José Agudo (UK/ES)

BIOGRAPHY

Jose Agudo started his career in Andalusia where he began performing in musical theatre and as a Flamenco dancer. Slowly the world of contemporary dance became more visible as he worked throughout Europe performing with Charleroi/Danses, Ballet de Marseille, T.R.A.S.H, Shobana Jeyasingh Dance and Akram Khan Company.

From 2010-2017, Jose worked on seven creations with Akram Khan Company as a choreographic assistant, rehearsal director and dancer. During this time, Jose studied Kathak under Akram’s guidance. Finding many parallels between this training and his early studies of Flamenco, Jose reconnected with his roots and began to explore traditional forms in a contemporary context. As a result, he established Agudo Dance Company in 2017, touring the inaugural work Silk Road in 6 countries, followed by a stunning adaptation of Carmen, which continues to tour in 2022.

Jose’s independent choreographic commissions include productions for Phoenix Dance Theatre, ZfinMalta Dance Ensemble, ACE Dance and Music, Cape Dance Company, Norrdans, Akademi, London Mozart Players, Festival International de Music y Danza de Granada, SEAD/Bodhi Project, Area Jeune Ballet, Rambert School, English National Ballet School, London Contemporary Dance School, London Studio Centre, and Northern School of Contemporary Dance.

In 2019, Jose choreographed the opening ceremony of the Davis Cup by Rakuten in Madrid. He is listed in the new edition of 50 Contemporary Choreographers, an international publication by Routledge.

07.04.2022

© 
        Nick Atkins
© Nick Atkins
WEBSITE

ARCHIVE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 05.12.2023, 03:17 | Link: https://impulstanz.com/en/artist/id1372/

José Agudo (UK/ES)

BIOGRAFIE

Jose Agudo begann seine Karriere in Andalusien, wo er als Performer für das Musiktheater und als Flamenco-Tänzer seine Karriere begann. Mit der Zeit gewannen zeitgenössische Tanzformen mehr Einfluss in seinem Leben und er arbeitete in Europa mit Charleroi/Danses, Ballet de Marseille, T.R.A.S.H, Shobana Jeyasingh Dance und der Akram Khan Company zusammen.

Zwischen 2010 und 2017 arbeitete Jose als choreografischer Assistent, als Probenleiter und Tänzer für die Akram Khan Company. In dieser Zeit studierte er die Tanzform Kathak bei Akram Khan und entdeckte dabei mehrere Parallelen mit seiner frühen Flamenco-Ausbildung. Diese Rückkehr zu seinen Wurzeln veranlasste ihn traditionelle Formen in zeitgenössischem Kontext zu erkunden. Daraus resultierend gründete er 2017 seine eigene Compagnie, Jose Agudo Dance Company, und tourte sein Stück Silk Road in 6 Ländern, gefolgt von seiner hervorragenden Adaption von Carmen, welches sich 2022 weiterhin auf Tournee befindet.

Joses eigene choreografische Auftragsarbeiten waren für Produktion für  Phoenix Dance Theatre, ZfinMalta Dance Ensemble, ACE Dance and Music, Cape Dance Company, Norrdans, Akademi, London Mozart Players, Festival International de Music y Danza de Granada, SEAD/Bodhi Project, Area Jeune Ballet, Rambert School, English National Ballet School, London Contemporary Dance School, London Studio Centre, and Northern School of Contemporary Dance.

2019 choreografierte die Eröffnungszeremonie des Rakuten Davis Cup in Madrid.
Jose ist in der Neuauflage der 50 Contemporary Choreographers von Routledge gelistet.

07.04.2022

Nick Atkins
Nick Atkins
WEBSITE

ARCHIV

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 01.12.2022, 17:02 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/artist/id1372/