul Mimar Sinan University (TR), Carolyn Carlson Roubaix National Choreographic School (FR), Performance Making Programme at Goldsmiths University, London (UK), the Faculty of Arts at Klaipeda University and the dancers of Samsun & Antalya State Ballets (TR).

Last update: 15.05.2013

 
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 19.09.2020, 21:30 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/publicmoves/id15/
NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTIONORDER PROGRAMME
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival

ZIYA AZAZI

© Koray Akten
© Koray Akten
© Stefan N. Shterev / 3inSpirit
© Luna La Chimia
© Buzludza BG
© D Akgündüz

Dervish in Progress

Der mit allen internationalen Groß- wie Kleinbühnen – von der Olympia-Eröffnung in London bis hin zu Straßenprotesten in Istanbul – vertraute Tänzer und Choreograf führt in diesem Workshop in die Freude am Drehen des „Dervish in Progress“ ein.

ARTISTBIO: Ziya Azazi

Ziya Azazi wurde in Antakya (TR) geboren und lebt seit 1994 in Wien.
Seit den späten Neunziger Jahren basiert Ziya Azazis Tanzarbeit vorwiegend auf experimentellem Wirbeln/Drehen und auf Wiederholungen, die seine persönliche, künstlerische und konzeptuelle Auseinandersetzung und Bewegungsanalyse von traditionellem Sufi Tanz reflektiert. Er untersucht zeitgleiche Repräsentationen gegensätzlicher Wahrnehmung von Körperbewusstsein, ekstatische Zustände und beschäftigt sich mit Geschwindigkeit und Spannung, die durch das Wirbeln möglich werden. Er versucht, das übliche Bild vom sich drehenden Derwisch und vom klassischen Sufi Tanz in eine spektakuläre Form zu verwandeln und bietet dabei Optionen für persönliche Rituale, die nicht auf existierenden Glaubenssystemen beruhen. In seiner Arbeit sucht er nach dem Derwisch in unglaublicher Geschwindigkeit, Spannung und Emotion und schafft einen Raum für den Zuschauer, in dem die Nuancen erlebt werden können. In seinen Performance-Stücken versucht Ziya Azazi den Moment zu zeigen, in dem der Derwisch beginnt in der ekstatischen und genussvollen Wiederholung, das Drehen zu genießen: im Loop und in der Drehung wird ein Trance-Zustand erreicht.

Ziya studierte ursprünglich Bergbau an der Technischen Universität in Istanbul, während er Turner war. Zwischen 1990 und 1994 arbeitete er mit dem Staatstheater in Istanbul, wo er bereits erste Stücke kreierte. Zwischen 1994 und 1998 arbeitete er mit verschiedenen Compagnien u.a. Tanz Atelier Sebastian Prantl (TAW), Tanz*Hotel und Willi Dorner. 1999 erhielt er das danceWEB Stipendium und wurde im Ballett Magazin als „Ungewöhnlichster Tänzer des Jahres in Österreich“ bezeichnet.
Seit 1999 schafft er seine eigene choreografische Arbeit, die weltweit tourt, u.a.: „Dervish in Progress“ (2004 / Barcelona), „’Azab“ (2005 / São Paulo), „Dervish“ (2006), „Icons“ (2007 / Grenoble) in Zusammenarbeit mit Serge Adam (FR), das Solo „Ember“ (2010 / Valladolid). Seine jüngste Arbeit „Energy“ feierte 2012 am Théater Liberté in Toulon (FR) Premiere.
Seit 2004 arbeitete er u.a. mit Jan Fabre/Troubleyn, Compagnie Thor, Cem Ertekin, Aydin Teker, Sebastian Prantl, Philippe Arlaud, Anne-Marie Gros, Ismael Ivo, Marcia Haydee, Yoshi Oida, Thierry Smits, Nona Ciobanu und Mehmet Balkan.
Neben seiner Performancearbeit teilt Ziya Azazi seine Erfahrungen in verschiedensten akademischen und nicht-akademischen Institutionen, u.a.: dem internationalen Choreografie Trainingsprogramm Choreographic Collision (von Ismael Ivo im Rahmen der Biennale von Venedig ins Leben gerufen); an der Abteilung für Modernen Tanz der Mimar Sinan Universität in Istanbul, Carolyn Carlsons Schule für Choreografie in Roubaix (FR), der Fakultät für Kunst an der Klaipeda Universität und mit Tänzer_innen des Samsun & Antalya Staatsballetts (TR).

Stand: 15.05.2013

 
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 12.08.2020, 00:21 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/publicmoves/id15/
NEWSLETTER ABONNIERENPROGRAMM BESTELLEN
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival