ATLAS

Choreographic training programme
10 July – 14 August 2024

  1. General information
  2. Artistic statement by Angélique Willkie
  3. Artistic statement by Marco Berrettini
  4. ATLAS includes
  5. Fees & application
  6. Contact

ATLAS – create your dance trails is a modular training programme in the scope of ImPulsTanz – Vienna International Dance Festival. It offers both artists with first choreographic experience and artists in the middle of their career, including from other disciplines, a dynamic environment for their artistic development. The programme aims to meet two of their central needs: first, to have access to studio space to do research and work on pieces, and second, to receive new input through individual training programmes, by watching international productions and by exchanging ideas with artists from more than 100 countries, as well as through peer-to-peer exchanges among the ATLAS groups.

Dramaturgical advice is provided by coaches supervising the participants’ work during the course of the programme. In 2024, these are performer, singer and dramaturge Angélique Willkie and choreographer, director and dancer Marco Berrettini. Applicants for ATLAS 2024 have the opportunity to choose between the two coaches.

ARTISTIC STATEMENT BY ANGÉLIQUE WILLKIE

“Chinese contemporary artist and activist Ai Weiwei has said that ‘Everything is art, everything is politics’. In our complicated world, creating poetry, magic and dreams – especially through dancing bodies – is powerfully political. ATLAS is about taking the time to suspend expectations and dive together into the questions that make your art possible.”

ARTISTIC STATEMENT BY MARCO BERRETTINI

“We accumulate experience and skills throughout the years as a dancer and choreographer. But as time passes, I realise there is no miracle solution or a method to all the questions that might arise when we work on pieces. It is rare to be in a balanced state where everything inside of us matches perfectly and your dance creates itself, as in a dream. That’s why I trust in education and observation. Education means reading, watching and listening to all kinds of work related to our passionate profession. And observing means that we work with dancers, choreographers, technicians and colleagues without a pre-set mind and judgement; especially if we are supposed to help others do their work. It’s about being in the moment as much as possible. To me, dance and choreography are serious matters where we should stay light and have fun to avoid losing focus. On the other side, dance is a simple and light matter. That’s why we should take it seriously so that we don’t only scratch the surface. This related contradiction is the delicate line on which we progress in the ATLAS group.”

ATLAS INCLUDES

Workshop and Research Module

  • 3-day introductory session led by ATLAS coaches
  • Participation in up to 10 workshops
  • Participation in up to 2 research projects
  • Participation in the ImPulsTanz Symposium for Dance and Other Contemporary Practices Lace#2: Mediating Touch at a reduced fee

Performance Module

  • Free admission to all productions

Rehearsal and Workspace Module

  • Studio space exclusively for the ATLAS groups
  • Personal artistic coaching (at least two individual sessions)
  • Regular exchange and feedback sessions within the ATLAS groups (depending on the needs of the participants)
  • Meetings with choreographers from the [8:tension] Young Choreographers’ Series
  • Peer showing(s) along the duration of the programme
  • Final feedback talk with the ATLAS coaches and peers
  • ATLAS certificate (with accompanying sparkly drinks)

Plus

  • Accommodation in Vienna
  • ImPulsTanz bike for the duration of the stay or alternatively a monthly ticket for public transport
  • Free admission to the ImPulsTanz parties


FEES & APPLICATION

The participation fee is 2,900 euro.
The participation fee does not include travel costs, visa fees, health insurance and food.

Applications can be submitted via the online tool as of now: education.impulstanz.com

When applying for ATLAS 2024, applicants have the option to join the programme either with coach Angélique Willkie or with coach Marco Berrettini.

For the application we need the following information (in English): personal data, a CV, a letter of motivation, a portrait photo and links to videos of past artistic works. Applicants are invited to describe the project they would like to work on during their stay in the motivation letter.

We will inform applicants by the end of January 2024 of their acceptance or rejection. To formalise your participation in the ATLAS programme, a down payment of 800 euro must be made no later than four weeks after confirmation of acceptance. Please note that expenses are to be paid by the remitter! Participants must be of legal age.

After receiving the down payment or the total participation fee, we will send you an official invitation letter including confirmation of acceptance. This letter is intended to help with applications for travel subsidies, grants or other types of financial support. The ATLAS assistant will be happy to advise you on available funding opportunities.

Cancellation Policy
Please note that you can cancel your participation until 3 June 2024. In this case, a cancellation fee of 50 euro will be retained and we will refund the remaining amount that has already been paid. For cancellations after 3 June 2024, the deposit of 800 euro will be retained. 750 euro (800 euro minus cancellation fee) can be redeemed within ImPulsTanz Workshops & Research 2024, 2025 and 2026. Any amount over 800 euro will be refunded. A participation in ATLAS is only possible if the full participation fee is paid prior to the start of the programme. With the payment of the deposit we reserve your place in the programme, this is then binding and obliges you to pay the full programme fee.

Application deadline
15 December 2023, 12:00 (CET)

Contact
atlas@impulstanz.com

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 19.04.2024, 18:07 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/atlas/

ATLAS

Choreografisches Trainingsprogramm
10. Juli – 14. August 2024

  1. Allgemeine Informationen
  2. Artistic Statement von Angélique Willkie
  3. Artistic Statement von Marco Berrettini
  4. ATLAS beinhaltet
  5. Kosten & Bewerbung
  6. Kontakt

ATLAS – create your dance trails ist ein auf Modulen basierendes Fortbildungsprogramm, eingebettet in das ImPulsTanz – Vienna International Dance Festival. Es bietet sowohl Künstler*innen mit ersten choreografischen Erfahrungen als auch Künstler*innen in der Mitte ihrer Laufbahn, gerne auch aus anderen Disziplinen, ein dynamisches Umfeld für deren künstlerische Entwicklung. Das Programm zielt darauf ab, zwei zentrale Bedürfnisse zu erfüllen: zum einen, Studio Space für Research-Arbeiten und zur Stückentwicklung zur Verfügung zu haben, und zum anderen, sich neuen Input zu verschaffen durch individuelle Trainingsprogramme, durch den Besuch internationaler Produktionen und durch den Austausch mit Künstler*innen aus mehr als 100 Ländern sowie durch den Peer-to-Peer-Austausch innerhalb der ATLAS-Gruppen.

Dramaturgisch begleiten Coaches die Arbeiten der Teilnehmer*innen während des Programms. 2024 sind dies Performerin, Sängerin und Dramaturgin Angélique Willkie und Choreograf, Regisseur und Tänzer Marco Berrettini. Bewerber*innen für ATLAS 2024 haben die Möglichkeit, zwischen den beiden Coaches zu wählen.

ARTISTIC STATEMENT VON ANGÉLIQUE WILLKIE

„Der chinesische zeitgenössische Künstler und Aktivist Ai Weiwei hat gesagt: ‚Alles ist Kunst, alles ist Politik‘. In unserer komplizierten Welt ist das Schaffen von Poesie, Magie und Träumen – insbesondere durch tanzende Körper – von großer politischer Bedeutung. Bei ATLAS geht es darum, sich die Zeit zu nehmen, Erwartungen ruhen zu lassen und gemeinsam in die Fragen einzutauchen, die eure Kunst möglich machen.“

ARTISTIC STATEMENT VON MARCO BERRETTINI

„Im Laufe der Jahre sammelt man als Tänzer*in und Choreograf*in Erfahrungen und Fähigkeiten. Aber mit der Zeit wurde mir klar, dass es keine Wunderlösung oder gar eine Methode für all die Fragen gibt, die bei der Arbeit an einem Stück auftauchen können. Es ist selten, dass wir uns in einem ausgeglichenen Zustand befinden, in dem alles in uns perfekt zusammenpasst und der Tanz sich von selbst kreiert, wie in einem Traum. Deshalb vertraue ich auf Bildung und Beobachtung. Bildung bedeutet, alle Arten von Arbeiten zu lesen, zu sehen und zu hören, die mit unserem leidenschaftlichen Beruf zu tun haben. Und Beobachten bedeutet, dass wir mit Tänzer*innen, Choreograf*innen, Techniker*innen und Kolleg*innen zusammenarbeiten, ohne vorgefasste Meinungen und Urteile, vor allem, wenn wir anderen bei ihrer Arbeit helfen sollen. Es geht darum, so viel wie möglich im Moment zu sein. Für mich sind Tanz und Choreografie ernste Angelegenheiten, bei denen wir leicht bleiben und Spaß haben sollten, um nicht den Fokus zu verlieren. Auf der anderen Seite ist Tanz eine einfache und leichte Angelegenheit. Deshalb sollten wir ihn ernst nehmen, damit wir nicht nur an der Oberfläche kratzen. Dieser damit verbundene Widerspruch ist die feine Linie, auf der wir uns in der ATLAS-Gruppe bewegen.“

ATLAS BEINHALTET

Workshop- und Research-Modul

  • 3-tägige Einführungssession unter Leitung der ATLAS-Coaches
  • Teilnahme an bis zu 10 Workshops
  • Teilnahme an bis zu 2 Research Projects
  • Vergünstigte Teilnahme am ImPulsTanz Symposium for Dance and Other Contemporary Practices Lace#2: Mediating Touch

Performance-Modul

  • Freier Eintritt zu allen Produktionen

Proben- und Studio-Modul

  • Studio Space exklusiv für die ATLAS-Gruppen
  • Persönliches künstlerisches Coaching (zumindest zwei individuelle Sessions)
  • Regelmäßiger Austausch und Feedback-Sessions innerhalb der ATLAS-Gruppen (je nach Bedürfnis der Teilnehmer*innen)
  • Treffen mit Choreograf*innen der [8:tension] Young Choreographers’ Series
  • Peer-Showing(s) während der Dauer des Programms
  • Finales Feedback-Gespräch mit den ATLAS-Coaches und den Peers
  • ATLAS-Zertifikat (mit sparkly Drinks)

Plus

  • Unterkunft in Wien
  • ImPulsTanz-Fahrrad für die gesamte Aufenthaltsdauer oder alternativ ein Monatsticket der öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel
  • Freier Eintritt zu den beiden ImPulsTanz Partys


KOSTEN & BEWERBUNG

Die Teilnahmegebühr beträgt 2.900 Euro.
Nicht inkludiert in der Teilnahmegebühr sind Reisekosten, Visakosten, Krankenversicherung und Verpflegung.

Bewerbungen sind ab sofort über das Onlinetool möglich: education.impulstanz.com

Bewerber*innen für ATLAS 2024 haben die Möglichkeit, zwischen den beiden Coaches Angélique Willkie beziehungsweise Marco Berrettini zu wählen.

Für die Bewerbung benötigen wir folgende Angaben (in englischer Sprache): persönliche Daten, einen CV, ein Motivationsschreiben, ein Portraitfoto sowie Links zu Videos vergangener künstlerischer Arbeiten. Die Teilnehmer*innen sind eingeladen, im Motivationsschreiben das Projekt, an dem sie während ihres Aufenthalts arbeiten möchten, zu beschreiben.

Wir informieren die Bewerber*innen bis Ende Jänner 2024 über eine Zu- oder Absage. Für eine verbindliche Teilnahme an ATLAS muss eine Anzahlung in Höhe von 800 Euro – bitte spesenfrei für den Empfänger – bis spätestens vier Wochen nach der Zusage geleistet werden. Die Teilnehmer*innen müssen volljährig sein.

Nach dem Erhalt der Anzahlung bzw. vollständigen Überweisung der Teilnahmegebühr übermitteln wir den offiziellen Einladungsbrief mit Zusagebestätigung. Dieses Schreiben soll zur Unterstützung für Anträge auf Reisekostenunterstützung, Stipendien oder andere finanzielle Fördermaßnahmen dienen. Weiters ist die ATLAS-Assistenz bei der möglichen Finanzierungssuche behilflich.

Mit der Zahlung der Anzahlung wird ein Platz verbindlich reserviert und verpflichtet zur Zahlung der gesamten Teilnahmegebühr.

Stornobedingungen
Stornierungen von Seite der Teilnehmer*innen sind bis zum 3. Juni 2024 möglich. In diesem Fall wird eine Stornogebühr von 50 Euro einbehalten, der sonst bereits bezahlte Restbetrag wird zurückerstattet. Bei Stornierungen nach dem 3. Juni 2024 wird die Anzahlung in Höhe von 800 Euro einbehalten. 750 Euro (800 Euro minus Stornogebühr) können 2024, 2025 und 2026 innerhalb des Workshop & Research Programms von ImPulsTanz eingelöst werden. Jeder Betrag über 800 Euro wird rücküberwiesen. Eine Teilnahme an ATLAS ist nur möglich, wenn die gesamte Teilnahmegebühr vor dem Beginn des Programms beglichen ist.

Bewerbungsschluss
15. Dezember 2023, 12:00 Uhr (MEZ)

Kontakt
atlas@impulstanz.com

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 14.04.2024, 13:23 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/atlas/