Alexander Vantournhout (BE)

BIOGRAPHY

not standing was founded by choreographer Alexander Vantournhout. Alexander’s movement language is influenced by different pedagogical processes and by breaking through the boundaries of the varying art forms. Two constants within his artistic ventures are the search for creative and kinetic potential in physicality and an investigation into the many possibilities of the relationship between performer and object.

Alexander made his debut with Caprices (2014), a choreographic solo to the music of Sciarrino. In 2015 he created ANECKXANDER together with Bauke Lievens. Raphaël (2017) is a forced duet created with Bauke Lievens. Red Haired Men (2018) is the first ensemble production for four men. In 2019, Alexander created Screws, his first piece in situ, where he accompanies the audience along a route of micro-performances together with four dancer acrobats. With Through the Grapevine (2020), Alexander Vantournhout returns to the duet format. This is his first real duet and is to some extent inspired by the concept of Aneckxander (2015). The body is reintroduced in a very pure way and the performance dives into the creative and kinetic potential of physical limitations, a theme that is reflected throughout Alexander Vantournhout's work. In Contre-jour (2021) Alexander Vantournhout takes on the role of choreographer for the first time and gives the floor to a group of five performers from various backgrounds: dance, musical, theatre, circus, etc. In 2022 Alexander Vantournhout returns solo on stage with VanThorhout. Foreshadow, a creation with 8 performers, will premiere in the summer of 2023 at Julidans in Amsterdam.

ANECKXANDER as well as Screws, Through the Grapevine and the dance film Snakearms were selected for the TheaterFestival, the prize for the most outstanding Belgian performances. 

Alexander is artist-in-residence at the Vooruit Art Centre in Ghent, associate artist of the CENTQUATRE Paris and the Cirque-théâtre Elbeuf. He is a cultural ambassador of the city of Roeselare. Alexander is supported by the BNP Paribas Foundation for the development of his projects.

As a guest lecturer and workshop teacher Alexander was invited at Deltebre Danza (ES), P.A.R.T.S Brussels (BE), ESAC Brussels (BE), Danscentrum Jette (BE), Plesni Center-Maribor (SI), Passerelle Kortrijk-Genk (BE), Vertigo Jerusalem (IL), Travno Center Zagreb (HR), Vertigo Torino (IT), Latvian Dance Summer Intensive Vilnius (LT), B12 Berlin (DE), DOCH Stockholm (SE), Hong Kong Circus (HK), Edinburgh Acro Convention (UK), CODARTS, Rotterdam (NL), Frattelini Paris (FR), RITCS Brussels (BE), Concorde University Montreal (CA) among others.

24.05.2023

© 
        Bart Grietens
© Bart Grietens

ARCHIVE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 13.04.2024, 05:26 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/artist/id1993/

Alexander Vantournhout (BE)

BIOGRAFIE

not standing wurde von dem Choreografen Alexander Vantournhout gegründet. Alexanders Bewegungssprache ist von verschiedenen pädagogischen Prozessen und vom Durchbrechen der Grenzen der verschiedenen Kunstformen beeinflusst. Zwei Konstanten in seinen künstlerischen Unternehmungen sind die Suche nach kreativem und kinetischem Potenzial in der Körperlichkeit und die Untersuchung der vielen Möglichkeiten der Beziehung zwischen Performer und Objekt.

Sein Debüt gab Alexander mit Caprices (2014), einem choreografischen Solo zur Musik von Sciarrino. Im Jahr 2015 kreierte er zusammen mit Bauke Lievens ANECKXANDER. Raphaël (2017) ist ein forciertes Duett mit Bauke Lievens. Red Haired Men (2018) ist die erste Ensembleproduktion für vier Männer. 2019 kreierte Alexander Screws, sein erstes Stück in situ, in dem er das Publikum zusammen mit vier Tänzer*innen und Akrobat*innen entlang eines Parcours von Mikro-Performances begleitet. Mit Through the Grapevine (2020) kehrt Alexander Vantournhout zum Duettformat zurück. Es ist sein erstes echtes Duett und ist in gewisser Weise von dem Konzept von Aneckxander (2015) inspiriert. Der Körper wird in einer sehr reinen Art und Weise wieder eingeführt und die Performance taucht in das kreative und kinetische Potenzial physischer Grenzen ein, ein Thema, das sich durch Alexander Vantournhouts gesamte Arbeit zieht. In Contre-jour (2021) übernimmt Alexander Vantournhout zum ersten Mal die Rolle des Choreografen und überlässt das Wort einer Gruppe von fünf Performer*innen mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund: Tanz, Musical, Theater, Zirkus, etc. Im Jahr 2022 kehrt Alexander Vantournhout mit VanThorhout solo auf die Bühne zurück. Foreshadow, eine Kreation mit 8 Darsteller*innen, wird im Sommer 2023 bei Julidans in Amsterdam uraufgeführt.

ANECKXANDER sowie Screws, Through the Grapevine und der Tanzfilm Snakearms wurden für das TheaterFestival, den Preis für die besten belgischen Aufführungen, ausgewählt.

Alexander ist Artist-in-Residence am Vooruit Art Centre in Gent, assoziierter Künstler des CENTQUATRE Paris und des Cirque-théâtre Elbeuf. Er ist Kulturbotschafter der Stadt Roeselare. Alexander wird von der BNP Paribas Foundation bei der Entwicklung seiner Projekte unterstützt.

Als Gastdozent und Workshopleiter war Alexander eingeladen bei Deltebre Danza (ES), P.A.R.T. S. Brüssel (BE), ESAC Brüssel (BE), Danscentrum Jette (BE), Plesni Center-Maribor (SI), Passerelle Kortrijk-Genk (BE), Vertigo Jerusalem (IL), Travno Center Zagreb (HR), Vertigo Torino (IT), Latvian Dance Summer Intensive Vilnius (LT), B12 Berlin (DE), DOCH, Stockholm (SE), Hong Kong Circus (HK), Edinburgh Acro Convention (UK), CODARTS Rotterdam (NL), Frattelini Paris (FR), RITCS Brüssel (BE), Concorde University Montreal (CA) und andere.

24.05.2023

© 
        Bart Grietens
© Bart Grietens

ARCHIV

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 21.02.2024, 22:18 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/artist/id1993/