Karl Regensburger receives Canadian honorary award

© Sylvie-Ann Paré

On 28 November 2023, the winners of this year’s Prix de la Danse de Montréal 2023 were announced at the Studio-Théâtre des Grands Ballets Canadiens in Montreal, Canada. Karl Regensburger, artistic director of ImPulsTanz – Vienna International Dance Festival, was chosen as the winner in the category “Contribution Exceptionelle”.

“His unwavering dedication to contemporary dance has shaped the soul of this great Viennese festival, making it a space where creativity, innovation and artistic expression can flourish. His passion for the art of dance has inspired generations of artists and audiences, creating a lasting legacy in the world of dance. This Outstanding Contribution Award is a fitting tribute to his hard work and vision, which have enriched our lives and artistic culture immeasurably, always giving pride of place to Quebec dance at this festival,” so the statement of the Board of Directors of the Prix de la Danse de Montréal on the decision.

Karl Regenburger’s thanks go above all to the many Canadian artists, because “without the impressive diversity and artistic brilliance of our long-time Canadian companions such as Édouard Lock + La La La Human Steps, Marie Chouinard and her company, Louise Lecavalier, Benoît Lachambre, Dave St. Pierre, Clara Furey, Dana Michel and, most recently, Angélique Willkie, Mélanie Demers or Lara Kramer, to name but a few, an international festival would be deprived of some of its most notable voices”.

The Prix de la Danse de Montréal was created in 2011 and aims to promote Montreal as an international centre of dance creation and presentation and to honour personalities, organisations and institutions in this discipline.

More information about the Prix de la Danse de Montréal and the award winners are available at www.prixdeladanse.com.

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 14.04.2024, 09:02 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/news/aid1779/