Shinichi Iova-Koga (CH/US)

BIOGRAPHY

Shinichi Iova-Koga serves as the Artistic Director of the physical theatre and dance company inkBoat, founded by Shinichi in 1998. He has toured in North America, Europe, South Korea and Japan, often collaborating with local artists in museums, theatres, studios and site-specific locations. He is the editor of the book 95 Rituals, a tribute to Anna Halprin, and a contributing writer to The Routledge Companion to Butoh Performance. He is featured in the book Butoh America. Shinichi teaches annually at ImPulsTanz in Vienna. He has served as a full-time core faculty member of the MFA Dance programme at Mills College in Oakland, California, from 2009 to 2017. He has taught Composition in the Arts for MFA students at UC Davis in 2014 and 2022. He has taught workshops at Bath University (UK), UC Riverside, UC Berkeley, SF State University, Stanford University, Experimental Theater Wing at NYU/Tisch, Texas Women’s University and others. He co-teaches the workshop Dance on Land and multi-month workshops with his wife Dana Iova-Koga.

Since 2015, Shinichi’s career as an international performer has merged with his Daoist Internal Arts study. Qi Gong, Dao Yin, Yang Sheng Gong and Nei Gong are part of his daily practice. He is credentialed to teach through Lotus Nei Gong International and is a San Feng Pai lineage holder with Wudang West. His approach to the negotiation between bodies continues to develop through Aikido (with teachers Jan Nevelius, Jorma Lily and Cornelius Jaeger-Herzog). Ruth Zaporah has been his continuing mentor since 2000. Her method of improvisational skill building is called Action Theater. Significant past mentors are Ralph Lemon, who instigated ideas about “anti-dance”, and Anna Halprin, who encouraged community building through the art-making process. Shinichi served as Anna’s associate director for numerous projects from 2009–2012 and co-taught dances for men with her until 2018. Shinichi danced with Butoh artists Hiroko and Koichi Tamano (1991–1995), Yumiko Yoshioka (1996–2004) and collaborated with Ko Murobushi (2008–2012). Another notable collaborator is Ann Carlson, who has worked with inkBoat from 2019 until the present. Additionally, he has co-created numerous performances with music groups Rova Saxophone Quartet and Sleepytime Gorilla Museum. As a guest Director, he has created stage works with AXIS Dance Company and ODC Dance Company. As a dancer, he has been a member of the Russian Dance Theater company Do Theatre (2003–2005) and Larry Reed’s Shadowlight Theater (1993–1997).

inkBoat and Shinichi have been honoured by awards and grants, including 5 Bay Area Izzie awards and grants from NEA, MAP fund, New England Foundation for the Arts, California Arts Council, Rainin Foundation, Creative Work Fund, and Gerbode Foundation. Shinichi works primarily in San Francisco, New York and Lucerne, Switzerland. Shinichi’s work has been described as a mix of “humour, introspection, playfulness and memory with fearless gestures and thoughtfully crafted drama” (Mary Ellen Hunt, SF Chronicle) and has been said to “expertly mine the dark vein of absurdist humour that infiltrates Butoh” (Allen Ulrich, SF Chronicle).

12.04.2023

© 
        David Joshua Jennings
© David Joshua Jennings
WEBSITE

ARCHIVE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 15.04.2024, 23:26 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/artist/id1861/

Shinichi Iova-Koga (CH/US)

BIOGRAFIE

Shinichi Iova-Koga ist der künstlerische Leiter der 1998 von ihm gegründeten Theater- und Tanzcompagnie inkBoat. Er tourte in Nordamerika, Europa, Südkorea und arbeitete dabei oft mit lokalen Künstler*innen in Museen, Theatern, Studios und an besonderen Orten zusammen. Er ist Herausgeber des Buches 95 Rituals, einer Hommage an Anna Halprin, und Mitautor von The Routledge Companion to Butoh Performance. Er ist in dem Buch Butoh America vertreten. Shinichi unterrichtet jährlich bei ImPulsTanz in Wien. Von 2009 bis 2017 war er hauptamtliches Fakultätsmitglied des MFA-Tanzprogramms am Mills College in Oakland, Kalifornien. Er unterrichtete Composition in the Arts für MFA-Student*innen an der UC Davis in den Jahren 2014 und 2022. Er leitete Workshops an der Bath University (UK), der UC Riverside, der UC Berkeley, der SF State University, der Stanford University, dem Experimental Theater Wing der NYU/Tisch, der Texas Women's University und andere. Er unterrichtet den Workshop Dance on Land und mehrmonatige Workshops gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Dana Iova-Koga.

Seit 2015 verbindet Shinichi seine Karriere als internationaler Performer mit dem Studium der daoistischen inneren Künste. Qi Gong, Dao Yin, Yang Sheng Gong und Nei Gong sind Teil seiner täglichen Praxis. Er ist berechtigt, durch Lotus Nei Gong International zu unterrichten und ist Inhaber der San Feng Pai-Linie bei Wudang West. Seine Herangehensweise an die Verhandlung zwischen den Körpern entwickelt sich durch Aikido weiter (mit den Lehrer*innen Jan Nevelius, Jorma Lily und Cornelius Jaeger-Herzog). Ruth Zaporah ist seit 2000 seine ständige Mentorin. Ihre Methode zum Aufbau von Improvisationsfähigkeiten nennt sich Action Theater. Bedeutende frühere Mentor*innen sind Ralph Lemon, der Ideen zum „Anti-Tanz“ entwickelte, und Anna Halprin, die den Aufbau von Gemeinschaften durch den künstlerischen Prozess förderte. Shinichi war von 2009 bis 2012 Annas stellvertretender Direktor für zahlreiche Projekte und unterrichtete bis 2018 gemeinsam mit ihr Tänze für Männer. Shinichi tanzte mit den Butoh-Künstler*innen Hiroko und Koichi Tamano (1991–1995), Yumiko Yoshioka (1996–2004) und arbeitete mit Ko Murobushi (2008–2012) zusammen. Eine weitere bemerkenswerte Mitarbeiterin ist Ann Carlson, die von 2019 bis heute mit inkBoat zusammenarbeitet. Außerdem hat er zahlreiche Performances mit den Musikgruppen Rova Saxophone Quartet und Sleepytime Gorilla Museum mitgestaltet. Als Gastregisseur schuf er Bühnenwerke mit der AXIS Dance Company und der ODC Dance Company. Als Tänzer war er Mitglied der russischen Tanztheatercompagnie Do Theatre (2003–2005) und von Larry Reeds Shadowlight Theater (1993–1997).

inkBoat und Shinichi wurden mit Preisen und Stipendien ausgezeichnet, darunter 5 Bay Area Izzie Awards und Stipendien von NEA, MAP Fund, New England Foundation for the Arts, California Arts Council, Rainin Foundation, Creative Work Fund und Gerbode Foundation. Shinichi arbeitet hauptsächlich in San Francisco, New York und Luzern, Schweiz. Shinichis Arbeit wurde als eine Mischung aus „Humor, Introspektion, Verspieltheit und Erinnerung mit furchtlosen Gesten und durchdachter Dramatik“ (Mary Ellen Hunt, SF Chronicle) beschrieben, und es wurde über ihn geschrieben, dass er „die dunkle Ader des absurden Humors, die Butoh durchdringt, gekonnt ausnutzt“ (Allen Ulrich, SF Chronicle).

12.04.2023

© 
        David Joshua Jennings
© David Joshua Jennings
WEBSITE

ARCHIV

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 01.03.2024, 03:13 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/artist/id1861/