Performances 2023

Performances 2023

© Maarten Van den Abeele

Needcompany (BE)
Billy’s Violence

© Maarten Van den Abeele

Not exactly known for being squeamish, cult director Quentin Tarantino (Pulp Fiction, Kill Bill) is “a choirboy” compared to “the sheer brutality evoked by Shakespeare”, according to Needcompany mastermind Jan Jauwers. Ten tragedies by the English theatre icon have been incorporated into his production of Billy’s Violence. Needcompany strips Shakespeare’s works naked to the bone and asks pressing questions like why depictions of violence continue to hold such an appeal, and whether Shakespeare can help us find ways out of the spiral of hatred. Lauwers’ son Victor Afung brings Othello together with Romeo and Juliet, King Lear with Macbeth, Hamlet with Titus Andronicus, among others. The main focus is on the precarious female characters in these dramas and on the social context. Because Shakespeare’s plays were created during the time of witch trials, the plague and slavery. At the end – this much can be revealed in advance – none of the performers is left unsoiled as they receive the audience’s applause.

Austrian Premiere

Duration: 120 Min

In English, Catalan and Spanish with German surtitles.
This performance contains explicit content. Recommended from the age of 16.
If you book the performance Billy’s Violence and one of the three performances of Billy’s Joy at the same time, you will receive a 50 % discount on the ticket for Billy’s Violence. The discount is automatically applied to your shopping cart, if you book both performances at the same time. Unfortunately, it is not possible to apply the discount afterwards.

Attention programme change: For dramaturgical reasons, the order of the performances of Billy’s Violence and Billy’s Joy has changed on 14.7.2023. Billy’s Violence will now take place at 19:00 and Billy’s Joy at 21:30. If you have already purchased tickets, you will be contacted directly by our ticketing team.
14.7.2023, 19:00
Akademietheater
© Maarten Van den Abeele
© Maarten Van den Abeele
© Maarten Van den Abeele
© Maarten Van den Abeele

CREDITS

Text: Victor Afung Lauwers
Music: Maarten Seghers
With: Nao Albet, Grace Ellen Barkey, Gonzalo Cunill, Martha Gardner, Romy Louise Lauwers, Juan Navarro, Maarten Seghers, Meron Verbelen
Direction, scenography, costumes: Jan Lauwers
Dramaturgy: Elke Janssens, Erwin Jans
Lighting design: Ken Hioco
Technical and production: Marjolein Demey, Ken Hioco, Tijs Michiels
Costumes and props assistant, surtitles: Nina Lopez Le Galliard
Production: Needcompany

Coproduction: Festival Grec de Barcelona, Teatre Nacional de Catalunya, Teatro Español y Naves del Español en Matadero, Teatro Central (Sevilla, Spain), Les Salins – Scène Nationale de Martigues, Cultuurcentrum Brugge 

Tax Shelter funding BNP Paribas Fortis Film Finance NV/SA

Produced with the support of the Tax Shelter of the Belgian Federal Government and the Flemish Government

MORE OF Needcompany

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 16.04.2024, 00:11 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/performances/pid1530/

Performances 2023

Performances 2023

© Maarten Van den Abeele

Needcompany (BE)
Billy’s Violence

© Maarten Van den Abeele

Der nicht gerade zart besaitete Kultregisseur Quentin Tarantino (Pulp Fiction, Kill Bill) sei „ein Chorknabe“, gemessen an „der blanken Brutalität, die Shakespeare heraufbeschworen hat“. Diesen Vergleich setzt Needcompany-Mastermind Jan Jauwers vor seine Inszenierung von Billy’s Violence, in die zehn Tragödien der englischen Theaterikone eingearbeitet sind. Die Needcompany macht Shakespeares Werke nackt bis auf die Knochen und stellt drängende Fragen: Warum Gewaltdarstellungen bis heute so anziehend wirken und ob sich über Shakespeare Wege aus der Hassspirale finden lassen. Lauwers’ Sohn Victor Afung verbindet unter anderem Othello, Romeo und Julia oder König Lear mit Macbeth, Hamlet und Titus Andronicus. Das Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf den prekären Frauenfiguren in diesen Dramen und auf ihrem gesellschaftlichen Kontext. Denn Shakespeares Stücke entstanden in Zeiten von Hexenverbrennungen, Pest und Sklaverei. Am Ende, so viel sei vorab verraten, steht keine*r der Darsteller*innen „unangepatzt“ im Applaus des Publikums.

Österreichische Erstaufführung

Dauer: 120 Min

In englischer, katalanischer und spanischer Sprache mit deutschen Übertiteln.
Diese Performance enthält explizite Inhalte. Empfohlen ab 16 Jahren.
Bei gleichzeitiger Buchung der Performance Billy’s Violence und einer der drei Vorstellungen von Billy’s Joy erhalten Sie das Ticket für Billy’s Violence um 50 % ermäßigt. Die Ermäßigungen bildet sich bei gleichzeitiger Buchung automatisch im Warenkorb. Ein späteres Zubuchen ist leider nicht möglich.

Achtung Programmänderung: Aus dramaturgischen Gründen hat sich am 14.7.2023 die Reihenfolge der Vorstellungen von Billy’s Violence und Billy’s Joy geändert. Es findet nun um 19:00 Billy’s Violence und um 21:30 Billy’s Joy statt. Sollten Sie bereits Tickets erworben haben, werden Sie von unserem Ticketing-Team direkt kontaktiert.
14.7.2023, 19:00
Akademietheater
© Maarten Van den Abeele
© Maarten Van den Abeele
© Maarten Van den Abeele
© Maarten Van den Abeele

CREDITS

Text: Victor Afung Lauwers
Musik: Maarten Seghers
Mit: Nao Albet, Grace Ellen Barkey, Gonzalo Cunill, Martha Gardner, Romy Louise Lauwers, Juan Navarro, Maarten Seghers, Meron Verbelen
Regie, Szenografie, Kostüme: Jan Lauwers
Dramaturgie: Elke Janssens, Erwin Jans
Lichtgestaltung: Ken Hioco
Technik und Produktion: Marjolein Demey, Ken Hioco, Tijs Michiels
Kostüm- und Requisitenassistenz, Übertitelung: Nina Lopez Le Galliard
Produktion: Needcompany

Koproduktion: Festival Grec de Barcelona, Teatre Nacional de Catalunya, Teatro Español y Naves del Español en Matadero, Teatro Central (Sevilla, Spanien), Les Salins – Scène Nationale de Martigues, Cultuurcentrum Brugge 

Förderung durch Tax Shelter BNP Paribas Fortis Film Finance NV/SA

Produziert mit Unterstützung des Tax Shelter der belgischen Föderalregierung und der flämischen Regierung

MEHR VON Needcompany

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 22.02.2024, 07:27 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/performances/pid1530/